2006 Saturn ION Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2006 Saturn ION level 2 2.2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Nice comfortable car

Faults:

Driver's door seal on bottom of door fell off when door opened about a month after buying car. Tail light busted and dealer promised to order a new one. Two months later and still no tail light.

General Comments:

The ION is very quiet and smooth riding. The 2006 model has attractive styling and interior. The trunk is huge for such a small car. It is easy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2006

2006 Saturn ION 2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.7 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance700 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

This car has been a disappointment

Faults:

CD player didn't work first 5 days, then all of a sudden it worked, so I thought maybe it just took a while to kick in, and everything would be okay from then on. But it turned out to be erratic over the next 2-3 days, until...

On Friday 5/5/06, not quite 9 days since leaving the dealership with the car, it failed to start. I called On-star, they patched me through to the Saturn dealer, we determined I was doing everything right to start the car, and they had it towed back. When it got there it started up just fine. And the CD player worked. And another odd thing that had happened with a knob on the dash also worked. At the dealership, everything worked.

They say the car is fixed, but I don't want it anymore. I put $10,000 of my own money down on a car that has failed to work from the start, don't even want to pick it up, have contacted attorneys and will pursue action against Saturn should it become viable to do so and win, e.g. if problems with the car continue. I bought a new car for peace of mind, not to go through this.

General Comments:

The Ion is supposed to be "bigger" than the SL, but it seems much smaller inside, I feel cramped up when driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

22nd Oct 2006, 19:46

I bought a 2006 Saturn Ion 2. I have had the same thing with the CD player not working. When I went to the dealer, it workded just fine! I also "ran over something" in the first month of owning the car and had to replace my wheel and tires on the right side.

I'm sorry, but I think the car is not worth the money. I wished I never nought it. I bought it for peice of mind, but have had a variety of troubles all in the first year.

5th Mar 2007, 08:31

You can't blame Saturn/GM for your running over something & ruining your wheels and tires. For that, you can ONLY blame yourself.

Also, the Ion's base price has it competing with the Aveo, Accent, and Echo/Scion/Yaris. In that market, the Ion isn't too bad. It is not in the class of an Accord or Lexus. It is a car that starts out around $12k, so if you added $6k+, I could see how one feels it is not a good value.

2006 Saturn ION COUPE from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance296 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I think this car is a lemon

Faults:

Car stalled and would not restart after 296 miles and having it for only 2 weeks it had to be towed to the dealership.

General Comments:

I really like the looks of the car and up until this incidence thought I would really enjoy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2006

5th Apr 2006, 20:07

What was wrong with the car?

6th Aug 2006, 00:24

Probably a sensor or a computer glitch, hardly something to complain about.

18th Nov 2006, 18:40

You think a car stalling after 256 miles is nothing to complain about? I personally would request a new car. It may be "nothing" but it may just be the tip of the iceberg.

2006 Saturn ION 2 2.2L gasoline from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance2250 miles

Summary:

Good buy

Faults:

Nothing at this time.

General Comments:

+ Grips the road very well (mine has traction control). Great gas mileage, a lot of options for the bucks, friendly dealership. Front seats slide back way far (hubby is 6'2" with foot disability). Split-folding rear seats! Dent-resistance. Onstar. Exact steering ratio.

- not a lot of rear leg room, but this is OK since we are just a couple and carry more cargo than passengers.

It's comfy, quiet. I can barely hear the engine over the sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

2006 Saturn ION Ion 3 2.4L from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance672 miles
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

Fine small car value

Faults:

No problems so far.

General Comments:

The optional Enhanced Performance Package is definitely worth the $995. It includes a more powerful (170hp) 2.4L engine, ABS, traction control, and "sport-tuned" suspension. The Ion 3 feels sporty, robust, handles well (if a bit numbly) and has ample room for tall front-seat passengers. Rear seat head and leg room is a tad tight compared with other cars in its class - I would not put anyone over 5'8" back there. The trunk is large and usefully shaped. Fit and finish are generally adequate. I like the exterior dent-resistant polymer panels. My Pacific Blue Ion 3 has certainly been garnering much praise and interest from people on the street. Overall, I would definitely recommend it be on your short list when considering a new small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2005

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews