2002 Saturn SC Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2002 Saturn SC SC1 1.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

My car is my baby. I love it

Faults:

My moon-roof leaks, but I think they fixed it. I had it in twice, but it hasn't leaked again yet. I have had my brake rotors replaced at 12,ooo miles, but my car sat in storage for 6 months so that was part of it. And all of that work has been under warranty. It's a great car. I drive cars really hard and Saturns don't die on me.

General Comments:

The seat are really uncomfortable for long drives. I drive cross contry some times and I hate the seats in my care. I swear I can feel the springs poking me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

2002 Saturn SC from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance6372 miles

Summary:

A Mercedes what? Get yourself a Saturn!

Faults:

Nearly nothing has gone wrong with this car, besides the fact that it wouldn't start twice due to the fact that a relative of mine who had borrowed it forgot to turn off the headlights during the night. I don't know how someone would make a mistake like that though... so it's understandable that something like that would happen.

Also, my radio reception has a lot of static. I can't explain why that is.

General Comments:

This is a worthy car to own. The look of it is indeed very sporty, and you could even fool someone you pass into thinking that it's a car with manual transmission. Once you press down on the gas you won't be disapointed.

My only disapointment, however, was the suspension. Everyone else who has written a review seems to have mentioned this.

It won't kill you on the gas either; I only have to its tank weekly and to do so costs me 18 dollars.

Since it's a lightweight car, it's very sensitive to bumps or potholes in the road; I used to think one of my tires would pop off one day, but that never happened.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2003

17th Oct 2004, 10:36

This review should have a happy face, this person was basically satisfied with his Saturn.

2nd Dec 2005, 23:15

No!..Do not get a Saturn.

15th Jan 2006, 01:45

Saturn is a good car? PLEASE! They are terrible. My mom is almost 40 years old and is one of the calmest drivers in the world, drives that car so easy and smooth and yet the thing is falling apart. I took it to get the oil changed and it drove fine from our house to the dealer, no problems, then during the oil change they come out and tell my the transmission is completely done and there is fluid everywhere and it needs to be replaced. Yeah, right! That was when it was 3 years old and had 50,000 miles on it. It now has 55,000 miles on it and is stuck at a friend's house because it won't start. Not to mention the engine blew in the previous Saturn I had owned, there was only 90,000 miles on that one.

11th Apr 2006, 17:05

That pretty much makes the warranty useless, then. What else is to safeguard you against shoddy manufacturing?

4th Jul 2007, 09:24

I'm on my second Saturn now which is an 2002 SC and I've only had it for 24 hours, so I can't say anything about it yet.

However, with my first Saturn I had to replace the water pump, starter, muffler, alternator, and maybe 5 other things.

So why did I go with another Saturn? I didn't have to start replacing that stuff until 135,000 miles. I was VERY VERY satisfied with it. Not a single problem until after 6 years of a LOT of driving is pretty good if you ask me.

2002 Saturn SC SC2 Coupe 3 door 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47 miles
Most recent distance550 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A perfect mid-life crises present!

Faults:

So far, I no problems have been encountered with the SC2 Coupe. The shifting of the 5-speed transmission could be smoother over all, but is acceptable.

General Comments:

Braking is excellent and braking control is exceptional especially in wet weather. The four-wheel independent suspension is phenomenal with precise handling with no sway in tight curves at highway speeds. The tan coloration of the cabin is extremely comfortable and relaxing and the stereo/CD is exceptional - especially in comparison to the 2003 ION. I think Saturn will regret the cost-saving measure of taking the four-wheel independent suspension out of the 2003 ION models. Engine performance for 1.9 cc compared to the wife's Toyota Camry 2.2 cc notes only a slightly higher power difference in the Camry, but not enough for the cost difference of the vehicles. The SC2 cabin is small making entry/exit difficult for tall persons. Long trips are made more comfortable by letting the seat back an extra space or two and leaning the back of the seat back a space or two.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews