2008 Toyota Camry XLE from North America - Comments

29th Aug 2008, 08:30

12:15.

If as you seem to be suggesting Toyota will never have to worry about warranty repairs, why are they afraid to offer the longer coverage...?

Perhaps it is because of instances like these documented on Consumer Affairs:

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/toyota_engine.html

29th Aug 2008, 10:00

Well, Dodge has the lifetime warranty, so there you go.

29th Aug 2008, 12:03

I'm totally supportive of both Hyundai's excellent warranty and their vastly improved quality, which now exceeds that of Toyota and is close to that of Honda.

That said, I feel that I need to support U.S. owned industry in a time of dire financial crisis in ALL segments of our economy. The fact that U.S. companies offer better warranties is a very STRONG indication of quality and reliability. No company is going to burden themselves with the liability of offering an unrealistic warranty to entice buyers. It would be very bad business, and financial disaster. Companies only offer long warranties based on their ability to build vehicles that are durable and long-lasting.

I've never owned ANY domestic vehicle that did not make 100,000 miles with no problems. That makes it a logical move to extend the warranty to 100,000 miles.

6th Sep 2008, 20:16

Will the car go to 200,000 miles? That's the question that really matters. I think a camry has a better chance based on it's previous record. What else can better indicate?

7th Sep 2008, 10:23

20:16 Thank you for being one of the few to make sense. Any piece of crap will go to 100,000 miles today. That's nothing anymore. Better engine design, better engine oil, 100,000 is nothing anymore. But it's the Toyota's and Honda's that GENERALLY (I don't need to hear about a Ranger with 400,000 miles on it; a Ford fluke) get above 2 and 300,000 miles, NOT the domestics. That's simply a fact.

Citing examples of Fords and Chevy's with 300,000 on them won't help your case, domestic owners. It's an exception to the rule. And that fact, that RULE, is that Civics, Accords, Corolla's, Camry's, Tercels, all do this regularly. Domestics most surely do not. Period. Agree with it or not. Doesn't matter because it's still true.

7th Sep 2008, 11:04

Checking recent Camry reviews tends very strongly to indicate the Camry will not even make 100,000 miles without some rather major problems. The highest mileage I've ever known of on any friend's Camrys before major repairs was 130,000 on a 1989 model. I've never even seen a Camry with 200,000 miles.

8th Sep 2008, 08:00

I've seen plenty of Hondas & Toyotas heading towards 200,000 miles and still growing strong.

That being said, as far as the comment that the writer has never had a domestic car reach 100,000 miles without major problems - My 1995 Jeep has 140,000 miles on it and is as reliable & problem-free as any Japanese car I've ever owned.

I believe proper maintainance & care is the key.

17th Oct 2008, 19:29

Depends how you drive it and care for it. I drive a little GMC s-15 with just over 200,000 miles. I have put darn near $200+ into it to fix things that the previous owner had screwed up, among them the speedometer and odometer didn't work, there was a bearing in the engine screeching, and the fuel gauge doesn't work properly (it doesn't go all the way to full when I fill it up; and now doesn't go to "empty" even), and when you look underneath, there are wires snipped, and also some horrible examples of electrical knowledge.

Anyway, this little bugger still gets me around, it may not sound pretty, it may not LOOK pretty, but it gets around. I think that based on how you drive a vehicle, and how you take care of it, that will be a good determination on how long the vehicle will last.

11th Nov 2008, 21:24

As for domestics not being built to last - try a Ford Crown Victoria with 680,000 miles on the original engine! The transmission had to be replaced 2x and rest of the car showing a lot of wear, but the engine so long-lived that Ford bought this car back from the owner for $25,000. Regularly maintained and oil changed every 3K, but no major repairs needed.

It's written about right here on CarSurvey... look it up.

16th Nov 2008, 21:21

Domestics aren't built to last, and I don't believe even a small percentage of the high-mileage-no-repair claims that Ford and Chevy owners make on this site. Sorry, no way to prove it. It means nothing to me.

The proof I can offer you is this: go read Consumer Report's latest findings... as usual, Japanese automakers, Toyota specifically, come out on top, AGAIN. Read ANY major study, that one, JD Power; whatever. They ALL know and report what is FACT: Toyota makes a higher quality, more reliable vehicles than any of the Big 3 (what a pathetic name for them). Read any of it.

If you don't believe it, it's your problem.

17th Nov 2008, 10:36

To Nov. 16 21:21 -

No, it's not our problem, it is your problem if you choose to believe that there aren't plenty of satisfied domestic car owners out there.

I've owned plenty of imports and domestics.

I've had many domestics that were problem-free, and many imports that were also problem-free. I've also owned many imports that were not all that reliable.

My point is, you can have good or bad from any manufacturer.

Yes, Toyota does build fine automobiles, but don't discount the satisfied domestic car owner.

17th Nov 2008, 15:01

My big bucks on Japanese imports came just after 100,000 miles. Timing belt, front end struts, suspension, water pumps, heater cores, A/cC going out on every one. Take it to the dealership and have a front wheel drive... bring the wallet.

17th Nov 2008, 15:47

Again - WHY are both the Tundra and Camry posts completely filled with posts from American car lovers? Interesting that there's very few if any responses from Toyota owners on Chevrolet and Ford reviews even though many of those reviews are from unhappy owners with tons of problems. Could it be that Toyota is eating GM and Ford's lunch, who aren't going to make it unless the government steps in?

The truth is so incredibly obvious. The big three have made poorly built cars for decades, insisted on ignoring their cars and focusing on large trucks and SUVs for way too long, and basically mismanaging their respective companies until they wound up in the shape they're in.

Toyota and Honda didn't acquire their high reliability, high quality status from building junk, yet the people on posts like these try over and over and over again to prove us "wrong". There's something funny about that. If your GM and Ford cars were so great, then why should you care about Camrys unless you actually don't believe what you preach?

17th Nov 2008, 17:07

10:36 I WILL discount the domestic owners who post here (this is a TOYOTA thread by the way) that claim that the domestics are as, or more reliable than Toyota's (which is laughable). I have no doubt that there are satisfied domestic owners out there. You can LIKE your GM, even enjoy it, just don't try and tell us that it's built as well or half as reliable as a Toyota.

18th Nov 2008, 14:16

15:47 Good point. That's how I see it too.

As an import owner, I don't generally post on Ford or GM sites because I couldn't care less what gets said over there. I know they're inferior to Toyota's and I don't feel the need to convince anybody who doesn't already know that. Owning a GM is punishment enough, and my experience with Fords cemented the fact that I'll never look at another one to buy, and Dodge... well, Dodge is just a joke.