2001 Saturn L200 Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2001 Saturn L200 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Great bang for the buck (if you buy used)

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong with the car. Everything has been great. I have not had a single problem with the car in the 6 months I have owned it, lets just hope it stays that way.

General Comments:

I love everything except the black perminent sun visor around the rear view mirror is annoying espically for someone who is 6'1. But I have no problem fitting comfortably in it, there is much more leg room that you would expect!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2004

2001 Saturn L200 2.2 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

A defect

Faults:

The timing chain broke after 27,000 miles, damaging the upper half of the engine. The dealer was claiming it's because the oil wasn't changed, when I changed it myself several times.

After speaking with several mechanics, and they agree that even if the oil hadn't been changed (which it has), a timing chain should not break - especially after only 27,000 miles.

General Comments:

Saturn corporate has been extremely unhelpful, and I've seen this complaint several times on this board. I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and I am trying to find some equitable solution to this problem.

Through some Internet research, I have seen that this is not an uncommon problem with Saturns, and I am looking at getting them to do something about it.

I would love to be able to share some of your experiences that are similar to mine. Please let me know if you've had a timing chain related problem with your Saturn. I'm now facing an $1800 repair bill that should not be mine.

My email address is jdressander@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

4th Aug 2004, 11:12

I was just notified that the timing chain on my 2001 Saturn broke. The car has approximately 70,000 miles. When they were going over the possible causes, they also mentioned oil changes. It's hard to believe that in a time when most people will tell you that changing your oil every 3,000 is excessive, that they would stick to that story. I'm being told that I'm looking at $2,600 worth of repairs.

2001 Saturn L200 2.2L Ecotec I4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Ecotec I4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance35100 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

An overpriced, mediocre sedan

Faults:

Spring clip in rear suspension loose and rattling, replaced. (5000 miles)

Fuel gauge sending unit bad, replaced. (8000 miles)

Cruise control module bad, replaced. (9000 miles)

Squeaky gas pedal, replaced whole assembly twice. (8000/12000 miles)

Clutch master cylinder replaced due to squeaking clutch pedal (22000 miles)

Seat back replaced due to sqeaking/defective hardware. (30000 miles). After replacement, squeaking returned even worse in a week.

Has undergone 3 rounds of computer reprogramming.

General Comments:

This car looks great and has OK power for a 4-banger, but overall, mine just seems to have shoddy quality all the way around.

The trunk is very large, and the seats fold down, which make it useful for carrying a lot of stuff.

I get horrid mileage for a 4 cyl in the city (around 19 mpg).

This car has NO resale value at all; I paid 20,000 for an early model 2002 and 2 years later it's worth 6500 for a trade.

I would never get the manual--it has horrible throws and is not a smooth transmission, and the clutch seems weak.

Dealer service has always been good, but I don't think I should be on a first name basis with them.

If you're looking for a $20-25k sedan, look elsewhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 06:58

I agree with you on this. I just bought a 2003 L200 for 19,400 and its worth no more than $12,586.00 on NADA. This is really bad, I'm happy with the car, but hate the resale on this thing. Now I'm stuck. I would not buy another one!

15th Feb 2004, 12:54

I have to agree with the both of you on this. I just bought a 2003 L200, wonderful condition, for 19,800.00 and now have 50K on it. (I'm in Real Estate). I can't get more than $9,000 trade for it. I did get the 100K war thought. And it's been in the shop 9 times. I would not buy another, and can't due to the negative equity problem! If you buy one, buy it used, and put lots down on it.

2nd Aug 2004, 14:02

Hi all.

I have a Saturn L200 with approximately 41,000 miles on it. I've taken the car in regularly for service. Approximately 2 months ago, I was told that the front brake pads AND rotors had to be replaced. I can understand the pads, but I never had rotors replaced at such low mileage. In fact, the dealer said the rotors were so worn, there was nothing left to trim. They had to be replaced.

Has anyone else had this problem? I'm in the process of fighting with Saturn on this.

My email address is emfanning@aol.com.

27th Nov 2006, 15:02

I have a 2001 L200 with 83,000 miles. I have also had the same problem with my brakes in the past - my rotors and pads were replaced at 45,000. Unfortunately, that has not been the only problem that I've had and I have always completed regular recommended maintenance at the Saturn dealer. Other problems include: rattling of the passenger side door panel, power steering leak, A/C compressor leak (quoted $900 to fix by dealer), and now there is coolant leaking inside on the passenger side floor of the vehicle. After reading other reviews, I am going home today to check the timing chain!

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 37 reviews