2000 Subaru Forester L from North America


Good overall idea, but several small issues that could have been prevented with better parts used


Passenger side wheel bearing failed at about 40,000 miles and cost about $400 to fix.

One of the CV grease protection boots failed at about 30,000 miles about $200 to fix.

The rear door seal (made of rubber) does not stay stuck to the car well and I had to glue it back on several times.

1 recall for an O2 sensor.

1 recall for the coolant conditioner that is supposed to help the head gasket.

General Comments:

Completely reliable car for me. Very roomy inside and can carry a lot of cargo.

The transmission is quirky. Sometimes while slowing to a stop and then accelerating quick the car doesn't know what gear it wants and hesitates slightly. But not a big deal.

Handling is responsive and snow and mud doesn't seem to be much of a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2005

2000 Subaru Forester S 4.6 from North America


Don't buy it


I have had the car to the repair shop 3 times in a month. Both oxygen sensors have gone out & the catalytic converter had to be replaced. The dealership has been unhelpful and the car is not reliable. I would definitely not recommend buying a forester.

General Comments:

Not a recommended car. It's not reliable. The gas mileage is poor and it doesn't handle as well in the snow as it should.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

3rd Jul 2007, 13:24

Had the same O2/catalytic converter problems. However, that is a common problem on cars of this age (I have 112k). Be glad that's the only problem, 'cause competing small SUVs have numerous engine/drive-train and MPG problems. The engine/drive-train on these things is utterly amazing, it just keeps going and gets 22-25MPG on average. Such a pleasure to drive. I highly recommend it.

2000 Subaru Forester GX 2.0 from South Africa


Bland, but has great depth of ability!


Fuel sensor became erratic after 80000km. Required a repair which was well done by the dealer.

Clutch became tight and stiff on cold mornings after 120000km. Heavy on the heels.

Front cup holder flimsy and poorly designed. Broke twice already under less-than average usage.

Rear suspension and fittings creak and rattle badly over laterally uneven roads after 100000km. Dealers at loss on how to fix this.

General Comments:

Drives like a sure-footed mid-size sedan rather than a over-sized SUV.

Feels stable and calm up till 130-140km. Engine becomes coarse and the car becomes twitchy beyond 150km.

Navigates wet / slippery roads with precision.

Interior design and trims appear cheap and understated. Upside is that it's tough and can really stand up to abuse. Careful maintenance will keep it looking in great shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2004

2000 Subaru Forester GLS 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Used Foresters are real alternatives to 4x4's


None to date, we have only had to buy new wiper blades.

General Comments:

Looking for an ideal towing car for our caravan, but not wanting a true 4x4 we have found the answer. The overall condition of the car at four years old is excellent and fuel economy more than reasonable for a petrol model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

2000 Subaru Forester from North America


It's just an average car, nothing exceptional


At about 26,000 miles the rear wheel bearing was replaced. At 40,000 miles the other side rear wheel bearing was replaced. At 49,000 miles the rear wheel bearing is worn, not sure which side yet, needs the be replaced AGAIN.

General Comments:

Subaru Forester is generally a good car, with two exceptions, the car has no real power and the rear wheel bearings are made of very poor quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

21st Sep 2004, 12:05

I couldn't agree more. My Subaru Forester (2001) has had the right rear passenger wheel bearing replaced 5...YES...I said FIVE times!! I'm not impressed. I love the car, but all I can say about the wheels are... they suck.

I'm not enthusiastic about buying another one. I bought this one because of Consumer Reports and friends that had had Subaru's. They are amazed... because the older subaru vehicles go and go... but these new ones... break and break... there should be a recall... this is ridiculous.


10th Nov 2004, 17:21

Nov. 2004...My Subaru Forester (L), has never needed one thing repaired. I have performed the required maintenance and it's been perfect. I leased a 1999 (same model), before this one, and had the same experience. No complaints!

31st Oct 2006, 09:40

The rear wheel bearing problem was the only weak point in the Forester, and it is easily solved since the first reports. All the owner or mechanic had to do was read a service manual, contact Subaru Technical Assistance for the recommended procedure and part, or look at any of the 100's of web sites with the same advice.

Funny how so many of the same people complain about wrecked tires and clutches in their cars. That says one thing: aggressive abuse.

Boohoo for all victims of their own ignorance or petulance, I say.