1995 Saturn SC Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1995 Saturn SC SC1 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This car was stolen with a pair of scissors!

Faults:

Alternator went within days of buying the car.

Tensioner went the same week, I've had the belt replaced 6 times and the tensioner twice.

The tires wore down to the wires in 5000 miles.

Burns oil like there's no tomorrow, I'm adding a quart a month.

Bought car with new brakes, but had to replace them 8 months later.

Replaced the muffler a year ago, and the system is already looking like it's time to replace it.

The AM/FM radio doesn't work at all. I took it into an audio center and they were unable to trace the problem, I am unable to tune in any stations. The tape deck works about half the time. I had to buy a special tape adapter to use my CD player, and when it's cold outside the stereo spits the tape back out at me.

General Comments:

I like this car, I honestly do. It's fun to drive and I think it's sharp looking. It has great pick-up and amazing gas mileage. However, it has a lot of issues which I've listed here. There are also a few minor things with the car that I'm not overly fond of, like the tiny backseats and the seat belts that lock at unpredictable times.

Last point I'd like to share with you, as hinted at in my title, is that the 95 Saturn SC1 (and allegedly ALL Saturn's) are terribly easy to steal. My car was stolen about 2 months ago. Thankfully the police found it 2 hours later and the trial against the thief is now underway. When I went to the police station to pick up my car and fill out the complaint, I asked how it was taken. The cop told me that the guy used a small pair of scissors to open the door and start the car as easily as if he had a key. This is common knowledge among car theives, Saturn's are easy targets! If you have a Saturn, buy an alarm today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

1995 Saturn SC SC1 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65 miles
Most recent distance105 miles
Previous carSaturn none

Summary:

Cheap, reliable and can take a beating

Faults:

The top end was replaced at 50k because of excessive oil burning.

General Comments:

This car can take a beating. I am a teenager and have ragged the piss out of this car just about every day. It won't break.

It's not the fastest car, but its quick when you need it.

The gas mileage is great, about 30 in the city and 35-40 on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

1995 Saturn SC SC2 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance106200 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Hopefully reliable after I fix some things

Faults:

I just bought the car yesterday. I knew it had some problems, like the rpms stuck at about 2200 sometimes when the car was in neutral or the clutch was pressed in, the sunroof is also broken, and there are rattles on the dash.

On my drive home, the temperature gauge rose all the way up to the line before the red zone. It dropped after that and stayed fairly steady. The needle is a little hotter than what my girlfriends 1995 SL2 is. I changed the radiator coolant today, it was dirty. I am keeping my fingers crossed that it's not dirty because of oil which would indicate a cracked head or bad head gasket.

For the idle, I took off the throttle body, and took off the Idle Air Control Valve (IACV) and cleaned it with brake cleaner. The idle is better now, but it stuck at about 1500 rpms once. I may need to check a junkyard or buy a new IACV from the dealer (probably $300).

Dash rattles can probably be fixed by putting some rubber under the parts that rattle to hold the pieces tighter.

There is a piece on the sunroof that is broken. I'm not sure if I can fix this or not. I'll have to check with the dealer.

General Comments:

So far the car is good. I am just keeping my fingers crossed that the head is not cracked. This would be a costly repair (probably $500 from a junkyard).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2003

5th Jul 2003, 00:59

My Saturn had many problems, such as a broken engine computer 800 dollars to replace, the sunroof 500 dollars for a small piece and installation, something up with the transmission going into the higher RPM at random times. I just got in a wreck, but I do believe the plastic saved my life. On to a Honda I go.

1st Feb 2005, 11:05

I also have a 1995 Saturn SC2 and my car is having some of the same problems as yours. The RPM stays at least 1000-1500 even when the car is in park. The dashboard on mine also rattles, but I have discovered that this is from the plastic case that goes over the radio, air conditioner, and all of that.

Both of those things should be pretty easy to fix. Hopefully they will be cheap too!

3rd Mar 2005, 17:58

Try to clean your O2 sensor it worked for me.. good luck.

28th Jul 2005, 16:47

RPM fix...

I use carb cleaner on the intake manifold every 5k miles. After that, I unplug the battery for 5 min to reset the engine. A little fuel injection cleaner prior to this never hurts. Seams to clear it up some.

I've also noticed that when the oil is a little low (SL2 is prone to wearing out rings) that the RPM problem becomes more regular. Hope that this helps. This is my third, and last Saturn!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 30 reviews