1993 Toyota Carina GE 2.0 petrol from Lebanon


Well performing, reliable car


Had to change the front wheels rollment upon purchasing since it made noises while the car was rolling.

Automatically switches to 2nd gear though it's in the L position (perhaps it's meant to be like this).

General Comments:

Very reliable. Excellent mechanics. You can drive for months without worrying about anything, but the oil change.

Performance is good in the 2.0 L engine. But the body is heavy for smaller engines.

The electronics are good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

1993 Toyota Carina GTi 2.0 from UK and Ireland


A very reliable car


The discs and pads all round had to be replaced at 75,000 miles.

The hand brake cables had to be replaced at 74,000 miles.

The radiator was replaced at 69,000 miles.

The water pump was replaced at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

The carina e gti is a very under-rated performance-family saloon car.

However it is very hard to get the spare parts for and none of them are very cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

1993 Toyota Carina GLi 1.6 from Iceland


Very good high performance car


Nothing, except the central locks did not work when it was cold outside. Now it's OK.

General Comments:

My Carina has only the 1600 engine, it needs more power!! But it's OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2001

1993 Toyota Carina E GLI 1.6 benzine from Greece


Until this time nothing, but now the car burns oil - about 1 litre every 6,000.

General Comments:

I like to know why have this problem and what site I can visit to discuss this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

11th Mar 2001, 14:42

Mine also burns oil (1ltr for every 1200miles) its a 1993 L Toyota Carina E 1.6. Apart from that its a great car.

15th Jun 2001, 01:35

I have the 2 litre engine and it uses around 1 litre per 10000km.

26th Oct 2001, 14:48

1996 2.0 GLi, mileage 42000, engine noisy on start up when cold, previous Toyota Carina 2.0 the same, any known mods available?

18th May 2006, 09:11

I have a Carina E which also burns oil.

I have changed the valve seals, but there is no difference.

The car still burns oil, now more than 2 l per 10k

Can anybody help me?

1993 Toyota Carina E XLi Estate 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


Very reliable and economical, ideal for my job carrying samples


Washer motor for the rear window failed, but as it's combined unit for front screen I had to get a complete unit. Covered under the waranty.

Nothing else done, except routine maintenance, beware platinum DENSO spark plugs from Toyota, they cost £12.50 each!!!

General Comments:

A very reliable large roomy car.

Much more economical than handbook figures suggest, I get at least between 39/43 MPG, based on 3 years general driving and the occasional thrash to work the valves thoroughly, it really pulls well at high revs!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

7th Jul 2004, 09:19

I supplied this report, happy to say the old girl is still going strong, now at 125000 miles, only needed starter motor (£45.00 second hand) new battery after 9 years from new! Well it was a Toyota Battery!! Still same exhaust, needed new disks and normal consumables, No rust, still looks good. I will drive it until it drops, as I have only been offered £500.00 part exchange!! not worth changing when depreciation will cost more than 500 in the first year!

1993 Toyota Carina E GLi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


Only let-down is the small engine


Diaphragm went on the fuel pump, wheel trim broke.

General Comments:

Engine far too small for such a large, heavy car - needs a 1.8 or 2.0 litre. Sluggish when fully loaded. Very comfortable interior, good general handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2000

7th Jun 2007, 18:07

It is a shame you only had the 1.6! That engine was designed purely for economy, especially the "lean-burn" engine!

The 1.8 is a good balance, the 2.0 better for longer journeys. The GTI is madness with 4 doors.

Pretty cheap now if you search for them!

1993 Toyota Carina XI 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Oxygen sensor from purchase, misfire - new HT leads fitted and dist cap.

General Comments:

Very drab and lacking character, the worst car I have ever owned.

Previous car was a Rover 820i which I thought had problems until I purchased the Carina.

Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2000

16th Jul 2003, 04:03

I would ANY DAY prefer a car with "lacking character" that's reliable, over ANY French car. Its not because I cannot afford the latter, I just don't have the TIME for all that trouble.

1993 Toyota Carina E Executive 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland


Immobiliser prevented me from starting on occasions, problem solved by recovery breakdown! Otherwise 6 years of troublefree motoring.

General Comments:

Likes it's petrol a lot, road noise a problem, but goes like hotsnot! No major tech problems with only 42,000 miles covered in 6 years. Toyota dealers very expensive, routine servicing can be done by competent DIY person, though some things best left to Toyota. Good secondhand buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

12th Feb 2003, 07:54

Good vehicle, but drinks (20mpg town and 47 highway).

Best dealers are the ones which help you/ look at car straight away. E.G. ask mechanic to check brake wear or something.

17th Jan 2009, 17:25

I partly agree with the petrol consumption. I took my car to a national car servicing network who performed the fuel system treatment. This has made a substantial difference. For £20 I would recommend this highly.

1993 Toyota Carina E Gli 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland


Nothing - it's a damn fine beastie, with a high spec, and high quality.

General Comments:

Fantastic, manufactured in Britain, built to a fantastic level of quality, a dream to drive, and safe as well.

People write the Carina off very quickly, because it looks like an old mans car, but drive it and you'll be amazed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 1997