1986 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1986 Toyota Celica GTS 2.0 DOHC from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Fantastic fun ride that is inexpensive

Faults:

I bought the car for $1,200 and the car is in amazing condition.

The interior is beautiful. The sunroof has a little trouble going back in place. And the passenger side window motor is out. Also the low setting on the A/C doesn't work. Other than that the car is magnificent.

The clutch cylinder has a slight leak and the power-steering pump has a slight leak.

The clutch has never been replaced! It still works great too!

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned.

It's quick and handles very well. I have a few friends with Civics and they won't give me the time-of-day. I'm just waiting for a chance to race them.

I just bought new tires and I can still spin the wheels in this rocket!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2005

17th May 2006, 13:44

Hi!

My name is Randall, from to Costa Rica and have a gts 86..!

Is a my baby, really nice and good performance!

17th May 2006, 23:59

A friend who won't give you the time of day because you don't have a car like theirs is probably not really a friend...

18th May 2006, 12:22

I think he is referring to racing, not the actual friendship.

29th Jan 2008, 12:16

Just picked up an 86 Celica ST with a full GTS conversion interior/exterior and a 1st gen 88-89 Alltrac 3S-GTE motor! After driving an Acura Integra for two years, I'd have to say this Toyota is very well rounded... suspension is pretty much garbage compared to what I'm used too... (my Integra was track prepped with about 4 grand in the suspension) but the celica is just sitting pateintly awaiting it's turn. Great car non the less and I'm 100% satisfied.

19th Aug 2008, 22:44

Hey whats up guys... I bought an 86 GT-S about a year ago now for 300 bucks haha... me and my dad fully restored the car and sunk about 3000 bucks into it. The car runs like a dream even though it has 305k on it, it's a Toyota though so the Japanese know what they're doing. But anyways it's a very nice car and don't have a problem smokin the little civics and crap going around, so pretty nice car.

1986 Toyota Celica GT-S 3s-ge 2.0 16v dual overhead cam from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3s-ge 2.0 16v dual overhead cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired127378 miles
Most recent distance130116 miles

Summary:

There is nothing better than a mid-sized 16 valve 4 cylinder and a 5-speed transmission

Faults:

Most of the problems I've had were caused by me.

The brake calipers have been replaced.

The clutch is getting worn down due to amateur use.

General Comments:

Whoa, when I purchased the car it was a gem.

The car had no scratches or major dents.

Its 3S-GE engine has great mid-range power.

It has taken on many hopped up Civics and finished in sweet victory.

The 5-speed is the one to look for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

1986 Toyota Celica GT 1.6 single cam from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 single cam Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired219000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

This car has so much problems, but it'll get yourself to know your car more

Faults:

My tail lights are blown.

Oil leaked so massively that needs about a quart a week.

The seats are torn and the dash has cracks.

My power steering does that loud sqeeking noise.

My battery always fall down by the radiator fan.

The reverse gear does a loud sound when attempting to put it in gear.

The car dies out while driving and slows down and then it dies.

Air condition problem that leads to yourself stranded in hot summers.

Struts in front bangs loud on small bumps or dips.

The power windows, sunroof, and mirror motor dies out.

The keyhole in the trunk has problems so it ends up having without one (careful don't put thing in trunk you'll get jacked).

There is still more, but too many to list.

General Comments:

The stock strut bar gives terrific handling on high speeds.

The car offer good acceleration, it beated a 98 civic coupe. Even though my car is ten years older, still most Honda's has no chance.

This car is only built for racing because many problems occur on this car. The motor is just the good thing on the fourth generation.

This car I bought on memorial day, may 31st and had many problems, but I got most of it fixed just need time to fix it. I know how to fix most part on this clunker, don't be fooled by ignorant ASE certified people that tells you bunch of bull and false information.

Need to know how to fix the problems on this car please contact me at therealg85@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2004

24th Jun 2007, 18:14

With the proper care, these cars will last a lifetime. I have my 86, and it has yet to fail me. I currently have 143K on it, and it runs like a champ. The interior is in excellent condition, and the engine is nice and quiet. All general maintenance and upkeep will keep this one running along time.

23rd Apr 2010, 18:38

Sounds exactly like the little beast I got too... mine's an 86 Toyota Celica GTS... 5 speed manual.

I was driving it one day, and after I stopped on a red light, I couldn't go into gear anymore. I tried forcing it to first gear, and when I got it in, the car will grind to go. While I got the car in motion, switching gear wasn't a problem anymore,... but every time I make a complete stop, it will happen again,.. When I got home and tried to drive it again, I can't even go into any gear anymore. WHAT'S THE PROBLEM!! I'm thinking it's the manual trans cylinder?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 26 reviews