1986 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1986 Toyota Camry LE 2.0 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired335439 kilometres
Most recent distance343341 kilometres

Summary:

The most reliable car on the road

Faults:

I had the ignition switch replaced just recently.

Fuel tank has a small leak.

Rear window defroster does not work.

General Comments:

I have not had a lot of problems with my car other than a faulty ignition switch and it had a problem with stalling at intersections which was fixed with a simple tune up.

It is also starting to rust pretty bad due to the mileage and road salt.

It may not be the quickest car on the road, but still runs better than some cars half its age and still gets great gas mileage.

Overall, the car has some problems due to age, but is a very good, reliable car, and since it was given to me by my dad I really can't complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

23rd Feb 2009, 17:33

How dangerous is it to drive around in a car that has a small fuel leak? My 1986 Toyota Camry sprung a leak from behind the rear driver's side wheel. I'm not sure exactly where it is coming from. I can't afford to get it fixed, but I can't afford to get blown up either.

1986 Toyota Camry from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

The most reliable maintenance-free car I've owned

Faults:

The only major lifetime repairs were a new timing belt and water pump (80k), new brake lines (135k), and the usual exhaust, brake and tire replacements (wear and tear).

New CV boot and shaft (157k).

The interval wiper stopped working at 150k.

General Comments:

I inherited this car from my parents at around 85K, who used it “church on Sundays”, driving to doctor appointments, and two trips to Florida.

I use it as my beater car; I abuse it and it takes it.

The car is now close to 20 years old, has 157,000 miles with little rust and it gets 32 mpg and is great in snow.

A workhorse and peppy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2005

14th Jan 2006, 15:45

I love this car! I have had my 1996 Camry since 1997 (I bought it used) and it now has over 330,000 miles on it and shows no sign of slowing down. It is a four cyl and sometimes a bit slow, but other than that, it is GREAT!

27th Jan 2006, 15:05

I hope anyone that has one of these 96 Camry's never has to replace the engine. 96 was the year government emissions reg's kicked in so though it is same body style as 92-95 the engine has a camshaft sensor that makes that particular 5S-FE unique and hard to find.

28th Sep 2006, 10:30

You said that your camry is now 330,000 miles right, did you ever drive the car from states to states. I mean take you car on vacation. I had a camry with 96,000 miles on it now, still driving pretty good. I wonder if I can take the car on long voyage trip at 1,000 miles distance or so.

1986 Toyota Camry 2.0 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance218000 miles
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Well made, reliable, and constant even after 218,000 miles -Just like a Toyota!

Faults:

I needed a new clutch, blinker and seat belt clicker. That is all.

The clutch was actually a cheap fix.

Small oil leak.

General Comments:

GREAT car!

Runs better than Blue Book Value puts it at!

Doesn't handle like a sports car, but.

Handle's well enough to stay safe.

VERY reliable!

Very Comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

1986 Toyota Camry LE (base) 2.0 EFI gas (2SE) from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 EFI gas (2SE) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired114500 miles
Most recent distance116500 miles

Summary:

Wonderful car in almost every way

Faults:

I got rear ended into another car while stopped:

Left 1/2 of grille/headlight destroyed, frame, hood and fender bent (nothing a little love with a hammer and jack doesn't fix) Headlight replaced by $20 Wal-mart secondary driving light pair in headlight space screwed to the bumper.

Battery was also cracked and needed replacing.

Exhaust is out of alignment and about 20% louder.

Radiator bent, but still fully functional.

Things that have actually gone wrong:

NOTHING.

General Comments:

I've added:

LED dome light.

Power leather seat from '93 Toyota Cressida (my fabricated mounting adapters A-OK...went through the above accident without even noticing)

Second 12v outlet (since I had a brain fart and cut the first ones wires to power the seat)

Routine maintenance:

Oil changes.

After an oil change, spark plugs, air filter, and partial coolant flush the things downright perky for a 4 cylinder its age. (and tons of space under the hood to work on it)

After 19 years and 116k miles, the suspension is still a little stiff and sporty, and the engines solid as it is quick. mileage is about 25/38 city/hwy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 20 reviews