1987 Toyota 4Runner SR5 2.4L(144.4CI) 22RE from North America


A true sleeper


Exhaust fell off while off-roading.

General Comments:

For a little 4 cylinder this thing can fly, had it up to 110 (on the speedometer, probably faster, on a legal track) with no noises, shaking etc.


Amazing how this thing can smoke its tires for 3 blocks (on private road).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

2nd Jul 2001, 17:31

I can almost understand the 110mph but no way does it smoke any tires (bald etc) for three blocks.

11th May 2004, 00:23

I own a 87 4Runner, it runs good and it always starts, But there is no possible way that it will ever burn tires for three blocks. I can burn out around corners and when I am really trying.

I can get up and going pretty fast if I am going down hill only, other than that it is pretty slow. I have only topped out at 105 and that was down hill. it's a good little truck and all of the fixtures still work.

1st Nov 2009, 23:18

I bought new rotors and breaks for mine, but can't get the old one off. Does anyone know how?

2nd Nov 2009, 17:46

It's probably just seized on there with a little bit of rust. If you've got a new rotor to put on there, then it doesn't matter if you break the old one. Give it a good whack with a mallet or hit it with a blow torch. Just be careful you don't give it too much heat, you don't wanna fry the wheel bearing.

1987 Toyota 4Runner 2.4 four cylinder from North America


One tough truck!


The radiator developed a leak and had to be repaired at ~80,000 miles.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been the embodiment of reliable, utilitarian transportation. It's ugly, not quick, doesn't handle well, and doesn't even have all that much space in the back. What it does is refuse to die, and work as needed day after day without fail!

Other than aforementioned radiator problem, I have had absolutely NO issues with the car for over 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2001

6th Aug 2002, 00:00

I have a 4 runner and it is not ugly. it runs great and I have not had a problem yet.

21st Feb 2005, 21:43

All I can say about these trucks, is that: "They are an incredible truck & and extremely reliable!!" I have towed other trucks and pulled out hummers from tough spots when they needed some help, and the Toyota 4Runner's strength and torque amazed me!!

1987 Toyota 4Runner 4 cylinder (not turbo) from North America


Low performance slug


It is in the shop now getting the pinion bearing replaced. Also the center piece and rings. Basically the whole rear end. 500 dollars I'll owe when I get it back and that is cheap.

New paint job 500 dollars, some rust.

Car leaks A LOT OF OIL!!!

I think it needs a new starter when I get it back.

All in all it has been a pit to throw money in.

General Comments:

Love the car but hate everything about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

23rd Mar 2001, 11:53

Like with any 15 year old vehicle, one must be cautious when looking to purchase. Perhaps a more thorough preinspection would have ill-advised your purchase. It sounds to me like your vehicle has suffered from lack of maintenance early in life. I own a 1986 4Runner... 386,000 miles and running strong. Your case is, I believe, the exception rather than the norm. Sorry, tough break.

-Dave, Oklahoma, USA.

1987 Toyota 4Runner SR5 2.0 from North America


A reliable, versatile car


Clutch cylinder, clutch, and alternator.

General Comments:

Very satisfied. Clutch cylinder seemed to need replacement too early. Clutch repair was at about 110,000 miles, so I can't complain. The alternator has been a problem, requiring about 3 replacements.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2000