1994 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1994 Toyota 4Runner 4WD SR5 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles

Summary:

Great quality vehicle that will get through most obstacles.

Faults:

The original (10+ year old) alternator needed replacement.

General Comments:

Handles responsively on and off road. The steering and suspension are nice on the highway thanks to the independent front suspension (IFS).

The 2WD/4WD shift on the fly is very convenient.

Rear ABS (V6 option) seems to be ineffective.

When fully loaded with passengers/cargo, this model (1990-95) is easy to roll when executing emergency avoidance maneuvers at speeds of 40-45 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

1994 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

An extremely fun, capable, mobenous off or on road machine

Faults:

Since I have owned it the only things that have gone wrong are typical wear and tear and things I have broke four wheeling. Nothing major. They definitely take some abuse though.

General Comments:

It's not an extremely fast truck, but it wasn't meant to be. It does pretty good and will get up to 70 or 80 on the freeway. Probably faster if you pushed it and the conditions were right. As for reliability I completely trust this truck. It hasn't failed me yet and I know I will get another 100,000 to 150,000 miles out of it at least. The interior is very nice and well put together. I'm 6'3" and fit in it comfortably. They do extremely well off-road. A lot of Chevy and ford guys are impressed when I get through stuff they can't get there truck through. I've got a 4 inch lift with 32x11.50r15 and they work good. Soon to be 33"s though. In general I would highly recommend this vehicle to everyone. Best truck on the road. Period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2005

1994 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles

Summary:

Great touring and off-road enthusiast vehicle

Faults:

Antenna was broken when bought.

Alternator replaced twice in two years.

Rear springs worn out, vehicle sagged 3 inches in rear.

Calipers replaced at 182,000.

Rear inner-axle seals have been replaced twice in 2 years.

Drum brakes had to be replaced twice after inner seals broke and axle greese saturated them (I just checked the seals again 2/9/05 and they are starting to leak again; what is wrong with this axle!?)

General Comments:

Handles excellent off-road when stock, superb 4-wheel drive system.

This thing does wonders on the beach!

Must-do upgrades are new, stiffer coils in rear and Bilstien shocks all around (These upgrades greatly improve on and off-road handling.)

Engine is extremely week during acceleration, but works adequately once up to speed.

Gas mileage averages around 13.5 with 32X11.50 BFG All Terrains.

The huge sunroof and roll-down rear glass are two of the most enjoyable features.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2005

1994 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired157122 miles
Most recent distance157398 miles

Summary:

The best truck I have ever owned!

Faults:

The 4 Runner is a very reliable truck.

It slips a lot on ice and snow, but once it is in 4wheel drive it works great.

The rear driver's side window seems to be a little slow.

The leather on the driver's seat is wearing, but what can you expect for an 11 year old vehicle.

Gas mileage is ok at 15 mpg on the highway. (14mpg on the highway in 4wheel drive).

General Comments:

The 4 Runner is a very reliable truck.

The radio works great and picks up a lot of stations.

When the backseats are folded down, there is tons of room. My rottweiler loves it!

Overall, great truck for what I need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2005

1994 Toyota 4Runner SR5 V-6 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance172000 kilometres
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Very reliable 4x4

Faults:

Head gasket replaced under warranty at 60,000km.

Radiator sprung leak at 62,000km (related to head gasket failure) - done under warranty.

Wheel Cylinders done every 3 years.

General Comments:

Seats are still comfortable after 10 years.

Still using the original rear brake shoes! (172,000km)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

1994 Toyota 4Runner SR5 4x4 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Reliable TOUGH Off/On road truck

Faults:

Only thing that went bad were maintenance items and things I broke while off-roading and beating it to death!!

General Comments:

Not a fast accelerating (4.56 gears) truck, but for off-road it is the best! The interior is very quiet, comfortable and roomy. I am running 35" Mud terrain tires, 3" body lift, 4" All-pro leaf spring conversion lift. Very happy with my truck stock, and now modified. very good on gas mileage considering the set up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

24th Oct 2006, 01:58

Glad to Hear you like it. I have a 1994 Toyota 4runner also. 3.0 V-6, 5 speed. Am I the only one here with over 175000 miles. I just clicked over 185000, HAVEN'T BLOWN THE HEAD GASKET YET. One problem, not enough performance parts. Where did you get yours. I'm lifted 2" front and back, but for the 4" suspension lift everyone wants $1400 for!!! I still love my car though.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews