2000 Skoda Fabia Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2000 Skoda Fabia Classic 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

An excellent small family car!

Faults:

Rear washer tube came off the washer bottle.

Brake light switch went wrong at 10,000 miles.

Radiator fan switch leaked at 20,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is a very good family car and handles brilliantly.

The only let down is the acceleration.

The problems were all sorted out by the garage with no fuss whatsoever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

2000 Skoda Fabia SDi Comfort 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26521 miles
Previous carFord Scorpio

Summary:

Bargain car that runs on fumes!

Faults:

A sensor on the power steering had a fault that appeared now and then, this was replaced within an hour by one of the dealers I use.

The pipe carrying the washer fluid to the rear screen comes off if it freezes, it is a known fault and is easy to pop on again (once you know where it is!!).

Apart from that, it has been brilliant.

General Comments:

I commute over 100 miles each day and I can only say that this car is fantastic. Very good MPG and handles like it is on rails.

Air conditioning is really good, as is the stereo.

I have had two 10,000 mile services and they have been no problem, the dealers are very good but have long lead times for booking in and you might have to go to different dealers to get the dates you want!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2001

14th Aug 2001, 10:15

I have a similar Skoda Fabia Comfort SDi diesel. Same fault with the sensor on the power steering.

The colour is metallic dark blue and it shows scratches easily as a white mark due to the lacquer coating. I sometimes wonder if the lacquer finish is too soft?

26th Aug 2001, 07:03

The lacquer does seem soft as I have the same problem in a couple of places, but mine's silver so not quite as big a problem.

Now done 31,000 miles and not showing too many stone chips or general wear and tear!

2000 Skoda Fabia Classic 1.4 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 8v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Well designed and made, but the performance could be better

Faults:

Power steering fluid leaked due to a faulty seal. Steering rack replaced as a result.

Needed to replace a hub-cap (£22) because I can't park properly!

Have had to repair the paint-work due to an idiot with a shopping trolley and cowboy lamp-post painter. Not a fault with the car - I'm just unlucky.

General Comments:

Although this car is meant to be the basis of the next VW Polo, it is very similar in size and character to the Mk II VW Golf. It is very well designed in terms of space and ergonomics. My only gripe is the boot which can only be opened with a lever next to the drivers seat and not with a key from the outside.

It seems very solidly made although cost cutting is evident in one or two places.

It's not very fast with the 1.4 8v engine, but the engine never gets strained in normal driving.

I've found it to be very comfortable on long journeys.

The dealer seems to be very helpful.

Generally I like the car, but I will have to see what the reliability is like in the long term.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2001

15th Aug 2001, 06:15

You can open the boot using a button beneath the skoda badge just above the licence plate recess...

31st Oct 2013, 12:31

Not on the classic model, it's not fitted.

2000 Skoda Fabia Comfort 1.4 from Slovenia

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2200 kilometres
Previous carRenault 5 diesel

Summary:

Good option for a small car

General Comments:

Very good car for its price, quality looks fine, definitely better than the Felicia, 20 cm longer, more comfortable, lots of equipement. If anyone wants to buy a Skoda, think about this car. Interior design is like the Octavia, 2000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2000

2nd Mar 2001, 14:39

Checking out Skoda's web site, the list prices don't seem very attractive. There are, I think, on a par with Seat prices, which incidentally have better equipment, and normally better residual values.

5th May 2001, 13:47

Skoda Fabia.

Loosing coolant from the early days.

Temperature gauge alarm always coming on. The car has been back to the dealer 20 times, but they haven't got a clue what to do.

15th May 2001, 14:30

I read last week that Skoda have the best build quality of the entire VW group!

Who`s laughing now?

22nd Jul 2001, 15:34

It is really a nice car for its price. In the begining I was hesitant between it & the new shaped polo but finally I made up my mind for the Fabia. It is nice looking car & reliable for the Egyptian Roads. For its category I could say it is luxurious.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 26 reviews