1986 Toyota Camry DX 2.0 gasoline from North America

Summary:

This is an excellent, well-built Toyota!

Faults:

I replaced all 4 struts in March, 2008.

New master cylinder in Feb. 08.

New radiator/thermostat in July 2008.

Various suspension parts have been replaced.

Head gasket got a small leak in June 09, but is not showing any symptoms, possibly repairable for a good amount of time into the future.

General Comments:

I paid $735 for this car, and it happens to be the first car I have ever owned, and I must say I am very happy with it. Even at 23 years old, the engine still purrs and drives like a champ. Looking forward to 200,000.

There are a few bothers, like the vibration when idling and a couple of other things, but this thing is great for anyone looking for a car less than $1500. You can't beat it. I will be sad the day it goes, but within the first 6 months of ownership it paid for itself.

Listen - if you see a decent 1st Generation Camry for sale in your local ads, grab it. They are becoming fewer and fewer by the day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2009

9th Jul 2009, 14:05

"They are becoming fewer and fewer by the day."

Because they've all turned to rust by now, at least up here where I live.

1986 Toyota Camry DX from North America

Summary:

A perfect car

Faults:

Nothing a great car. Have done scheduled maintenance only.

I bought this car new in 1986, and still drive it daily in 2009.

General Comments:

I think I will probably keep this car for a long as it runs. Everything works. Cold A/C etc.

There is an oil leak around the oil plug, which is minor. It has leaked for over 15 years. I just check the oil and add a little if needed.

Sometimes it won't start in park, and I have to slip the shift down to neural and it starts just fine.

Needs a neutral switch?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2009

1986 Toyota Camry LE 2.0 from North America

Summary:

You can't kill a Toyota, even if you try, and I have known people to try!

Faults:

The passenger side CV Joint fell off. My uncle had replaced the clutch and I don't think he put the CV Joint back on properly. I later replaced both CV Joints because they were both coming apart because of time and miles.

I replaced the blower motor, the old one was dead.

I replaced the am/fm player with a cd player. The tape deck still works, but needs the am/fm player to work. I still have the tape deck in to fill in the hole.

I replaced power antenna with a manual one, it was cheaper. It got stuck in the up position when my Mom attempted to take it through a car wash.

I replaced the driver side power mirror with manual one, it was cheaper. My Mom had backed it into a carport. Before I replaced the mirror, it caused me not to see another car. The damage from this accident I couldn't find.

I replace all four tires about a year ago.

I replaced the spark plugs, spark plug wires, distributor, pcv, and fuel filter about a year ago.

I had the timing belt and water pump replaced not too long ago.

The heater and ac work, but it is stuck in on position, I know it isn't stuck in defrost. Air comes out, but I can't change where it goes.

It has a power steering leak, but it isn't enough to worry about.

The driver side wheel bearing is currently shot, I am picking up the part today.

When my Mom owned the car, she got in several accidents, no major damage. It has dents on the hood, fenders, and doors, but none very noticeable. A friend through a rock at the passenger door, leaving a dent, he also kicked the driver side front fender.

My Mom also had the starter, alternator, and battery replaced.

Just about everything leaks, but I keep an eye on it. About all the seals and gaskets are old, I watch it though. I put high mileage 10/40 in the winter and high mileage 20/50 oil in the summer. Year round I put Lucas Oil Treatment in every oil change, along with a new drain plug, and drain plug gasket.

The center console is broken, but I just leave it alone.

The car has NO RUST!

That's about it, I think. The car is about 15 miles away right now. So this is from memory, and I haven't driven it in 2 weeks.

General Comments:

This car won't die. I got it going 111 mph (fastest so far) in 4th gear, I ran out of room to keep accelerating. I haven't topped 5th gear out. I nearly red lined it doing 95 mph in 3rd gear. Red lined it doing 65 mph in 2nd gear and red lined it doing 35 in 1st gear.

I have also taken it over a speed bump doing 65 mph, in second gear!

I have kept up with an M5, new Cadi, a Mustang GT, and a few others. At least for a little while.

I change the oil every 2,500 miles.

I work at a non-Toyota dealership, but I still work on the car at work. I still would buy another Toyota even though I get discounts on other car brands.

I have driven about 800 round trip in 1 day several times with no problems.

The interior is basic, but I don't care. I don't need seat warmers or anything like that, but I would like cup holders.

There are days when I have the choice between an automatic 04 Mustang and my manual 86 Camry. I choose the Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2007

15th Nov 2007, 20:43

That's the kind of stuff I like to hear; people smart enough to buy Toyota's even though they are offered employee discounts on other crappy makes.

16th Nov 2007, 15:55

"You can't kill a Toyota, even if you try"

I would be willing to accept that challenge. I have no doubt that I could break some component of the drive train or engine within half an hour. Now that would be fun!

17th Nov 2007, 17:53

Look on Youtube. There are people who drive old Hondas and Toyotas for hours without oil... only water and they take a good beaten. I wish my old Chevy could do that. My grandma killed her 1995 350 by driving it like an old lady. It always got maintained so I do not wish to have some yahoo who hates imports ridding my tail.