1999 Saturn SL Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1999 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23464 miles
Most recent distance34750 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Not a good buy and not reliable

Faults:

Car wouldn't start at 33,000 miles

Clutch burnt out at 34,700 miles

Plastic doors are extremely cheap. The car is dent resistant, but it is not crack resistant.

Battery was shot at 33,000 miles

Crack about 8 inches long on rear drivers side door

Poor pick up

Low rev limiter and governor

Tops out at 105 mph

5 speed hard to keep consistent speed

Not at all sporty

Comes stock with 110 hp

Hard to find any performance parts.

Very unappealing black plastic bumpers.

Transmission fluid seal busted at 34,000 miles.

General Comments:

Basically the only thing that I liked on this car was the seats. They were firm yet race seat like and comfortable. I made a joke of this car by taking it to Cecil County Drag strip in Cecil County Maryland. It ran a lousy 16.8 second 1/4 mile at only 81 mph. If you ask me, this car is not worth the money. There has been pretty many recalls. One that I know off hand is a pin in the transmission breaks off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

11th Apr 2004, 13:56

It looks to me that most of the faults with this car are due to abuse. Why did you buy a Saturn (an econo-sedan) if you were looking for something to race with? Of course you'll have tranny problems if you try to race with a stock clutch. Get a clue man.

29th Sep 2008, 23:23

It is almost unbelievable that you would even think of using this kind of Saturn for any type of racing... I can't believe you mentioned that you took it to the track. It's a car to move from A to B, not from 0-60mph...

8th Jan 2010, 16:11

Tops out at 105? This is a car to get you from point A to point B, not a car to outrun the cops with! If you want to put "performance parts" in your car, buy a Dodge Charger.

1999 Saturn SL SL1 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres

Summary:

Too many unreliable parts

Faults:

At 65,000 km the right real wheel cylinder is leaking. The dealer recommends replacing both sides for 450 Can dollars.

At 65,000 km top engine mount is sagging. Dealer claims this causes engine vibration, and recommends 250 Can service.

General Comments:

The cost of service and amount of service required for such a low mileage vehicle is excessive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2004

23rd Feb 2004, 18:40

We all have to service our cars-and they do cost money-regardless what they are-so nobody can drive a car without paying to keep it going-any car.

1999 Saturn SL SL1 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Total junk

Faults:

Where do I begin? 3 days after I bought this car, I felt it vibrate when ever I got over 55. I took it to the Saturn dealership and the mechanic said that he couldnt find anything wrong with it. The service engine light goes on and off at random. The engine sounds like a lawnmower. The car has absolutely no power. I have to mash the accelerator all the way to the floor to get it to move. The transmission started going out on me, but again the mechanic said he couldnt find anything wrong with it.

I traded the Saturn in for the super reliable Honda Accord just last week and I advised the salesman at the Honda dealership to not even put the Saturn on his lot. This car is a total lemon and I will never ever buy another Saturn as long as I live.

General Comments:

Never again will I own a Saturn.

The dealership was anything, but helpful.

The only good thing I can say about this car is that it gets great gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

9th Dec 2009, 11:08

I don't know about your Saturn problems, but you could have just bought a defective car... I have a 1999 Saturn SL1 and I love it. This is my second Saturn.. I used to have a 1996 Saturn SL... all in all, I would have to say that it is the best car I've owned as far as reliability and maintenance... I would recommend a Saturn to anyone.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 47 reviews