2000 Subaru Forester L 2.5L from North America


Good car, but only fair reliability


Clock died.

Engine seal had to be replaced ~90000 miles.

Wheel bearing has been replaced 3 times and has gone bad again. Failed at 82000 miles, then every 6 months after that.

Front axle replaced at 90000 miles.

Rear window shade broke.

Right rear window does not always roll down ~40000 miles.

Automatic transmission shifts harshly when cold ~80000 miles.

General Comments:

I really like my Forester, but its reliability leaves something to be desired. I am on the 4th right rear wheel bearing, and it looks like I am going to need a 5th. The car handles well and gets OK gas mileage. I have driven it across the country and it was comfortable enough for that. Given the number of problems that I have had, and compared with the reliability of our Hondas (my wife's cars), I would be reluctant to purchase another Subaru. Maybe I got a bad one, but there are a number of reports of wheel bearing failures for Foresters. I wish Subaru would do a recall and fix it right.

Finally, the nearest dealer that I would trust with my car is 45 minutes away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2007

2000 Subaru Forester 2.5 from North America


Lots of repairs needed to keep the vehicle running


Previous Owner (Information gathered from Carfax.com)

Drive axle work done at 62,857 miles.

Right bearing at 62,857 miles.

Seals/gasket at 62,857 miles.

Emission control system at 62,857 miles.

Electrical system and coil serviced at 63,225 miles.

I purchased the car at 73,000 miles in August 2003.

Summer 2005: Bug deflect piece flew off while going 55 mph. Shattered into a million pieces.

August 2005, 119,000 miles: Transmission was slipping. The Subaru dealership stated that they have seen the transmissions going in this model of vehicle.

Same time: Steering knuckle making quarter turns;

this was fixed along with the transmission, and new timing belts were put in.

Around the same time: Plastic protector under the door falls off on occasion.

Summer 2005: My carpet on the driver's door is worn quite a bit.

October 2005, 121,000 miles approx.: Rear wheel bearings went while 2 hours away from home.

October 2005: Center console lights from the clock down to the gear shifter have failed to work. This has never been fixed, and is thought to be electrical.

Cruise control is also failing to work. Haven't thought to have this looked at.

Summer 2006: Tires were balding and had new tires put on. I had been car pooling, no major issues with the car, though it started making funny noises.

October 2006: Needed to have the exhaust system welded and new brakes installed for inspection. I also was informed I would need all new struts.

There is still a rattling noise. I'm not sure about the problem and rear grinding sounds.

February 2007: Some coolant leak is happening. I put antifreeze in it a week ago, and it was bone dry a week later, and the gauge would go all the way past H - the heater was throwing out cold air. My repairman is not sure if it's the gaskets, but is having me monitor my car at the current time.

General Comments:

The car handles well in the winter.

Poor customer service from Subaru of America in response to numerous letters sent to them about the condition of my car.

See the above review for all other issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

22nd Feb 2007, 22:28

What did you expect out of a Japanese car??

2000 Subaru Forester S from North America


My next car will be a Toyota


O2 sensor went when car was 3 months old.

Clutch shutter in cold weather since I bought the car; BUT, Subaru has never done anything about it. Dealer claims they've "heard of the problem" but that's it!

Car is on FOURTH set of rear wheel bearings - original set went at 49,000 miles. At 97,000 miles, this is all highway driving and NO off-road driving.

Engine light keeps going on an off.

Coolant additive for a known engine gasket problem. Why didn't they just recall them??

General Comments:

Car is in the shop today for its 4th set of rear wheel bearings.

When car was brand new it had great 'pick-up', now it has none.

Bought car for all-wheel drive, but now there are plenty of other manufacturers with all-wheel that will stand behind their products.

At 160,000 miles, my old Corolla still has it's original wheel bearings and is never in the shop except for routine oil, check ups, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2006