2007 Saturn ION Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2007 Saturn ION ion 3 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

I love this car! It is very luxurious and reliable for a good price!

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable! It rides very smooth and quiet! I get pretty decent gas mileage as well. Usually 400 miles to a tank of gas! I love my Saturn and I would definitely buy another one! I wouldn't go back to the same dealership, but I would go somewhere else and buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2008

2007 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres

Summary:

It is a good, inexpensive car

General Comments:

My car has been rear ended twice within the last year, and both times my car was left with only a few scratches. I was really impressed with how the car did not dent anywhere at all, and took the impact of the hit way better than other cars that I have seen.

It is pretty good on gas.

The only thing I don't like is the rear view mirror location because I find that it blocks my view of people on the right a lot more than the mirrors in other cars do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2008

6th Mar 2008, 16:42

I believe most domestic cars have rearview mirrors with two adjustment points on the "stalk". You should be able to move the mirror up. Otherwise get a mirror glue remover, and new glue, from the local car-supplies store and reposition. It is a big hazard to have a mirror that blocks the view to the right.

2007 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired97 miles
Most recent distance22100 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

This particular car is a "lemon"

Faults:

At 200 miles the gas gage failed.

At 270 miles both front brake rotors warped.

At 1500 miles the air conditioning failed.

At 3000 miles the freon had leaked out again.

At 3500 miles the cruise control became intermittent, the dealer will not fix it because it works when ever I am able to get it to the dealer.

At 4000 miles the key stuck in the ignition.

At 5000 miles it was determined that the dealer returned the car to me with the "wrong" keys when they fixed the stuck key problem.

At 9000 miles the check engine light comes on for no reason.

At 11000 miles the front windshield leaked water.

At 9 months of ownership and 22000 miles the cruise control still is intermittent, the car is considered a "lemon" under the State of Utah's Consumer Affairs Department. It has been returned to the dealer more than three times for the same problem - cruise control.

General Comments:

The car drives nice and gets good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th November, 2007

20th Jul 2008, 14:10

I do not have this particular Saturn, but with my 94 Saturn SW2, everyone who drove my car complained that the key would not come out of the ignition. Sometimes it's a little sticky for me but generally it's not a problem. This must be something with Saturns as I've read about other Saturn owners having the same problem.

28th Aug 2009, 22:46

Purchased the car used for my 17 year old daughter. Key got stuck in the ignition and she was unable to drive it to school. After disconnecting the battery, it had to sit in the parking lot with key inside until I could take it to the dealership the next day. There are many reports online on the same problem.

2007 Saturn ION 4door 2.2 Ecotec from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 Ecotec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance6150 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A practical car at a reasonable price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet, other than the front seats need to have the bottom of the upholstery clamped back on.

General Comments:

There is not much power, and I have yet to see the advertised 35mph (I am getting 30).

It didn't cost much, so really I am pretty pleased with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2007

12th Dec 2007, 16:41

One thing about the gas mileage. If the gasoline has the ethanol added, it will cut you mileage drastically. Usually about 15 - 25% in my own experience.

2007 Saturn ION Quad coupe 2.2L Ecotec from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2L Ecotec Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Not A Bad Choice

Faults:

Only two problems so far: A bad fit of the headliner around the sunroof. Brought the car to the dealership to have it replaced, got a bit of a run-around, but eventually the headliner was replaced.

Something was squeaking loudly when the engine started (the second day I owned the car) brought the car to the dealership, a mechanic looked at it, worked his magic and haven't herd a noise since.

General Comments:

I have only owned the vehicle for a few months now, but my impression is, it is smooth, efficient and well constructed. I would recommend Saturns to my friends, it is substantially more fuel efficient than my previous car and has a very refined feeling for such an inexpensive car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2007

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 17 reviews