2001 Saturn L200 Reviews - Page 7 of 9

2001 Saturn L200 2.2 Liter from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

The car was not worth the money I bought it for. Poor quality

Faults:

At 20,000 miles the security system started going off for no reason at all.

50,000 miles the catalytic converter went out on it.

At 60,000 miles the heater core went out on it, at.

90,000 miles the A/C Compressor went out on it at.

103,000 the main Security system computer went out on it.

4 times the AC hose that lets water drain from the A/C backed up in the car.

Among many other things along the way that I can't remember at this time all these were expensive fixes.

General Comments:

I can truly say the engine was very sound in this car.

The car handled OK.

Pick up was very slow not mush pickup at all at any mileage.

The interior was nice all he controls were easy to reach and the radio was fine the CD player skipped at times and the CD player would not release the CD at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th September, 2006

2001 Saturn L200 2.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

Love it and would buy another one

Faults:

Chip and cat replace under recall.

Motor mount needed replaced.

Water pump needed replaced.

General Comments:

This car is amazing. I did not think that I would like a 4 banger, but it is spunky and fuel efficient. Our family of four drove from Ohio to Maine - about 1,000 miles with the A/C blasting and the trunk full and averaged over 30 mpg.

Ours has heated leather and CD player. The interior is huge, the trunk is a cavern and the car still looks brand new. All of the materials are aging really well.

While I would like a bit more power, the fuel mileage is worth the trade off.

Love and would buy another one. The handling is amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2006

24th Jul 2007, 15:30

I brought my Saturn 2001 l200 in 2004. I have had a few minor issues. It is a dependable car. As with any car you will find those problems. No car is exception to the rule.

2001 Saturn L200 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles

Summary:

A great buy, if bought used

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. I have had the car for 2 years, performed all routine oil changes... it has had absolutely nothing gone wrong. It is amazing!

General Comments:

I love this car and I love Saturn. I'm a poor college students and bought this car to be dependable and reliable. I have never been dissatisfied with customer service at my dealer and my Saturn has never let me down. I love almost everything about the car. In fact, I'm looking to replace it with the newer body style (2003) because I love it to much! I have become a Saturn salesmen to my friend and because of that, 4 of them now own Saturns!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2006

2001 Saturn L200 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

Timing chain broke at 72,000 miles.

General Comments:

My timing chain broke today (12/03/05) My 2001 L200 has 72,000 miles on it. I have read many posts stating that Saturn employees will attribute the problem to oil changes. This makes me sick to my stomach, because that is EXACTLY what I was told today. When I argued the fact that I have been up to date on my oil changes, the tech gave me that old line "Sometimes these things just happen" I agree that things can just "happen", but when I see all of these posts, I can't help, but feel I am being wronged. If anyone has been successful in disputing this issue with Saturn can you please e-mail me and advise. My repair cost is being estimated at over $1000, But it won't be looked at until Monday morning. Wish me luck!

***On a side note***

For anyone experiencing problems with tail lights going out on your L200, there is a recall.

Mix-it-up-mike@sbcglobal.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2005

2001 Saturn L200 2.2 L4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 L4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5411 miles
Most recent distance25450 miles
Previous carSaturn sunbird

Summary:

I will never buy another one knowing what I do about the car maker and its loyalty to its customer

Faults:

My A\C unit blew out @ 24000+ miles, the break assembly lights go out frequently and now my timing chain has broken @ 25,450 miles. The dealer and corporate office refuse to take responsibility for an obvious defect costing me over $1500 to repair it. The warranty is designed to protect the manufaturer, not the consumer.

General Comments:

I have been totally pleased up until these problems started to occur.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th October, 2005

18th Oct 2005, 09:34

Saturn has issued a recall on your taillight issue. Contact your dealer (even if you bought it used) --this won't cost you to have it repaired.

The broken timing chain seems to be prevalent with the 4-cyl (ecotec) version of the L-series. Yours failed very early--you may have recourse if you approach the dealer with common sense. Still, $1500 isn't a bad deal, since this is an interference engine and all the valves will need to be replaced.

I own a L300 and have been very happy--but I have the 3.0 V6 version and reliability has been excellent.

18th Oct 2005, 13:21

If you abused the car its your fault. If not you should try to get some compensation.

19th Jul 2009, 21:50

The car has major issues with the engine. I purchased a used one with 80K miles. Now it has 118K. It was well cared for while I had it. The engine head is shot. Piston problems. Window wiper problems. Horn problems. Maybe I got a bad one. BUT... I will never purchase another Saturn again.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 37 reviews