1996 Toyota 4Runner Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1996 Toyota 4Runner 3.0 turbo diesel from Argentina

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Recommended for anyone who is looking for a 4X4 at a reasonable price

Faults:

Nothing wrong with good maintenance.

This car is a rock.

I suggest Yokohama tires.

General Comments:

I use regularly this car to go in the Andes Cordillera mountain chain at altitudes above 12.000 feet.

For the remote places I drive, you expect the vehicle not to fail.

I had a previous 4Runner 2.8 without turbo. This one is far better at altitude.

All mining companies established at high altitude drive exclusively Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2008

1996 Toyota 4Runner SR5 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired171000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Oh What A Feeling...Toyota!

Faults:

No problems to date, and Don't expect any - any time soon.

General Comments:

Bought this 4Runner on 12/31/07 - mileage was 171,000, paid $4300.00 for it. Vehicle is in Great Shape, No rust, considering this is a Wisconsin vehicle, and we use allot of salt on our roads in winter. ( the high milage was Not even an issue in my consideration of purchasing this vehicle..it's a Toyota )

Previous owner used Synthetic oil, and the motor runs very quietly, can't even hear it running.

There are No leaks or drips of anything anywhere.

Believed to be the original timing belt.

"Everything" works, no issues.

LOVE the rear window, as it rolls down inside the tailgate, can't wait for warm weather to open the roof, and roll ALL the windowns down and force all of that air thru the back window!

Absolutely LOVE to drive this truck, it is still a very tight handling truck.. seems like more of a car than a truck other than when you hit pot holes, then it's a truck - I'm O.K. with that! I will drive this into the ground... and will seek out Another one when this one is done.

Locating a used 4Runners is fairly difficult, because No one seems to get rid of them, I was patient and Lucky to find this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2008

19th Jul 2010, 20:44

Just replaced the original timing belt & water pump at 199,500 miles. Belt was still in extremely good shape and could have driven it a lot further, but had a long road trip ahead of me, and wanted to make sure I was not going to have any problems. Mechanic was totally impressed with the condition of the belt... could it be the synthetic oil?

I've only done brakes, tires & now the belt and water pump... this truck rocks! Will seek out another one when the time comes! Also wondering what it is about the '96. Rarely ever see this year out there for sale, lots of 95's and down, and 97's and up. STILL, Oh, what a feeling, Toyota! Just love THIS truck!!

1996 Toyota 4Runner SR5 2.8L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

This truck is as solid as a tank

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with this truck.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable.

I use it to tow a small trailer carrying anything from fire wood to earth.

I also mount a 6 foot snow plow to the front every winter, plowing 10 driveways every snow fall.

Positively the best vehicle I have ever owned.

The only thing I would change if I could go back in time is get the 3.4 L engine for the extra power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2005

14th Nov 2009, 01:08

I am the original poster for this review. I have now owned this truck for 13 years. I have 190,000 km on the truck.

I lube the rear window motor religiously every year. It is still functioning properly to this date.

For the last few years the parking/emergency brake has been seizing up. I didn't need to replace it, just had it lubricated and it too is working well. I just have to have it lubed every year. This year (2009) I have had to replace the starter motor and the muffler assembly.

Other than the above, oil changes, undercoating, filters, battery, tires, etc, nothing else.

Fantastic truck for the money. Always gets me where I want to go and back. Extremely reliable. Well built. Despite the winters and the salt used on the roads there is no rust on the vehicle. Exceptional value for your money. Sometimes, when I see the new trucks out there I think of buying one, but I doubt I'll see this kind of reliability. So I'm going to try to keep this until it gives out, and its not showing any sign of giving out. It drives as well as the day I drove it off the lot.

14th Jan 2013, 19:58

How are you lubing the back window and what are you using to do it? I am noticing mine is getting a little slower in motion, and seems to be a little tighter. I also am a poster about my '96 4Runner and am still in love with it. Approaching 237,000 miles, and today I had to replace the window washer fluid pump... Oh no!! LOL! This is the only repair I have had to do to it, other than the brakes, rotors, tires & timing belt. Most incredible and reliable vehicle out there!

1996 Toyota 4Runner SR5 4x4 3.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Wouldn't trade it for anything!!!

Faults:

Nothing major at all.

Just did the basic maintenance and that's it!!!

General Comments:

I have love this truck from the day bought it, but each day it gets a little better. The truck is very heavy, but handles extremly well for its size. I get about 19 MPG city and 20-22 MPG highway even to this day. This truck is bullet-proof as long s you are religious about doing your maintenance. I do all my own maintenance because as good as Toyota's are... the dealers are total crooks. I really can't say enough about the truck itself and will certainly be buying another used one this spring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

1996 Toyota 4Runner SR5 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Well worth the money

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 40000km.

A rear axle seal has been causing a lot of problems, it has been fixed four times now. My fingers are crossed.

General Comments:

This truck has generally been very good to me, other than the few problems I have had, I love it.

Now for the dealer, that's a complete different story. I have been to many different dealers around Western Canada with no real problems, but the last one I've been dealing with, they sure have caused me some grief.

Toyota Canada though has come to the rescue, they have done a real good job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2001

13th Mar 2005, 07:20

Rear axle seals -- probably vent problem.

6th Oct 2006, 15:13

What are some of the symptoms of a blown axle seal. I've blown two and I think I've blown a third?

2nd Sep 2007, 02:08

What is the size and displacement of your engine?

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews