2005 Scion tC Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Scion tC 2.4 4 cylinder VVTi from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder VVTi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

Fast. Sexy. Cheap

Faults:

The A/C freon was at half pressure, which is apparently a common problem. Had the dealer top it off at the first oil change and now it works fine.

Also, since then the other common problem, "popping" in the glass roof has developed. Haven't taken it in to have that fixed yet, but that's just a problem of two bolts in the glass roof needing some lock-tight.

General Comments:

I love this car, especially for the price. It easily blows away it's competition (civic).

Performance-wise, it's quite good for a 4-cyl. One thing to watch out for is if you stomp on it out of a stoplight, the front end drifts. No limited slip differential. It's no big deal, but it is a surprise the first time. I have laid rubber in both 1st and 2nd gear, didn't have the guts to see if it would break the tires loose in 3rd, as I was already over the speed limit and can't afford another ticket. I think it would, though.

The handling is excellent, due to the low-profile Ponteza tires (taken from the Lexus) and the european suspension. I read online on a message board somewhere where a guy that got the dealer installed TRD lowering kit with TRD racing shocks said the handling was then comparable to his MR2!! Can't confirm that, don't have the kit yet.

The interior is excellent, what you would expect for a car that cost $10K more. Also it's surprisingly roomy. I'm 6'3", and fit in it just fine, albeit that I have to have the seat all the way back and lowered in order to clutch (it's a manual). Even more surprising is that the rear seats on this little two-door have more leg room than my previous car, a 4-door Jaguar XJ-6.

Gas Mileage is OK, about 23 mpg with about 90% city driving.

One thing that I have found to be irritating -- no trunk light. Also, make sure you never, ever curb-check. It will scratch those nice rims, as I found out : (.

I've had it for about ten months and 7000 miles now, and really love it. It's a really good car with a really great price. A magazine review I read sums it up best: You're buying a $20K car that looks like a $25K car for $16K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

4th Mar 2006, 18:10

I own a 2005 tC: my car does have a trunk light, on the left hand side of the luggage area as you stand facing the hatchback. There's also the rear passenger compartment light which might help illuminate the cargo space. Bill.

12th Mar 2006, 00:03

It is now illegal to use freon in a car in any way. Just to let you know.

2005 Scion tC 2.4L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Lexus-esque for lots less

Faults:

The moon roof & hatch areas rattled slightly... dealer fixed.

General Comments:

This car was an impulse buy. For what Toyota/Scion charges for this vehicle, you cannot match what you get with any current comparable vehicle on the market.

I am very happy with my Scion, and I would highly recommend this vehicle to anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2005

3rd Jun 2006, 16:25

After test driving the Chevy Cobalt, Saturn Ion coupe, Mustang (V-6) and a used Pontiac Grand Am GT, we drove the Scion Tc. The Scion was noisier, rode very rough, and had poor fit of interior trim. The best of the cars we test drove was by far the Grand Am GT with 30,000 miles on it. It was smooth as silk and would blow the doors off all the others, including the Mustang. Since we already own a Grand Am we decided to just keep it.

2005 Scion tC 2.4L gas from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L gas Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carScion tC

Summary:

Excellent car for the money

Faults:

Only current complaint is a "rattle" from the glovebox door.

General Comments:

This car is an all-around excellent buy.

The interior fit and finish are of a quality not normally seen in a car that is priced below $20k (US).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2005

10th Jul 2006, 16:11

I was very excited when I read the reviews on the Tc, especially the long list of standard equipment at a very reasonable price. Then when I test drove the car I was very disappointed. The ride was very harsh, the engine was louder at idle than a Chevy Cobalt I had just test driven, and the car had a rattle in the dash. The power was so-so. After reading the bad reports about the paint jobs, I'm very glad I didn't buy one.

2005 Scion tC 2.4 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance9300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Prizm

Summary:

For what I paid, I could not ask for anything more

Faults:

I have had no problems with the car.

General Comments:

This car has great get up and go for a 4 cylinder engine and often feel as if there is a V6 under the hood.

The factory tires are performance based and it shows, hugging corners with ease.

The factory sound system is an amazing 160 watts and really provides great sound for a system from the factory.

The ride is a very comfortable one with bucket seats and the driver seat adjusting in every way possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

4th Jan 2007, 22:30

I have to agree, this car definitely feels like it's got a V6 engine!! I bought one a couple of weeks ago, and I'm so enjoying the ride in it!! very nice car, for the price!

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews