1996 Saturn SC Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1996 Saturn SC sc2 1.8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Worth the price

Faults:

At thirty thousand miles, the gas tank imploded, causing a sudden and complete loss of power. As I was on an interstate, I had to struggle to get to the shoulder without power and without getting killed. Saturn replaced the gas tank under warranty.

Thirty thousand miles later, it happened again, again while on the highway. This time I had to pay $400 to replace the gas tank.

General Comments:

Although I await the next implosion, overall the car is a bargain - 27-35 miles per gallon tankful after tankful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

1996 Saturn SC SC2 1.9L DOHC-4 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9L DOHC-4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

Love this car and would buy another

Faults:

Alternator died at 65,000 miles.

Driver's seat is showing some wear.

General Comments:

Good acceleration and performance for a 4-cylinder engine.

Love the polymer door panels. They were especially nice when I had the car at college.

Back seat is small and not comfortable for long trips, but OK for short trips and very useful for moving things.

Gets 32 mpg in city driving and about 37 mpg highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2004

1996 Saturn SC 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90421 miles
Most recent distance106050 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Gas saving bargain car, but too small for a family

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong on the car yet.

General Comments:

I have had the car for six months, it runs good, and gets 42.5 mpg even though it has a 106,000 miles on it. The car has decent acceleration for a four cylinder. What this car lacks in power, it makes up in style. The two door coupe with the sunroof is a nice sporty style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

1996 Saturn SC SC2 1.9 Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

A fantastic, safe sports car

Faults:

I had to replace the 6 year old battery.

Sometimes the sunroof won't open on the first try, but will always close.

The alternator went out at about 60,000 miles.

The backseat is tiny, but cute.

There is a lot of road noise, but nothing unbearable.

General Comments:

I was shocked to read some of the comments made by other SC2 owners. I loved my SC2 and would still have it had a woman not pulled out on me on a major highway and totaled it for me. When I found the car was totaled I cried because it was an awesome car with hardly any problems. Even though the car was totaled, I will say that me and my passenger did not have a single scratch and the car held up better than expected.

I found the car to handle more than excellent.

Great on gas mileage, even with a driver like myself who likes to take off quickly.

Very reliable. I never worried about it not getting me where I needed to go.

The front seats were very comfortable.

The gauges were very easy to read.

The car would get warm in the winter and cool in the summer very quickly.

I never had any problems with the power features of the car, other than the sunroof.

The car was tiny, but being a college student, I could pack a lot into it... great trunk space.

The bright lights on the car were exceptional.

Good power on major highways.

Great visibility with very few blind-spots. Passengers never feel closed in.

I accidentally let the transmission fluid run out and drove it without any fluid for a very long time and the transmission held up like a tank and had no damage at all.

Overall I loved my car and can't say enough wonderful things about it. I'm shopping for a new car right now and I want another Saturn SC2. I was very proud of the way it held up in the wreck and feel very safe driving a Saturn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2004

1996 Saturn SC SC1 1.9 SOHC 100 hp 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 SOHC 100 hp 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance167800 miles

Summary:

An American Honda

Faults:

I've noticed that majority of complaints are about the 1996 Saturn SC2, which has a DOHC engine, different than the SC1.

I, well my mother, bought a 96 SC1 in Feb of 03. It's consumed oil from day one... And delays switching into reverse from Park, but not from Neutral??? If you're not paying attention while switching and happen to give it gas, it will make this loud thump when it engages... It scares me every time.

I do see a little oil around the engine, but it does not make up for the amount of oil loss.. (about a quart a week)...

This car is horrible with brakes... And even more picky about spark plugs and wires.

Even with all the complaints, I often push this car like a $50,000 sports car. Topping 100mph probably once a week.

I think it's a trooper for having all factory parts except the alternator (I think my new stereo killed it)... even at 170k miles.

I don't know why, but I really don't think this car will make it to see its last payment. Only $3200 to go.

Oh, it really could use an alignment, it shakes and shimmies over 70mph... and I think one of the injectors is bad, $100 a piece (not replacing) signs of a bad injector is really, really bad. Engine idling and shaking, and the computer reports cylinder misfire. I just put in fuel injector cleaner, worked like a charm.

The car rattles everywhere inside, and due to my stereo, outside also.

One more thing, when I'm sad about my Saturn, I try fitting adults in the back seat, always a riot...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

4th Jul 2004, 18:12

I am the writer of this review; thought I should update.

My mom just had the top motor-mount replaced in 6/04, (about 175K-180K miles) a reported common issue with this car. Bought part from Auto-Zone, for under $80, my brother says it now drives like a brand new car. I'm out of town so I can't give my opinion. Put it this way my brother is 6 feet 4 in, and he can't stand the car in the first place; but he did admit that the motor-mount made a huge change.

I would like to buy the car from my mom; but I think she wants to trade it in. Oh yeah, my mom still has the 800Watt stereo system I installed!!! "Rock On" MOM!!!

11th Aug 2004, 19:34

Another update.

The head gasket finally gave way.

Oil everywhere...

My mom had it fixed by the dealer for $400, it blew again 1 week later!!! It's in the shop now. I'll let you know how it goes!!!

25th Aug 2005, 02:06

Yeah; I know this is a bit late. The car died; well we pulled the plug!!! During the head gasket issue, the cost to repair was just too much (crooked dealer). My mom bought a Chrysler Concorde 96-97. A friend try to install a stereo as a gift; fried the computer, Also too much to fix... I'm not sure what she has now. Nevertheless I Bought a 2003 Chevy Impala base model 3.4L.@32k miles. So far so good @ 52k Miles...24 Aug 05.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 28 reviews