27th Sep 2007, 21:14

If I had known any of this, I would not have gotten a loan, due to the fact that my family's safety comes first. I have only had my 2001 L200 for 2 days, and I have not seen any problems yet besides squeaky brakes, but I will get my new car checked out tomorrow at my auto shop, so thank you to all that put their info on here.

If anyone can be kind enough to keep me posted on what happens with the investigation of GM, it would be great. E-mail me at moneygobbler@gmail.com

Thank you Misty.

5th Oct 2007, 20:43

I have a 2001 Saturn L200 (seems to be quite the popular car... on here at least!). I took my car in to get a new ignition cylinder/housing . Went to pick up my car (hours after it was originally supposed to be done), and the mechanic started the car... it started up fine. He turned it off to do some paperwork. He got in the car to pull it out of the garage and, low and behold, they come back to tell us that my timing chain has just broken!! First, I'm thinking... you broke it, you fix it. Now, as I'm sitting here thinking about Monday, when I get the nice call from the Area Manager, who knows I'm seeking financial assistance (I didn't know this was a problem with my series of car before speaking to them), I can pretty much predict what he'll have to say to me.

I just wish GM would realize there is a mistake with the car, take the losses, and move on. "Wish" being the key word there.

8th Oct 2007, 19:36

I just checked the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website, and it appears that many of you aren't posting your complaints regarding the Saturn Timing chain. Other than receiving information from GM, the driver complaint is the only means for the NHTSA to hear your unhappiness, which may lead to either a recall or a declaration of defect, either of which is good for the consumer. Please consider doing this as soon as you can. Here is the website: http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/index.cfm.

9th Oct 2007, 15:53

Indeed, when I search complaints by vehicle make, year, etc. is shows exactly "zero" Timing Chain reports. Apparently this 412,000 figure is an urban myth.

10th Oct 2007, 12:24

I know I posted my timing chain mishap when it happened last week on the NHTSP website. So I'm wondering what is happening to them (or it) if you said that you didn't see any on there. I didn't search for any when I went to the sight, but I do know that I posted one!

16th Oct 2007, 21:25

The 412,000 number comes from NHTSA. There is an Engineering Analysis that is open on this issue. To find this, go to the NHTSA web site:


And search for NHTSA Action Number: EA06009

12th Dec 2007, 21:45

Word at my Saturn dealer is that there is going to be a recall. The catch is... it is only for, I think, 2000 cars. It will happen in either January or February of '08. Although, knowing that certain dealership... they were probably just trying to say anything to get my out of there with a smile on my face. Stupid.

17th Dec 2007, 13:52

2002 L200 SW. Same song & dance Chain broke & detroyed all the valves. $2500 to repair. NHTSA reports that GM is going to have a recall. (Letter from GM dated Nov 7, 2007 is on the NHTSA web site.) Wonder if it'll cover the damages caused by the defect? (Hahaha! My warranty ran out last July. Four months past warranty is not a very good record!)

18th Dec 2007, 10:46

Up date to this^^^^^^

Recall GM # 06074 is limited to 20,000 2001 models. (Out of over 400,000 complaints from model years 2000-2003)

This is criminal. My car had a little over 50,000 miles with a blue book value of $6000. (Now I'll have to pay to have somebody haul it off.) Saturn did offer me a $2000 dollar trade in. (Dream on A%@holes. GM will never get another dime from me.) If anyone knows of any class action lawsuits, e-mail me at robscott3366@yahoo.com.

28th Dec 2007, 16:30

2001 L200 Same old same old. Motor let go in spring of 2005, only 47000 miles. Let sit for 4 months until could borrow money to replace motor (1,100$) and install it (1,500$) at the dealer we bought it used from (18000 miles). While still making payments on car. Wish I had Internet savvy back then. Note I still have the old motor, waiting on class action.

7th Jan 2008, 08:33

I too am changing out my 2.2 engine on my 01 L200. Is there a certain year or engine that I should be looking for? It looks like if I buy any engine- I should put the update timing chain oiler in before I install the engine. If I have the engine rebuilt, is the update kit a standard item now?? I was going to order a used engine, today, but after reading this, I will wait a while to get some good advise from the people in this forum.

16th Jan 2008, 19:21

Well my experience is over and I'm glad to say that it went rather well. Saturn replaced everything free of charge and I had my car back in 3 days... I had bent some valves and the head needed to be replaced. No problems with them at all. In fact I think I'm going to buy my next car from them.


21st Jan 2008, 20:54

Dear Saturn.

I found this site when I went online looking for replacement parts for my car. My 2002 L200 timing chain broke at 54,987 miles - no warning - no noise - nothing. I was stopped, waiting for a chance to turn right onto a busy road (Storrow Drive in Boston)... I pulled into traffic and nearly got killed. My infant son was in the back seat...

Do you have children? Could you at least warn other owners?

22nd Jan 2008, 14:02

I have a Saturn L200 with 93000+ miles on it. Thankfully I have never had a problem with the timing chain. I did receive a recall notice on the timing chain recently and will be taking my car in to have the replacement done later this week.

Anyone who had to pay for their replacement should have a good case for being compensated.

28th Jan 2008, 17:45

I know, I'm on the wrong board, but COUNT ME IN on the timing chain failure... 2002 Saturn Vue 2.2L, timing chain went at 117K with FAITHFUL ON TIME MAINTENANCE. (Should of lasted much longer!) I'm currently fighting with my dealership that I had the warranty work done at, claiming that I had a warranty up to 91K miles (Which turned out to be January 2007) and that they've had this "tech bulletin" out since 2003. I stalled going almost 60 MPH with 3 children in the back (6yrs, 2 yrs, 4 months) in 15 degree weather. Had to sit for 1/2 an hour in the freezing cold, no running car with my young ones. I've had hardly any problems with my car until now, and I'm fighting tooth and nail for reimbursement. After I brought all the statistics to the dealership, they told me to bring the car up, but "no guarantees" on repair help. (Another $300 to tow it up? NO) Reported this to the NHTSA, my Better Business Bureau, working up to Attorney General for NY. I'm one very mad consumer... Paid $700 for a new engine, $900 to install, my local GM dealership who serviced my car took the old one out and new engine in in 1 day, gave me a free loaner car, just been wonderful. Even kept my old engine as proof I changed oil, to show it was cheaper to replace engine than straighten pistons, rebuild head, ETC... And Saturn? Refuses to even speak to me after telling them there is a class action against them for this...

So much for a "Family Friendly" and reliable company.


Thought I would just throw my experience in.