2006 Saturn VUE Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2006 Saturn VUE FWD V6 3.5L from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance2250 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Silhouette

Summary:

Worth a look, happy owner here

Faults:

Paint sandblasted by sand and salt on highway. Substandard clear coat on lower part of rear doors. Paint chipped away after 2 weeks of driving. Saturn offered some "goodwill" for splash guards and clear 3M plastic on damaged rear doors. The right thing to to would have GM absorb all costs for their design flaw.

General Comments:

Fantastic performance from the V6 engine and 5 speed automatic transmission. Ample power and silky smooth shifts. The irony is that both are made by Honda. Still, the rest of the car is solid and very comfortable to drive. The radio is powerful, but the speakers are not thus the sound clarity suffers a bit. All in all, this SUV is the best bang for the buck out there despite a few minor drawbacks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2006

2006 Saturn VUE FWD V6 V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carBuick Rendezvous

Summary:

An Excellent Value, Completely Satisfied

Faults:

Nothing! The build quality of this vehicle is excellent.

General Comments:

Excellent performance faster than most cars. Good handling for an SUV.

Very attractive, and comfortable leather interior. Among the best I've seen regardless of price.

Perfect size, easy to park. Speaking of parking, love those plastic side panels. No more damage from shopping carts or careless door openings.

If this vehicle were an import they couldn't keep up with demand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

8th Feb 2006, 11:40

I bought the Saturn Vue AWD myself, must admit I do like the leather interior, but I find the rest of it pretty plain, too much plastic.

22nd Jul 2006, 14:40

Being a new owner of a FWD 6 cyl VUE (haven't even picked it up yet) I am thrilled with the reviews I have read here, BUT I am at a bit of a loss why the one reviewer thought it would sell better if it were an import. I buy any major purchase on the basis of the value, design, and promise of good service. I do not see this in any of the imported car manufacturers, in fact most have been down right snobbish or rude. That attitude alone turned me off. I also see no reason to enrich other countries' GNP. I also know that Detroit puts out as good a car as anyone. I also notice that most of the reviews are from people who list their last vehicle as an import, and most had a problem with them or the dealer. This VUE will be the third Saturn in our driveway and all have been excellent vehicles( two SL2's) and the dealers could not be better. I wish I could say the same about other dealers. I once owned a Volkswagen Rabbit and it and the dealer were the worst experience I have ever had. I will NEVER make that mistake again.

7th Dec 2006, 20:16

The Vue is the same vehicle as the Suzuki Grand Vitara, though the Vitara has a higher-quality interior.

I don't notice the Grand Vitara breaking any sales records, though it's an "import" brand.

8th Dec 2006, 07:19

"The Vue is the same vehicle as the Suzuki Grand Vitara"

Incorrect. Although they are built on similar platforms (GM Epsilon), they are quite different vehicles. The VUE uses an Ecotec 4-cyl engine and the Honda-sourced 3.5 V6, while the Suzuki uses its own engines. The transmissions and AWD systems are also different, as is the suspension tuning, and they are assembled in different locations.

Many vehicles use the Epsilon platform (Pontiac Torrent, Chevrolet Equinox, VUE, Grand Vitara), but they all are quite significantly different. The only two vehicles that share the same drivetrains are the Torrent and Equinox.

2006 Saturn VUE FWD V6 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Quick SUV, very comfortable and good price and styling

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong... Still new.

General Comments:

Very powerful for an SUV. I love hammering my foot down, it always impresses me. The steering feels very weird because it is very loose and you don't feel any resistance. During the test drive I didn't realize I was doing 95 MPH. I haven't tried to do any thing more yet because I recently got a speeding ticket so I'm trying to keep calm. Very comfortable ride. I don't know much about the handling because I don't want to try a fast turn in an SUV. This is my first SUV. I love the new body style and new "Lexus" like interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2005

22nd Nov 2005, 23:08

I was the one who made this and I forgot to mention that this car is a 2006. It wouldn't let me choose that as the year.

27th Nov 2005, 09:00

I was on vacation from Scotland to Orlando in May 2005, went to a Saturn garage to nosey around and fell in love with the Vue. Next time I come over (possibly 2006) I want to hire a vue. It looks wonderful, however ALL US cars are gas guzzlers, its time you went over to diesel or smaller engine cars.

9th Dec 2005, 01:19

This car gets great gas mileage 22/28.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews