1993 Saturn SL Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1993 Saturn SL SL2 1.9 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

A Simple Performer

Faults:

Factory rotors warped soon after purchase.

Car tends to overheat on hot days. I have been to 3 different shops about it and looked into it myself and there seems to be no way to remedy the problem.

Started consuming oil at around 80,000.

General Comments:

Simple GM parts make this car easy to maintain and cheap to fix. Aside from parts wearing out after a reasonable time this car has had very few problems.

The car handles great at speed and does remarkably well in the snow.

The gas mileage has dropped only a little since it was new from 35+ mpg highway to around 30 mpg.

With a manual transmission the acceleration on this car is incredible. The first three gears are geared very low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

1993 Saturn SL SL2 4-DR 1.9 twin cam from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 twin cam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Good value for the money

Faults:

The drivers side electric window lift failed. Repaired under warranty.

The oxygen sensor failed at around 100,000 mies.

The engine has used some oil since around 100,000 miles.

There are a lot of creaks, rattles, and noises in the interior.

General Comments:

No haggle price made for a nice purchase experience.

Reasonably good car considering the low original purchase price.

The dealer was typically clueless about repairs and service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2003

1993 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116416 miles
Most recent distance118523 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Is a good deal in the lower mile range

Faults:

The engine is making knocking noises in 118,000 mile range.

General Comments:

The car was pretty reliable and comfortable until it started to make noises.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

12th Sep 2002, 10:08

I have experience with these cars. Unfortunately we own a 1993 SL2.Your knocking noises are definitely due to a lack of oil in your engine. These cars do not leak oil yet burn it heavily. You need an oil tanker in tow when driving these junk cars.

18th Nov 2002, 13:26

Most older Saturn's will burn oil if the car is not taken care of. New engines have been made more durable. I own a 1993 with 191,000 miles. The head cracked so I dropped a new engine in and it will run another 100 some thousand miles at least.

PS. Saturn builds the best American cars.

1993 Saturn SL SL2 1.4L Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4L Twin Cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired267000 kilometres
Most recent distance282000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Aries

Summary:

A great overall purchase

Faults:

The most recent thing to go wrong with my Saturn was the electric window on the front passenger side. I still haven't fixed it.

The car also burns a little oil. It is not enough oil to worry about.

My car's cooling fan was not working when I got the car. I spent a little money and fixed it myself.

As long as I have had the car, which is about one year, everything seems to be fine.

The is also a little rust starting to show around the side windows.

General Comments:

I really like the look of my SL2. It turns a lot of heads when I drive by.

The car is very enjoyable on longer trips. It is very easy to drive on the highway.

The car's rims are aluminum and are seriously chipped. I am looking for some new ones for it.

Even with high mileage, the car still likes to perform.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

1993 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance305000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

A great cheap car

Faults:

My clutch needed to be replaced once (which I've heard is common).

Alternator was replaced.

Air Conditioning broke and was too expensive to repair ($2000)

Electric Fan has never worked since I got the car.

General Comments:

I think this car is incredibly cheap to own. At 305,000 km, I have only had a couple of major repairs.

It isn't terribly comfortable, but as an ecomony car, nothing that I've owned can touch it.

Enough room for 4 with folding 60/40 rear seats, and great mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2002

1993 Saturn SL SL1 1.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 kilometres
Most recent distance121000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Good MPG, comfortable, but no reliability

Faults:

The brakes went at 111,000km. Came with warranty.

Bead leak in tire at 111,000km. Came with warranty.

The clutch blew at around 119,000km. Cost me $400.

The heater went at around 119,500km. I still haven't fixed it.

General Comments:

I admit, I like the car and it's VERY comfortable (wicked heating, cruise, nice seats, good vision, quick acceleration, etc), but I just don't like the reliability. Several people have described the car as having "2nd rate GM parts" and I find it true. The clutch went very quickly, and I woke up one morning to find the heater busted. I'd like to get an import, just because of increased reliability because I'm not sure I trust this car to go much more than 150,000km.

It must be noted, though, that this car is one of the best I've seen on gas. I do around 30-40MPG city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2002

11th Feb 2002, 18:44

Everything you have mentioned here can be attributed to normal wear & tear. The car is nine years old. It can be normal for brakes to need replacing at

111,000kms, especially if the previous owner drove the car hard. Same with the clutch, if you keep your foot on the clutch pedal after shifting you will wear it out prematurely. The tires are probably not the original ones, so you can't blame the manufacturer. As for the heater, it's probably the fan motor that failed. Not too expensive to fix.

Import cars will have all of these problems with the mileage & age of the car.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 41 reviews