2001 Skoda Octavia Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2001 Skoda Octavia Elegance 1.9 tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 tdi Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

A well designed and roomy vehicle

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It has a solid build and has that feel of a more expensive car than it is.

I am well over 6 feet tall and find that even with the sunroof fitted, I have more than enough head and leg room.

There are only two minor faults to date.

If the vehicle is wet, on opening the boot, water pours onto the side parcel shelf and then into the boot.

Also a slightly annoying clunk that appears to come from the lower drivers door when going over bumps at reasonably slow speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2003

2001 Skoda Octavia Classic SDi Estate 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

The best car for the job.

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has broken, packed up or fallen off the car.

It has only had routine servicing, tires and brake pads.

It needed the front brake rotors replacing at 100,000 miles.

The main dealer is sometimes very sloppy about carrying work out, I always have to check that the servicing has been correctly done.

General Comments:

I use the car for taxi work.

It looks smart and it's very practical.

The boot (trunk) on the estate is enormous.

I cover 85,000 miles a year.

The fuel economy is terrific, at least 45 miles per gallon around town and 60 miles per gallon on longer journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2003

2001 Skoda Octavia RS 1.8 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance600000 miles

Summary:

Forget the badge, its all about ability!

Faults:

Nothing, the car has been bulletproof for 600,000 miles now! Good job too in my line of work!

General Comments:

Awesome, fast enough to keep me ahead of the boy racers, yet large enough for my crew!

Really handles well, suspension soaks up speed bumps too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

28th Jan 2003, 18:40

How can you put 600,000 miles on a car in only 2 years? That would mean you average about 900-100 miles per day. Where can you drive 1000 miles / day in UK / Ireland?

16th Feb 2003, 15:19

Might be a typo, but there again I can and regularly do 1000 miles a day (and in a Skoda)

2nd Feb 2004, 09:05

Hi I have a 2002 rs and was wondering if you or anyone else have experienced any Power delivery problems as in more than usual turbo lag or less lag when driving. I have had the Bosch dump valve replaced with more reliable unit which helped, but still find sometimes this problem, any answers??

Also does the head lining vibrate at all on some road surfaces on anyone else's octavia even if not rs. I would like to know before I go ape at the dealer for being reluctant to do anything.

Thanks.

2001 Skoda Octavia 1.6 petrol from Ghana

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired330 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

An excellent high performing car

Faults:

My fuel gauge occasionally does not respond to fuel levels.

The headlights adjustment knob failed and cannot be used to adjust the lights anymore.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and quick.

Ability to read the fuel consumption and other vital parameters on the dashboard is a plus.

The car has excellent fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2003

2001 Skoda Octavia RS 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7800 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Very good value for money

Faults:

The rear screen wash has not worked since I got the car.

The heated rear window has an element fault.

General Comments:

This car is quick and handles well.

There seems to be a lot of wind noise from the rear windows.

Water drops into the boot when you open the tailgate in wet conditions.

Mileage per gallon is very good bearing in mind the performance the car offers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2002

2001 Skoda Octavia Ambiente 1.9 turbo diesel from Germany

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance17500 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

A quality bargain

Faults:

Control switch for rear power windows faulty.

Seat heating (cable not connected in factory)

General Comments:

An very economical and powerful engine.

Roadholding is very good, also at high speeds. Better than my 1997 Passat.

Caravan towing is a joy.

Carpets are not as plush as VW, but are therefor easy to clean.

Sight out the rear-window is not good, however helped by the standard reverse warning device.

Plenty of extras included in the price.

All the above facts are proved by the number of new cars seen on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2002

5th May 2003, 06:33

Seat heating (cable not connected in factory)

Hmm, that must be a UK problem, cause seat heating isent standard in ambiente in Denmark...

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 26 reviews