1995 Toyota Avalon Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1995 Toyota Avalon XLS 3L V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3L V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54 miles
Most recent distance103489 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

Wouldn't buy another Toyota

Faults:

In June 1997 the motor of the driver's side window seized and had to be replaced. Many rattles which the dealer said they couldn't hear.

Just out of warranty (3 years) the Climate control system went haywire. Only the dealer could fix it at a cost of $1000. We declined.

At 43000 miles had to replace Left Outer C/V boot.

At 94000 miles had to replace the starter.

At 99000 miles had to replace all 4 struts.

At 103000 miles had to replace both V/C gaskets, again replace the Left Outer C/V boot plus the axle, replace the power steering pump and rack and pinion at a cost of $2000.

General Comments:

For the amount of money we spent on this car, both to buy it and all the repairs, I'm not feeling the serenity or whatever line they give you in their ads. Compared to the 3 Mazdas we had the Avalon has been much more expensive. I think I'll stick with Mazda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2004

8th Mar 2005, 14:21

First of all.

They were not making the Avalon in 1994. 1995 was the first year. Get your facts straight. And second of all, a Toyota Avalon is a nice full-size, near luxury sedan, it will cost more to repair and probably more to purchase than a Mazda. It is also a better car than a Mazda. It is a very good and extremely roomy vehicle.

7th May 2014, 22:04

Maybe it's 9 years too late, but the Avalon was introduced in early 1994 as a 1995 model. They were being sold in 1994.

1995 Toyota Avalon XLS standard 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission standard 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Reliable, excellent MPG, low cost to operate

Faults:

The blower for the Heat/AC was making noise for about a year. The dealer pulled out a deceased mouse that found its way in there. It is quiet now.

The boot from the right front trans-axle was found ripped open and therefore the trans-axle was replaced.

The electric antenna failed and was replaced.

The front suspension was soft and would bottom out on speed bumps. The struts were replaced and we clear them now.

General Comments:

This car is faster than expected. After checking we found it has higher compression than most unleaded cars: 10.5:1. It runs good on regular gas. I tested it for MPG and found it got 27.85 MPG. I added a product called MACHTANE octane booster, to see if it would do any better with a higher octane, and now get 39.9-43.5 MPG. I think premium gas would be helpful too, but more costly now days.

The ride is very smooth even on washboard dirt roads, which I have to drive here in Arizona.

The roominess is an unexpected pleasure and we can easily get 5 adults comfortably inside.

The wide wheel base makes sporty handling and getting around town is a breeze.

The engine starts faster than any car I have ever had and runs very quiet. it is often hard to tell if it is running.

It does not run hot on the hi-way, even on the hottest (115F) Arizona summer days and hi-way speeds of 75+

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2004

1995 Toyota Avalon XLS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired55300 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

Rides great, good acceleration, good handling, comfortable

Faults:

I am the second owner of the car. I bought the car with 55000 miles in march or this year. valve cover gasket was leaking. I had dealer repair. I also feel like cold start idle is too high. 2250 cold drops back to 700 when temperature gets up. I feel like cold idle speed could cause damage to transmission if I put in gear at cold idle. let me know. gstadlin@cox.net could throttle body be bad?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2004

1995 Toyota Avalon XLS 3.0 petrol from Dominican Republic

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

A low priced Lexus

Faults:

The transmission pinions had problems at 80,000 miles, replaced the whole transmission, it was much cheaper than I thought.

General Comments:

Excellent car, performs very nice those 190hp.

Superb crash results, indeed, I crashed this car at 120km/h and rollover, incredible I only had a few scars in my arm and that was all.

A little noise from air coming from outdoor when going at high speed on highway.

Excellent 7 Speakers Audio System.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2003

8th Feb 2004, 10:35

Cheap? I have found the cheapest to be around $2800? anyone know somewhere cheaper? thanks brad@mc.net.

24th Jul 2004, 16:12

I found one on ebay for 900 bucks and replaced and works smooth and well.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews