1999 Toyota 4Runner SR5 3.3 liter from North America


Still a great car


The starter died at about 75,000 miles.

At about 76,000 miles, the calalytic converter was bad, per the code read.

General Comments:

The starter cost over $400.00 to replace. It was intermittently not cranking and then finally died.

The converter will cost approx. $1,000 just for that, not including pipes and labor. I looked at the Ford Escape and this when I bought and paid about $3,000 more for this for the reliability and belief it would last longer. I don't think I should have to replace anything, let alone a converter, at less than 80,0000 miles. The mechanic said this is a common problem with Toyota trucks and a doctor friend of mine has had the same problem on his 4Runner and Land Cruiser, at over $1,500 to fix.

Other than that, it is very comfortable and I still love it. Just disappointed in this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2004

28th Feb 2005, 16:02

No offense, but your getting ripped off. who charges $1000 for a catalytic converter? try closer to $200.

18th Jul 2007, 12:10

Just contacted the dealer, if you go with an OEM Converter, you will pay $1300.00 for it, for the 1999 Toyota 4 runner, V-6 Auto w/4 wheel drive. Never under estimate the cost of OEM parts. I'm looking at other resources other than OEM however, the Fuel/Air and O2 sensor's are very picky and sensitive.

6th Feb 2011, 01:36

Anything under 80K miles and or 8 years is covered under a federal mandated emissions warranty.

1999 Toyota 4Runner Limited from North America


Love it, just want it fixed


I purchased the 4runner in April of this year, but it has been making a knocking noise in the motor. I have taken it to the dealership 5 times. The first time they replaced the air compressor. The second time the oil was changed with heavier oil, and bearings greased to try and stop knocking. The third time the harmonic pulley was changed. The forth time I was told to come by and let a service tech ride with me. He called in the regional tech to come look at it and then they told me there was nothing that could be done. They say it is characteristic of the vehicle. Then I took it to another dealership and they changed the water pump, timing belt and two other pulleys, but the knocking noise still exists. I am trying to find out if anyone else has had this problem with the 4runner.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle, but just want it fixed. I would like to know anyone else has run into this type situation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

7th Oct 2004, 23:23

It is possible that the main bearings are defective. Suggest that the dealer check the main bearings. An automotive stethoscope should be used by the technician to determine where the knocking sounds are coming from, either low (main bearings) or high (valve train). This is just a suggestion.

1st Jan 2005, 08:25

You never mentioned what engine you have... The 3.4 V-6 would be the engine you want in there. The 2.7 I-4 DOES have a history of knocking... It's called "piston slap." Nothing detrimental, but a good thing you have had it looked at numerous times. Keep ALL the paperwork on this, because if something bad does happen, Toyota will cover it under warranty if the claims started before the warranty was out.

1999 Toyota 4Runner SR5V-6 3.4 from North America


Excellent value. Very solid truck


Rear bumper was replaced under warranty at 30,000 km because of some pitting and discoloration.

General Comments:

This has been without a doubt the best vehicle I have ever owned. It needed nothing, but oil changes and new rubber for the entire time I owned it and even with 267,000 km. it still had 50% of the original brake material left on both pads and shoes. The rotors and drums were not in need of turning even after all this driving. Resale value was $13,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2004