2006 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2006 Toyota Camry 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26400 miles
Most recent distance71070 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Serious design flaw on the engine

Faults:

A/C control panel needed replacement around 55,000 miles.

But that's nothing compared to the current problem I have at the currant mileage. A BLOWN HEAD GASKET!

This is due to the coolant thermostat housing tube being made of plastic, which cracked while driving on the interstate, spewing out all the coolant, and overheating bad enough to where the head gasket blew.

General Comments:

For Toyota's sake, I hope that they improve design flaws like this.

I never had a head gasket problem on any other car that I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2011

29th Aug 2011, 10:04

Yet another fine example of a 2006 Camry. Mine had lots of problems, that's why I traded it in.

30th Aug 2011, 21:28

Browsing the 2006 Camry reviews shows nothing but frownie faces. Then in 2007, things got even worse, and Consumer Reports was later forced to revoke their "recommended" rating and offer an apology to their readers. Personally, I have never regarded Toyota as a good car. Now it's obvious they aren't. Ford and GM are building far better cars now than any Japanese company.

31st Aug 2011, 12:10

You are not telling me anything I don't know; my new Fusion puts my old 2006 Camry to shame.

1st Sep 2011, 07:26

Good luck to you and your Mexican built Fusion. I really would prefer to support the U.S. economy by buying a U.S. built car, like the Camry.

1st Sep 2011, 08:44

Who cares where the car is built, it is still better than a Camry.

1st Sep 2011, 10:05

I would rather buy from a corporate manufacturer based in America, that keeps a larger percent of the profits here than overseas.

2nd Sep 2011, 22:57

I don't know about you, but buying a car for me is different from helping a charity. I want the best my money can buy, and for sure Toyota is not that one. Now my wife and me are driving a Ford and a Hyundai, and are really happy to get rid of our problematic Camry & Corolla.

2006 Toyota Camry SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

This car is over priced

Faults:

I have owned a car with an automatic transmission since 1959. I purchased a car approx every 3 to 4 years. This Toyota transmission is the WORST I have ever owned. In downshifting in traffic, I never know if I'm going to be in 1st or 2nd gear; it either takes off fast or very slow.

Also I have valve train noise in cold weather; I didn't have it the first winter of ownership. The dealer tells me both items are OK (BS).

General Comments:

This car is way overrated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2007

2006 Toyota Camry LE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance28650 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A big disappointment

Faults:

Not a lot of problems. Interior trim piece came loose, had very annoying rattle in dash that very uncooperative dealer never succeeded in finding. Had small coolant leak that required replacing a hose clamp that had broken. Fit and finish is below par for the cars reputation. Engine computer had to be reset due to electrical problem.

General Comments:

My biggest complaint with the car is its terrible performance. Our 4 cylinder Accord was faster, and I've driven several other 4 cylinder cars that were much faster. The car was purchased on its reputation and it has not impressed us at all. The interior is shoddy and cheap, there are numerous rattles and squeaks, and the body panels are not as well aligned as on many newer domestics I've seen. The ride is good, but the handling is mushy and very sloppy. In all, it is a fair transportation appliance, but it is a very slow, boring and dull vehicle. In view of the major problems with our Accord (2 transmissions in 65,000 miles) and our disappointment with this car, we will most likely look to domestics for our next car. My son just bought a new Buick LaCrose and it is a very well built and impressive car with ample power and a very luxurious feel. We'll look at them and the highly acclaimed Ford fusion, but will most likely not bother with another Japanese vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2007

21st May 2007, 13:12

I feel sorry for you being stuck with one of these lemons. I was also tricked into buying a 2006 Camry LE V-6 and it was by far the worst car I ever owned. It was very slow and it too had a cheap and poorly finished interior with rattles in the dash. I was told it would get faster after it was broke in, but it never did. When it did run at all it was slower than a 4-cylinder GM compact. I took a huge loss on it and bought a 2007 Ford Fusion. It is much faster and is much better built and has a very nice and well done interior that does not rattle and fall apart. I love my Fusion and it has been perfect from the day I got it. I'll never buy another Toyota as long as I live. I'd rather ride a bicycle.

Average review marks: 5.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews