25th May 2009, 21:08

I was "stuck" in my Corvette LS1 Convertible this holiday weekend. It was a shame to suffer so much.

26th May 2009, 11:21

Yes, 21:08, I know just what you mean. I was "stuck" in my Grabber Orange Mustang and my Redfire Pearl Fusion all weekend too. Such a chore. If they are true to form I'll probably be "stuck" in them for another 200,000 miles. Life is hard.

26th May 2009, 13:11

"I was "stuck" in my Corvette LS1 Convertible this holiday weekend. It was a shame to suffer so much."

Yes, I have the same problem - those Corvettes are built so darn low to the ground I can't climb out of them.

It's like sitting in a very small bath tub.

Don't feel too bad though, like my daddy used to say - if you work real hard & save some money maybe you can buy yourself a real car, at least one that isn't made out of some kind of new-fangled plastic.

27th May 2009, 11:55

I bought the convertible Vette. Just stand up, it's worth the mere 5 grand more. I have a truck and SUV as well.

16th Oct 2009, 10:12

I purchased my first and last TOYOTA in 2007. I purchased a TOYOTA CAMRY, what a joke, and I am so disappointed. I am warning everyone I know do not purchase this piece of junk. Problems I am currently having; Struts (almost 1,000 dollars for the dealership to replace) and the struts are only sold from this dealership, throttle body problems (this car is losing power and has a very noticeable vibration), and my CD player no longer works. I have a little over 100,000 miles on this horrible car. No more Toyotas for me.

17th Oct 2009, 06:01

13:11 I doubt it. The newer Vettes are usually referred to as C designations when discussing.

The model mentioned was redesigned to allow easy entry with redesigned sills and shallow entry. Our Acura TL was actually similar in entry exit. The power lumbar Vette seats have had no complaints from my senior friends and family. I have taken 800 mile trips, nice ride and 28 MPG on interstates.

I found getting out of my sons Viper a contortionist effort, but the newer Vettes are easy. Entry in and out.

I doubt you actually rode in a newer model. My older ones were like that, not the new generation whatsoever and they ride great.

A lot of people have walked around cars in a lot only and not taken a ride, let alone long distances in these cars.

17th Oct 2009, 18:01

Comment 10:12 is all too typical of late model Toyotas. That's why Consumer Reports dropped their "recommended" rating in 2007. Entirely too many problems.

Our Dodge was sold at 240,000 miles in perfect running condition. It NEVER had the struts (or anything else replaced).

Our Buick made 277,000 miles before it was sold and it never had a single repair.

J.D. Powers currently lists a Ford and a Buick as the best in long-term reliability based on long-term surveys of cars over 3 years old.

Toyota has lost its place as a builder of reliable vehicles. We've owned Japanese cars, but never again.

6th Nov 2009, 08:59

Hi. I currently have a 1998 Lexus ES300 with 205,000 miles on it (made by Toyota). I've also had two Camry's: a 1992 4 cylinder and a 1995 V6 coupe. The 1992 Camry was sold with 166,000 miles. The 1995 Camry was sold with 125K miles on it. I still own the Lexus.

All of these cars were very reliable, but I had to do some maintenance on each one: struts, timing belts, axles, IAC valve, etc. Only the 1992 left me stranded on two occasions because the timing belt broke. Despite these maintenance issues, all of them combined did not equal the engine replacement in my 1993 Mercury Cougar due to blown head gaskets. But, in all fairness, that car was given to my mom and stepfather, which was still running at 210K miles (with a slipping transmission, broken drivers seat and considerable rust on the rear quarter panel).

However, I have had more success with the Toyota products, and I have seen many still on the road with close to 300k miles. My mother has had Fords and Chryslers with major problems. What I know about the recent Camrys is that Consumer Reports did not recommend the V6's: the four cylinder models were recommended by results collected through their annual subscriber surveys. So, in my opinion, Toyota makes a better product, but I cannot really comment on the recent models because I do not own one.

6th Nov 2009, 18:15

Since 1974 until 2007, I was in the automobile business (with a few years off in between for college).

I have sold almost every make, and in my opinion as far as passenger vehicles go - Toyota makes some of the very best vehicles on the planet.

I should state the nobody in my family owns a Toyota product, and that I am no longer in the car business, so this is my opinion based on many years in the business.

Sorry but Ford or GM cannot compete (with the exception of Full Size Pick-up trucks as the domestics are still the best work trucks).

The only other Ford worth mention is the Fusion. The rest you couldn't give me.

GM has some good, some bad.

The worst cars in my opinion - anything that Chrysler builds. Poor engineering, poor build quality, woeful longterm reliability.

Nissan has slipped as far as Japanese vehicles go, but Toyota is virtually without peer.

8th Nov 2009, 00:41

"Nissan has slipped as far as Japanese vehicles go, but Toyota is virtually without peer."

1) Nissan never "slipped". They have NEVER built a reliable car.

2) As for Toyota, most automotive experts regard them as mediocre at best. In a 4-car comparison in 2006 in Car and Driver, Camry finished dead last (behind Hyundai). In 2007 Toyota's reliability was so poor that Consumer Reports dropped its "recommended" status. In J.D. Powers long-term reliability rankings Buick and Ford both beat out even Toyota's over-rated Lexus brand.

3) Last year Toyota's Sequoia SUV had the second-worst resale value of any SUV (Nissan Armada was the only one worse). GM SUV's had the HIGHEST resale values.

4) Toyota builds nothing with even the slightest sporting appeal. It can be argued that they are good basic transportation for some folks. My 85-year-old aunt drives a Camry. She drives about 900 miles a year, never exceeds 35mph and the car will probably outlast her (if she's lucky). Personally, I prefer vehicles that are sporty, reliable and don't require visits to the service department weekly. That's why my cars are Ford and GM.

8th Nov 2009, 10:52


Nissan certainly did build reliable cars - My father had a Datsun pick-up that he owned for 13 years without an issue. I owned a 1987 Pathfinder also for 13 years, and other than oil changes, one set of tires, and one exhaust system, this vehicle needed nothing.

The Nissans of today are not the reliable Nissans of 20 and 30 years ago.

8th Nov 2009, 14:33

"and don't require visits to the service department weekly. That's why my cars are Ford and GM."

That's why I bought a Honda. It's not a souless machine like a Toyota, yet it's just as reliable.