1985 Toyota Celica GTS Coupe 2.4 liter 22REC from North America


Reliable, manly looking, sports car


Head finally cracked at 280000 miles.

Had to replace timing chain several times; it is very labor intensive.

Driver seat material, especially on sides, wears out to quickly.

Dealer support is woefully inadequate.

Terrible handling in snow.

Factory am/fm cassette with equalizer breaks down frequently; I am replacing it now.

Needs a more powerful engine.

General Comments:

I love this car.

This car can take some serious hard driving.

Sharp body design.

This is the last year of the RWD (rear wheel drive). This car handles like a real sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2002

1985 Toyota Celica GT-S 1.44 L 22 R-E SOHC EFI from North America


Very sporty, at a great bargain price


Just got the car. Got it running, but there seems to be a busted rod or a loose, worn cam or crank bearing. Not really sure yet. It has a serious knocking and loss of compression.

Interior is in good condition. It also has the electric sun roof. I think it will be a good car.

General Comments:

Heard a lot about the quick and powerful GT-S models. I can't wait to get it rebuilt and see if the road can hold it. It had good steering while it was being towed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th January, 2002

5th Feb 2002, 03:49

I have a 83 GT-S Coupe and the IRS makes this car handle better than some new cars out there. Excellent feedback in the variable power-assist rack-n-pinion too. I can't believe that after 19 years, this car still rides and handles solid!!!

16th Feb 2003, 03:23

BTW the engine is a 2.4L, not 1.44L.

1985 Toyota Celica GT-S from North America


A reliable friend


The brakes were completely replaced after purchase.

The muffler fell off! We live in Hawaii and have very salty air.

A little rust, but considering its age and where we live, it is in great shape!

General Comments:

I love Toyota Celicas and this car in particular.

I've never had it break down and leave me stranded.

I love the noise from the tires it makes while on the road (it may irritate some).

I can easily fit three normal-sized people in the back, and the front seats are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

1985 Toyota Celica GTS 2.4L 22R-E from North America


A sleek, stylish sports car


Strange knocking in the front end under hard steering. I have had it looked at 3 times with no explanation.

Seats are wearing poorly.

General Comments:

I have always been drawn to the exceptional styling of the 85's. They simply look great and turn heads of an 18 year old as quick as a 40 year old looker.

The pick up is solid, but not neck-breaking.

I had a 1978 Celica as a first car. It paled in comparison to this 85 GTS.

It was recently stolen from my driveway with 80,000 original miles on it. What a shame. I was planning on spending the next 10 years with that car. I can never replace it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2001

1985 Toyota Celica GT-S 2.4L 22R-E from North America


Screaming... absolutely screaming


Purchased it with a blown head gasket (I have the new gasket, just hasn't lost enough oil to make me fix it yet).

Drivers seat worn and for some reason it slumps toward the passengers side.

Small patches of rust.

Strange vibration coming from the right rear drive train.

General Comments:

Despite its problems it runs like a top, it starts quicker than my 91 Sable (no incessant cranking to get it to start), leaks about a quart of oil every three weeks (I'll get the head gasket replaced when it gets to about a week between quarts). Aside from everything, it looks and runs perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2001

17th Feb 2004, 14:57

UPDATE: just had a new 20lb clutch put in.. hard and heavy new tie-rods and it wasn't the head gasket.. it was missing 4 bolts from the front of the oil pan hidden under the scrape plate.. Fixed.. new seats... new audio system.. and I had the entire care detailed and polished.. beware honda's.. its hungry and ready to feed..

1985 Toyota Celica GT 2.4L 22-RE SOHC EFI from North America


Great car, good bargain


Rust is a big problem on older celicas. Mine has some rust on the rear hatchback, and some is starting near the wheel wells.

General Comments:

Its a great car, very reliable engine, still pretty quick after 16 years. The block is proven to be able to take 20-22 psi boost.

The car handles pretty good, even though I have the 185/70 14's instead of the 15" alloys. 1985 was the last years of the Rear wheel drive Celica's and the R series engine in the Celica.

The car is comfortable, but the rear seats are a joke.

Hatch is pretty big, especially with the rear seats folded down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2001