2006 Saturn ION Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2006 Saturn ION II from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

My Ion II has proven itself over time

Faults:

The car had to be towed 10 days after purchase. Since then, however, there have been no breakdowns.

The gas mileage was well below what it should have been until ~17,000 miles, when it kicked in and began getting the advertised mileage.

General Comments:

I was initially very upset with the breakdown.

Also, last night I got in an accident with it, on a country road that ran between two fields. Late at night, thinking I was on the next road up that ran straight through for 2 miles, this dirt road didn't run straight through. I hit a ditch straight on and came out of a serious accident without a scratch, no damage was sustained from the airbag hitting me, the car sustained only minimal damage. I have to believe this is at least partially because the car was well constructed. Not only that, seconds after the airbag deployed, On-Star was on the speaker asking if I was alright. They called for help, they took care of everything and stayed on the line until help arrived. The impact of that cannot be overemphasized.

My opinion of the car has changed completely since my first review. No apologies for the first review, it was a fit at that time, but the car has completely earned my trust over time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2007

2006 Saturn ION Ion Quad Coupe level 3 2.4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

A great alternative to the Civic or Mazda 3

Faults:

Not one thing.

General Comments:

Engine and transmission are splendidly matched. Smooth and powerful.

Electronic power steering is easy operate in parking lots. Has great steering feel on the road.

Trunk is massive. Can hold a lot of groceries.

Quad Coupe doors make putting baby in the backseat a snap.

Polymer doors are impervious to dents.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

14th Sep 2010, 21:55

I have a problem with my power steering on my Saturn ION 2.

What should I do?

2006 Saturn ION 3 2.2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance5600 miles
Previous carSaturn L300

Summary:

No Better or Nicer Vehicle for the Price

Faults:

Under-hood sensor (knock Sensor) activated the "check engine" light. Had vehicle in dealership within 15 minutes and they fixed problem within 15 minutes. Simple adjustment to the computer, which was set too sensitive at the factory.

General Comments:

Very nice and comfortable vehicle. Much smoother and quieter than previous year models. Kudos to Saturn engineers who came up with that space age silencing material. I have only had the vehicle 6 months and already my wife is insisting on a Quad Coupe. (Middle Age Crisis).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2006

14th Sep 2006, 15:29

You really missed the boat. Your Saturn does not in anyway compare to the 2006 Honda Civic. To say there is no better car is ridiculous. The Civic is by far the superior in every area.

30th May 2007, 21:48

I am considering taking over a lease on a 2006 Saturn Ion 3. After reading over the reviews on the 2003 version, I'm having second thoughts, since they appear to be universally DISMAL, but as I understand it each subsequent year's edition of the Ion 3 was vastly improved in comparison to the year preceding it. Can anyone give some feedback as to how the Ion 3 has improved over the years? Bottom line - should I take over this lease?

To the guy who said Civics are better - no doubt. They're also several thousand dollars more expensive. You can't really compare the two cars.

1st Jun 2007, 07:30

Exactly. With that in mind, you realize what you will be getting, and I'd probably go for it. The 2006 models are quite reliable and nice to drive. The drivetrain is bulletproof; the only common repair seems to be related to the ignition switch, but was most likely corrected in the later years. Otherwise, it's a nice-handling, decently roomy little car. They also deliver great mileage and they're cheap to insure. Plus, as you mentioned, they're dirt-cheap. Go for it.

13th Feb 2011, 17:49

I am 17 years old, I've had this car for about 8 months, and this car is falling apart. The transmission has been replaced for 2000$, and it's used, my cylinder block is cracked, and the car is only at 40000 miles!! I'll have to pay a lot more in the next few years on this lemon. If I had bought a Civic instead, I would have had great build quality, and it would be cheaper at the end of the line.

Saturn Ions are just frustrating.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews