1996 Saturn SL Reviews - Page 18 of 24

1996 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance100200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

An awesome car

Faults:

I had to replace the spark plugs and wires shortly after I bought the car.

I also had to replace the front brake pads.

General Comments:

I really like my Saturn. It has been a very reliable car.

The four cylinder engine isn't very fast, but is still OK. It also gets about 35-40 miles per gallon, so I won't complain too much.

I was hit by a deer on the driver's side fender and door. I had to replace the fender because it was cracked. I got a fender the same color from a junk yard for about $130. The driver's side mirror had to be replaced also and that was about $50. The plastic panel on the door just popped back out, so it looks fine. You couldn't tell, except the lock is about half an inch further in than it used to be.

In my opinion, this is a very good car and I would be more than happy to buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

15th Mar 2007, 14:25

I agree, I have a 1996 Saturn SL1...right now with 160,000 miles on it and it still runs great! Never problems... And you are right, about 40 miles to the gal.

Saturns are good cars!

7th Dec 2008, 19:56

I can easily get 36-39mph with my red Saturn SL2.

I had may first collision last week after 13 years ownership.

I need a new front bumper cover and right front fender.

Looked up the parts on Ebay:

Front bumper cover $65.00 plus shipping, unpainted

Right fender: $40.00, unpainted

Fender splash shield: $40.00

Front hood, unpainted: $180.00

Right front headlight: $115.00 new

Otherwise the chassis and frame are undamaged, a tough and safe car.

1996 Saturn SL SL1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

I highly recommend the Saturn 5 speed for great mpg and safety features

Faults:

The engine had to be partially replaced at 60K when a manufacture defect was admitted to. I had an extended warranty up to 100K and the engine had problems. The Dealer gave me a loaner for the duration.

Manual 5 speed transmission sticks and was repaired at 85K. Still sticks, hard to shift into first 3 gears.

General Comments:

This Saturn is great for gas mileage.

I get approximately 38 to 42 mpg.

It handles well on ice and snow.

The Dealer puts a gas and oil additive each time.

I struck one deer and was hit on the side by another deer while I was driving at 55 mph. No damage. Plastic doors.

My 17 year old daughter was in the car each time of the deer strikes. Because of the safety features, she now drives a Saturn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2003

1996 Saturn SL 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Junk crap don't buy one!!!

Faults:

Transmission failure.

Over heating.

General Comments:

This is the biggest piece of crap ever made. I have never had a car that had so many problems all the time, and let me tell you its not cheap to fix these GM abortions. Right now that pile of crap is sitting at Saturn waiting for a transmission, not to mention I had to have the head gasket replaced and its still running way hotter than normal. The transmission has always been rough since the 2nd day I bought the car its had a grind to it and I was told don't worry about it, its just the way Saturns sound. I have always had 5-speeds and I am 35 years old and never once had a problem with any of them, besides this crap-mobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

28th Aug 2006, 19:39

That is so funny because I am experiencing the same thing right now. As I say it has committed car suicide. OK sorry just had to agree with you.

15th Sep 2008, 07:19

I bought my Saturn very used, and have not had any major problems. I do need to change my motor mount.

One thing I can say about the Saturn it is super easy to work on yourself, so all you people taking your car to the dealer, do not do it.

The water pump is easy, the radiator is easy, and changing the oil is easy.

But all in all, the car is a low budget car that will last. I have 199999 mile on mine and still going strong.

22nd Sep 2008, 22:10

I read all the problems people are having with Saturns, and the bad reviews and very few good ones.. that saddens me..

I'm on my 3rd Saturn.. I had a 1991 Saturn that had over 20000 miles on it when I let my ex husband keep it.. he still drives it with no problems..

My second Saturn was a 1996; I loved that car, it was perfect in every way, and when I wrecked it 2 years ago, I refused to get another car that was not a Saturn.

I now own another 1996 Saturn and I love it.. the only problem with it is when I drive past 75 it shakes really bad.. anyone know what causes this? The problem just started 2 months ago.. if anyone can help please email me@simolena@yahoo.com.

Overall I love Saturn cars.. I will never own anything else..

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 84 reviews