2002 Subaru Impreza Reviews - Page 7 of 10

2002 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carToyota TOYOTA

Summary:

Good car for blue-haired ladies who drive once a week to the market

Faults:

Brake trouble at 1300 Miles - defective pads from factory. (Warranty repair) Power window trouble at 1700 Miles. (Warranty Repair factory defect)

General Comments:

Car has good power, but is very uncomfortable for anyone over six (6) feet tall. Seats are very uncomfortable with only a limited range of adjustment. Cargo carrying capacity of trunk is very limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

7th Feb 2005, 13:02

I agree that the driver seat is very uncomfortable for any male over 6' even 5'10".

2002 Subaru Impreza wrx 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20410 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

A casino without a bar

Faults:

Many rubber fixings are showing signs of wear.

Shoe well carpets again show heavy signs of wear.

Pressure push extending cup holder has broken and can no longer be used.

General Comments:

I haven't smiled so much driving to work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

2002 Subaru Impreza WRX Sedan 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Glues your back to the seat and the tires to the pavement

Faults:

No real problems as of yet.

Transmission shudders a bit when clutch is released when cold. Subaru says it is common. Personal mechanic says it could be a clutch problem.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with this car. The handling is superb, albeit with a swarm of oh-so-hated understeer when it is pushed hard. Car is an absolute dream in rain or ice.

Acceleration is quick and crisp and smooth, but the turbo stumbles until the car is warm (typical of turbocharged cars). The stock shifter is nice, but I prefer my short-throw much more.

An excellent value for the money, with a host of possible upgrades and modifications. Done a few myself...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2004

2002 Subaru Impreza outback sport 2.5 natural aspiration from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 natural aspiration Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired74 kilometres
Most recent distance47500 kilometres

Summary:

A safe drive

Faults:

Paint chips away fairly easily.

Part's are expensive. Glass for windshield is $1500 cdn.

Problems with fuel sensor, replaced under warranty.

Taking in for clutch shudder when cold, technical service bulletin available.

Digital air sensor not that accurate, no way to calibrate according to dealership.

ABS oversensitive, adjusted driving by downshifting more instead of relying heavily on brakes.

General Comments:

Great fun to drive, handles curves well.

Full size spare will almost completely fit in well (1/4 inch difference)

Average on fuel economy, 9.96l/100kms.

Fun to drive in the snow, especially with a good set of winter tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2004

15th Jun 2004, 06:13

To update the post, the clutch was replaced FREE as technical service bulletin outstanding on the car. Had 48000kms inspection, only found fault was oil leaking into # 1 cylinder, due to blown gasket. Replaced gasket and spark plug under warranty, all good. And ended up buying another Subaru, an 03 WRX.

2002 Subaru Impreza from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carSubaru toyota corolla 1997

Summary:

Do not buy this car

Faults:

Had to open the motor to change 2 pistons. The car had only 3000 miles on it. At the dealer, they had to do this to 10 of subaru impreza. I was no 10. The motors were so noisy.

The heating systems blew off completely.

The air conditioning was either too cold or did not function at all, had no control over it.

The paint on the front of my car was coming off also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

2002 Subaru Impreza Turbo 2.0 flat-4 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 flat-4 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Like most hyped cars, it's not all you might expect

Faults:

Reliable as a swiss watch.

General Comments:

Viewed logically, this is a belting car. It's fast, has probably the best sounding four cylinder engine ever designed, looks good, grips well and is as reliable as every motoring survey suggests.

But like most things which have been hyped to ridiculous levels, the overall package somehow fell short of my expectations, particularly once you become accustomed to its truly spectacular performance. This is probably the fault of the hype, and many of my other criticisms the fault of British society, but there you go. As ownership experiences, they count. And besides, since when were performance cars about logic? They're about passion.

After a year and 14,000 miles of ownership, I concluded that the Impreza Turbo is actually a very average car fitted with a storming engine. The interior is the definition of naff, and the 4wd gives great grip, but actually very little adjustability to the handling. The steering is probably the worst thing about it, being like virtually every other Japanese car - light and easy to use, but without much in the way of feel.

I actually thought my old 306 Rallye was more engaging and entertaining in the twisties, if nowhere near as quick.

The important thing to consider before buying an Impreza, paying through the nose for insurance, and putting up with every scrote in a 20 mile radius trying to rip it off at every opportunity (and they will - even if you garage it!) is to take a drive in one, and ask yourself the following question.

"If this car didn't do 0-60 in 5.something seconds, what else would make it in any way interesting?". Then ask "are these things worth the insurance costs equal to the GDP of a small country, and the sub-20 mpg fuel returns?"

I decided they weren't and chopped it in for another Rallye (insurance dropped by 65%, fuel bills by a third) and nobody has tried to stove my garage door in to remove it without asking me). I'm also reminded what decent steering and throttle adjustability feel like. Haven't looked back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

7th May 2004, 08:38

I know where you are coming from.

Got rid of mine in the end for most of the reasons you listed.

Still, was a great car and I will miss it.

20th May 2004, 06:34

I am thinking of trading my 306 S16 in for a new wrx. Now listing to other pug owners, what do I do?

10th Jun 2004, 16:56

I traded in my 306 Rallye for the 2002 WRX.

1st off: 306 Rallye = LEGEND. The car is amazing, excellent all rounder. Best hatch back ever made. The gear ratios are spot on and the engine is just canned BEEF! However, I had to send it to a new home because of (minor yet annoying) reliability issues.

Which brings us to the WRX. I'm so used to the rattles and clanks of a French car, every time my shades rattle in the glove box of my Impreza I think 'What now!'. It's definitely one for the status, performance and reliability, but not a great one for the wallet and negative attention it draws.

If I won the lottery I'd have both parked tight next to the 360 Spider!

6th Nov 2005, 00:19

This is a great car. I see this car all over the place, but I think the evos are much better of a car. they're both about the same of a car, but I have heard mitsubishi's are much better cost wise.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 33 reviews