1993 Toyota Carina Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1993 Toyota Carina LXi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired183200 miles
Most recent distance194456 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

This car is Outstanding!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong in the 5 months I've owned it, it starts first time every time, its perfect! Oh I suppose I best mention that I do at least 1800 miles a month.

General Comments:

I've been using this Carina as a Taxi (part time), as did the previous owner. On Fridays and Saturdays I us it for 10 hours a day and it drives perfectly.

I will be buying another Toyota when this one will not pass a Council MOT, but its looking fine with no rust and no dents! :o)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2006

1993 Toyota Carina GLi 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Brilliant comfortable understated workhorse

Faults:

Original battery went after 11 years.

Original radiator went after 12 years.

Original rear shocks went after 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

Build quality outstanding. My car still had its original 1993 exhaust and Cat when I came to sell it, and both had passed the previous MOT with flying colours.

With just the driver, the 1.6 is reasonably nippy (0-60 in little over 8 seconds), but if you stick 5 blokes in it, it's woefully underpowered!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2006

7th Sep 2012, 20:19

0-60 in 8 seconds!? Er... no.

1993 Toyota Carina Executive 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A great all rounder, but dull. This helps to make them seriously cheap second hand buys

Faults:

New rear suspension needed at about 110000 miles and a new water pump needed at about 90000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been fantastic. So good, in fact, that I currently own 3! A 1.6, a 1.8 and the 2.0 Executive. The 2 liter engine is very smooth and powerful. It is also very economical. On a run I can get 45 mpg and round town it averages about 30mpg. That's with a light foot. I have never had it serviced properly. I just have the oil and filters changed every 15000 miles. Strangely, the 1.6 is the least economical of the lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2005

1st Sep 2005, 02:02

I presume these are the Carina E models? Strange the 1.6 is the least economicaql as this, and the 1.8 use lean-burn technology whereas the 2.0 doesn't! Good cars though I agree.

1st Sep 2005, 09:13

Although I wrote this review, I agree that it is odd that I get more from the 2.0 than the 1.6 but having owned both for a few years and covered over 70000 miles in total, it is strange, but true. Anyone else out there have this experience?

9th Jul 2008, 12:47

Well, I am hoping to pick one up this week, a 91 grey auto executive mk 2, its only done 54.000.

I'll keep in touch.

Parcel.

1993 Toyota Carina GL 2 Litre Injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2 Litre Injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Fast, comfortable and reliable

Faults:

Broken door lock caused by wannabe car thieves-they got into the car, but could not nick it-dream on losers! However the door lock never felt "right" after that.

Besides that nothing!

General Comments:

The Toyota Carina E is a very under rated car.

I'm surprised more modified versions of these cars are not seen on the road as this car has real potential (not that I ever attempted to soup it up :).

My Carina had serious poke and I surprised quite a few boy racers in it! However this speed was only useful in a straight line as its suspension was set for comfort rather then sportiness. I took a few corners too fast when I first got the car and it started bouncing all over the place (nothing dangerous though :). Once I got used to the vibe of the car I was able to hurry it along nicely when required.

The car was extremely comfortable and tough and felt like it was built to last a life time. The inside trim was a bit cheesy and the gearbox never felt particularly solid. I was convinced it was going to break at some point, but it never did during my ownership. Apparently this is quite common in Carina E's.

It had loads of space and could easily carry 3 big passengers in comfort + luggage in the huge boot.

Fuel economy was not great, but this may have been due to way I drove it.

Reliability was second to none and it started 1st time in cold and hot weather.

The car was seen by many as being as "boring" but I secretly liked its practical and classic shape (saloon). However, at the time I was too young (22) to admit to appreciating these qualities and not wanting to be seen in an old mans car, I traded my Carina in for a Primera GT with bells and whistles. Over time, I came to regret the decision as somehow my new car felt soulless compared to the Carina.

Each to their own, and when I eventually get another I will hang onto it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews