2007 Saturn ION Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2007 Saturn ION Quad 3 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres

Summary:

Big mistake

Faults:

Biggest mistake I have ever made. Bought in BC Canada, Fraser Valley Saturn ION 3 Quad April 2007. Within first month black car had etched spots which could not be removed. Some kind of reaction to the environment. GM replaced car at a user fee cost to me. July 2007 received brand new ION 3 quad replacement vehicle, within 30 days same problem. GM replaced this vehicle at a loss of over $900.00 in cancelled extra insurance on the vehicle. Bought a brand new vehicle September 2007, not a Saturn and guess what no problems.

General Comments:

Saturn better sort out its paint problems with the BC environment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th September, 2007

2007 Saturn ION from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles

Summary:

Unimpressive

General Comments:

Used an Ion as a rental in the Twin Cities. I found the instrument gauge to be in a weird location at the center of the dash, accidentally activated On-star while adjusting the mirror, but most importantly found the over-sized mirror to reduce my vision to the right front side. Was not impressed with the car and would not rent one again and would definitely not buy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th September, 2007

2007 Saturn ION 2 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired76 miles
Most recent distance330 miles

Summary:

Terrible gas mileage

Faults:

I also had the gas gauge issue - 2 times.

But even worse, after 300 miles, I am only averaging 17 mpg, (75% highway, 25% local)

My friends 4x4 pickup gets better mileage than that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2007

26th Aug 2007, 01:06

If you are only getting 17 mpg with 75% highway/25% city, there may be something very wrong with your ION. Mine gets 28.5 mpg city, 39 mpg highway.

7th Dec 2007, 23:58

Or maybe you should wait until your car engine breaks in before you post about your mileage. New engines don't achieve the advertised mpg until around 5000 miles.

2007 Saturn ION 2 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance276 miles
Previous carGMC GMC Savanna

Summary:

Do not purchase Saturn vehicles

Faults:

At just 176 miles - both front rotors had to be recut - and both rear drums had to be resurfaced.

This was discovered when the first highway braking occurred - slowing from 55-40 - and the car bounced all over the place, right rear locked up, and car swerved into right hand lane.

Now, at 270 miles, the gas gauge has stopped working.

I didn't experience any problems even similar to that until I reached 100,000 miles on my GMC Savanna - and yet on the Saturn Ion, I reached them in the first 300 miles.

Sad.

General Comments:

Saturn Ion cars are unreliable, and unsafe, right after purchased.

Brake issues could have caused major highway accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

30th Mar 2008, 08:25

I never had an issue with the Saturns we have owned, ever.

17th Jun 2008, 23:37

I sincerely HOPE commenter 06:42 DID NOT pay to have the rotors replaced on a Saturn that was still very much under warranty. If a dealer forced you to pay for what should have been warranty repairs, I hope you took it to your local Consumer Affairs office.

I bought a new Dodge in 1988 and it had warped rotors the day we drove it home. The dealer flatly refused to fix it, as did Chrysler corporation (I filed a grievance with Chrysler headquarters). As a result it was 14 years before anyone in my family even LOOKED at another Chrysler product. Since we are a multi-car family (never less than three at a time) Chrysler lost quite a bit from our 14-year boycott. I can't understand why any car company would risk alienating people (and their families and friends) by refusing to honor their warranties.

26th Jul 2010, 19:36

No, the dealer did not have me pay for rotors and pads, however since that time, there have been several repairs under warranty, which the dealer in Canada has danced around.

Latest is today when they tried to tell me that the caliper is not covered under my extended plan (which it is). The transmission is acting up; believed to be the transmission mount, and my steering rack is leaking. Mileage at check in was 66666 kms; scary!

Last time they adjusted the trunk lid and sprayed lube on the seal, saying they fixed the squeak in the back end, when it was actually the rear shocks leaking all over the place.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 17 reviews