1999 Saturn SL Reviews - Page 9 of 13

1999 Saturn SL SL2 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles

Summary:

Reliability and quality make the SL2 a great buy

Faults:

The seats aren't the most comfortable things in the world, but they are tolerable.

My gas pedal sticks upon first starting the car, but I feel this is an isolated problem, not one of the manufacturer's.

Condensation is a chronic problem, and it interferes with visibility. I keep an old t-shirt handy to wipe the windshield while driving.

General Comments:

My Saturn SL2 is my first car. I'm a seventeen year old female, with minimal car knowledge and funds, so I wanted to buy a low-maintenance vehicle. I purchased this car from a private seller in August 2004. It is now December, and I am very happy with this buy.

My parents both own American cars, and they have had minimal luck in owning them. This initially turned me off to American vehicles, but I'm glad I gave the Saturn's a chance. I looked at Toyota's and Honda's in the buying process, and settled on the SL2.

The car is small, but it has a surprising amount of power behind it.

As for the safety factor: Two months ago, a man ran a stop sign and hit the back end of my car. It spun out and I narrowly missed hitting another car. The impact was intense, and I hit my head hard. The man's car was significantly damaged, but my little Saturn and its dent-resistant body was pretty much OK. This has made me feel confident driving my car.

In short, so far, my SL2 has been a joy, and given me hardly anything to complain about. I realize I haven't owned it for long, but it being my first car, I wanted to express the positive experience and impressions I have. I hope the car continues to please!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

17th Jan 2006, 14:21

My gas pedal also sticks when I first start the car. not a big deal, but I guess it's not an isolated problem.

13th Jul 2008, 20:29

Cleaning the throttle body will more than likely solve your sticking gas pedal problem. There are videos on You Tube describing the procedure. I spent $3 on the cleaner in the video and about 1 hour of time, and the pedal is now stick-free. You might try doing this procedure.

1999 Saturn SL LX from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Engine is poorly made and should be recalled

Faults:

After routine maintenance, car has consumed all the oil in the tank and now the engine must be replaced.

Check engine light and/or oil light never came on.

Oil never leaked.

Car never smoked.

General Comments:

Saturn should take responsibility for manufacturing a engine that malfunctions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

12th Nov 2004, 09:03

Wrong Sir. You should not blame the Manufacturer If you are driving around in a vehicle of that age and neglect to check the Oil Level on a regular basis.

5th Dec 2004, 10:00

I think checking the oil would have prevented your engine failure. However, I do agree that Saturn made a bad motor here. My SL1, which I purchased new began using a lot of oil from 20k on. Saturn states in the manual that "some oil consumption is normal". Saturn also told my dealer that one quart of oil used within 800 miles is considered " normal"...No, it's not. My feeling is that if your light didn't come on to warn you and there is a way you can test it, then Saturn should replace your motor regardless whether or not you checked your oil.

1999 Saturn SL SL1 1.8L SOHC from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Decent car for the price

Faults:

Reverse lamp switch caused reverse lamps not to function. ($100 repair)

Headliner leaked water when rained. ($200 repair)

Climate control selector has broke. (The dealership wanted $550 to fix this, I told them that if it cost that much, I would live with it.)

Car does not have heat. (I'm not exactly sure why.)

There's a large dent in the passanger side door. (Those dent resistant panels aren't.)

Numerous scratches in the paint. (More than I would expect with normal wear and tear.)

There's a large dent in the oil pan. (Suspension too low or bouncy maybe?)

General Comments:

I haven't had too many problems with this car. But in all fairness, I haven't had too much luck with cars and this is the first car that didn't blow up on me in the first six months. Other than the problems I have already listed I haven't had anything else go wrong with it.

The car does get good gas mileage, about 35 mpg on the highway. But you are not going to get much in the way of performance. This would be a good car for a family (as long as it is not too big). The interor can fit 4 comfortably and 5 with a little crampness.

Speaking of comfort, don't be expecting to go on long road trips and not be sore after riding many hours in this car. I drove the car from Omaha, NE to Sacramento, CA (about a 24 hour drive) and my body was so stiff and sore by the time we were there (which is bad considering we had to drive back).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

13th Jan 2005, 00:28

Get your heating coil checked. I am sure that is why you have no heat.

8th Jun 2005, 16:04

Actually it turned out to be the wiring behind the control consel which only cost about $70 to repair. Somehow it got twisted and binded, so it was an easy fix.

17th Jul 2006, 14:23

The body panels can't dent, only the hood, trunk and roof can. Now the doors and quarter panels can crack though. I'm not sure what is going on there??

8th Aug 2007, 21:34

Yes, as the guy above me said, there is no way the body panels can dent. they can snap, but not dent. The car may have been in a wreck, and a panel was replaced by a metal one, not OEM. As for the dent in the oil pan, the suspension in this car is far from bouncy, but the ride is low. Watch out to take curbs and bumps slowly.

6th May 2008, 23:31

I bought a Saturn 1999 SL1 with 5 speed transmission about a year ago.

I have taken it from 168,700 miles to 185,800 miles now.

The car is just fabulous. No problems at all. All I did was change the thermostat, plugs, wires and Air filter. The car did not ask for anything, I just changed things for good maintenance.

I want to take this car to 200,000 miles quick. I paid $1575 for the car and already got twice the worth out of it.

Also, based on what work I have done on the car, I can tell Saturn has done things right. Just my two cents...

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 47 reviews