2001 Saturn L200 Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2001 Saturn L200 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carSaturn L200

Summary:

I think the car is cheaply made

Faults:

The timing chain broke at 63,000 miles while on the highway.

General Comments:

While at full highway speed, the engine stopped without warning. I was 80 miles at home with two kids in the car, stuck on the side of an interstate. After having it towed home and finding a ride for my wife and kids, it was diagnosed by a local repair shop as a broken timing chain. After having no success in finding a shop to fix it, I had it towed to a dealer for repair. The estimated cost for repair is around $2700. I filed a claim with Saturn and after they were willing to pay for 25% of the cost. The dealer was also willing to work with me on the labor charges, so my cost will ultimately be around $1800.00. The dealer stated they see this problem from time to time, and they stated the lowest mileage they have seen it with was 3000 miles. Seems to be a problem with this model Saturn. The dealer said that between him and me, the L-series is "not the best product Saturn has made".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2005

31st Jan 2006, 14:44

Well maybe if you would learn how to treat a car and do the maintanence. a car doesn't fix itself. I have one and haven't had a single problem with it.

2001 Saturn L200 L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Nice car, but not worth the aggravation

Faults:

I've had the ignition switch replaced.

Dealer replaced Catalytic converter due to a recall.

I've already replaced the interior dome light and the left back brake light due to inferior parts.

Replaced the trunk seal, which has gone bad and caused leaking into the trunk compartment.

Timing chain just broke at 68,000 miles, and now I have to replace the engine.

General Comments:

Overall, I enjoy this car. It offers a lot of space in the interior. The trunk is one of the largest I've ever seen! (Bigger than my friend's Mercedes) I like the look of the car and have received many comments on it. The car responds well on the gas and handles well on rough roads.

The timing chain just broke, and I found out that my brother had the same problem with his Saturn S-series, as had a friend of mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

2001 Saturn L200 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

Six months of BAD NEWS

Faults:

Most recently the timing chain broke at 32,000 miles.

The catalytic converter was replaced at 29,000 miles.

The wiring for the heater had to be completely rewired twice.

General Comments:

The car would not go more than 10 miles per hour after the timing chain broke. I had it towed to a auto-shop and they said that the valve is also bent.

They recommended that I take it to the dealer and open up a case at Saturn Assistance to get then to pay for a whole new engine. ($3,000+)

I was told, like others, that this happens when the oil is not changed. Yet I have changed the oil twice in the six months that I have owned the car. After going on the web, I'm relieved to see some of the same problems occurring.

Even if the oil wasn't changed, the timing chain should NOT go at 32,000 Miles on any car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

2001 Saturn L200 2.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Dude that's my car!

Faults:

I was doing reverse donuts in the parking lot where I work and had the wheel cranked to far to the right and lost my power steering pump.

General Comments:

This car is not to be underestimated. It is quick in the higher gears and the turbo really moves it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

15th Feb 2005, 09:58

That engine isn't turbocharged, unless you had an aftermarket one installed.

2001 Saturn L200 Sedan 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Saturn has an unreliable engine and poor customer service

Faults:

Timing Chain broke at 53,000. So far the dealer has the price of repair at $2800.00 but the price seems to be still going up.

Ignition Module has been replaced 2 times in the last 30 days.

General Comments:

While driving at 25 mph, I heard a loud pop from the engine, and the car stopped run immediately. I took it to the dealer, who so far has the repairs for the entire upper half of the engine at $2800.00. When I asked, he stated that it was probably because of lack of oil changes. I am a driver education instructor, and I am very meticulous about insuring the maintenance of my vehicle for state or parental inspections. I am usually 300 to 500 miles early on oil changes, just for that reason.

The ignition module went out in December. Unfortunately, I was never notified that it was under recall until after I had paid to be towed and had it replaced at a local garage. When I went to a dealer, they replaced the new one, along with a faulty catalytic converter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2005

6th Apr 2005, 18:09

I had the same problem, but mine went at 42,000. It is still under warranty, but they said that due to "lack of proper maintenance", it is not covered. That is not the case, as I had the proper oil changes, but I don't have all the receipts. This is my third Saturn, the only one I have had a problem with, and if I cannot resolve this, it will be my last Saturn.

27th Apr 2005, 20:24

I am looking into filing a class action suit against Saturn due to the timing chain defect that is happening to the 2000ish L series vehicles. Saturn is claiming to several people that the vehicle was not maintained. If interested in joining the class action, email me at saturnsuit@yahoo.com Thanks...

9th May 2005, 10:11

My Saturn L200 was repaired under recall #03C06001 in 2003. Subsequently, in 2005, the vehicle acted in exactly the same manner as in 2003 and exploded on the side of the highway. Luckily, I got out. The investigation showed that the fire was due to failure of the resonator pipe. Obviously the repairs indicated in this recall notice are not sufficient to solve the problem.

12th Jun 2005, 13:43

The timing chain on my 2001 L200 just snapped at 45,000 miles. I am extremely angry after reading all the stuff online about this being an ongoing problem. I'd love to find out if Saturn has done anything for anyone with this problem. If anyone knows any thing please email me at jessy07_1998@yahoo.com.

31st Jan 2006, 14:46

I haven't had a single problem. theres more to maintenance then just changing your oil.

6th Jun 2006, 12:08

After read these comments, I won't buy this car.. I'm afraid,. thank you.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 37 reviews