2002 Subaru Impreza Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2002 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired700 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Great car if it runs properly

Faults:

The car hesitates when I put it into drive and I step on the gas.

The air conditioning freezes up when I drive on the expressway.

General Comments:

I enjoy the way the car handles.

The all wheel drive works great in the winter.

The car is comfortable to drive and is roomy inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

17th Mar 2004, 21:30

The reason your air conditioning freezes up, is because the impreza outback has a feature that turns off you air conditioning unit temporarily when you accelerate aggressively. It should be explained in the operators manual. I read about this in one of the more popular car magazines.

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance12364 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

It's a fun car with out breaking the bank, or your back to make it fast

Faults:

Transmission has already been rebuilt.

Vacuum line to the boost controller came off, and over-boosted engine. I have yet to take it back to the dealer to have it checked out.

General Comments:

The car is unparalleled in performance for price.

The turbo has a nice sound with the resonator box removed.

It's more than a blast to drive.

Traction in snowy, rainy, or dry weather is impeccable.

Transmission is a little shoddy though. I would recommend upgrading the gears if you want to pump the power up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2002

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX SportWagon 2.0 DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance15500 miles
Previous carVolvo 245

Summary:

High performance in a stylish and practical package!

Faults:

Well considering that I have had the car for such a short period of time, I can't come up with any problems I have had with the car. Subaru's have an excellent reputation and as far as I can see it holds true with the WRX.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I have ever owned. It is super comfortable thanks to standard very supportive race seats. The interior is very nicely appointed, but not overdone. My car has the optional premium sound system with a sub woofer under that passenger seat and sounds great. But the engine and chassis are the true joys of owning this car. Once over 3300rpm's, the turbo spools up and the engine pulls so hard you are thrown back in your seat. This occurs in all gears. 227HP is enough to rocket this compact wagon to 60mph in around 5.9 seconds. The 5 speed transmission is excellent and has a great feel when working through the gears. As for the chassis, it is tight and crisp rewarding the driver with exceptional handling yet not a rough ride. Another benefit to the Subaru is that it is full time AWD. The grip is awesome in any weather condition. Although the wagon does not get quite the aggressive look of the sedan, it is more practical and has nearly twice the storage room. It also has a "sleeper" approach in that people won't suspect such a performance monster from a 5 door wagon. Overall I love the car beyond comparison. My only gripes about the car are that it requires premium 93+ octane gas and rear leg room is a little lacking. Other than that all I can say is buy the car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2002

2002 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport 2.5 RS from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 RS Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance9200 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

A well priced road hugger

Faults:

The brakes began squealing around 2000 miles. Dealer says its just brake noise from the rear drums despite it coming from the front end. At this point the brakes are still squealing, and the dealer still says there's nothing wrong.

Also, on the 9,000 miles service, the dealer advised us of a small oil leak which was unnoticed by us. The dealer corrected it.

General Comments:

Awesome car, get lots of attention.

Handles very well, and for someone totally terrified of icy conditions, the all wheel drive is great, and makes for a safe feeling when driving.

Vehicle driven by 39 married female, feel comfortable and secure other than brake noise and under powered brakes. Wet conditions compound braking issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

11th Mar 2004, 13:29

I am glad I am not the only one that has this problem with the brakes squealing. The first time it got fixed it cost me $65 to have the brakes serviced. The problem came back, it was dismissed as glazing on the brakes. It wasn't until I came back 2 months later after the problem appeared again, and the service manager heard me doing a 8 point turn (tight space) that he scheduled me to come back in to look at them, and had to machine the brakes. He thought it was serious enough problem that he didn't charge me. The problem then disappeared for 8 months and is back again. The service manager is gone now, and they wanted to charge me $80 for the front set and $80 for the rear set. I have never experienced this on any other car, other than Subaru.

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 liter horizontally opposed from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter horizontally opposed Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance5784 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

I make up reasons to leave the house just to get behind the wheel of this car!!!

Faults:

To date, nothing has gone wrong with the car. Subaru's in general are exceptionally well built cars. The WRX received a battery of awards and acclaim for it's sturdy design.

General Comments:

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX - One Word - "Disturbing!"

This car handles like a dream. It sticks like hot glue to the road. It takes a considerable amount of effort just to get the wheels to break free! All in all, the car is AWESOME!!! Mine, off the lot, a cool $25,000, and for what I got, I would have been willing to pay 30K. Yea, the interior is kinda frumpy, but if there could be any complaint or gripe about this car, that would be it. Everything else is, without a doubt, Superb. This car is pure bliss to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

10th Jul 2002, 17:56

These cars are so insanely fast that in New Zealand they are so difficult to insure. In Auckland (biggest city in NZ, 300 WRX's were stolen last year... the population of Auckland is approx 900,000! A very popular car with the public...& the underworld!

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX NB-R N 2.2L twin turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L twin turbo Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres

Summary:

The king of the pocket rocket hill

Faults:

The Subaru stock turbo went into remission at 10000km's.

The brakes needed upgrading almost as soon as I bought it.

The fire extinguisher was in an unusual position.

General Comments:

The car is one of the least known models by Subaru, and is factory modified by VenoM.

The halogen light inside the cabin is a little bright.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 33 reviews