1986 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 16v DOHC from UK and Ireland


A good reliable car with lots of power for your pounds


Wheel arches are beginning to corrode badly and some spots are also appearing round the sun-roof.

Strange knocking sound from the near-side rear suspension... any ideas?

Electric aerial sounds terrible.

Burns a little oil too!

General Comments:

I bought this car a year ago and apart from a few niggly problems it has been very reliable, starts first time even on the coldest mornings.

The performance for a car of its age and mileage is superb. It will take on and beat most hot hatches and corners like a dream.

Seats are comfortable for the first hour, after that I find my back aches due to the lack of lumbar support. Cabin is about as roomy as you would expect from a 2+2 (don't expect any tall friends to sit in the back).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

1986 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 from North America


A reliable, good quality, sporty car


Normal repairs for a car of its age, such as battery, struts, brakes, and timing belt.

Oil leak, valve seals, and coolant leak were costly repairs to make but reasonable for its age.

General Comments:

The Celica has been a reliable car which has started every day for the last 6 years.

It is sporty and has good performance.

I have a 2 door lift-back and it is very small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

1986 Toyota Celica Twin cam 16 2.0 injection from Sweden


Reliable, cheap and fun


Almost nothing. But it had begun to rust a bit when I sold it.

General Comments:

A very reliable and fun car to drive. Good performance. But high insurance. Cheap to buy now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2000

17th May 2001, 10:15

I purchased a 1986 Toyota Celica GTS eight months ago. It had only 84,000 kms on it. It now has 100300 kms and the novelty of it has not worn off.

Rust is just starting to show.

I added a K&N air filter and noticed an increase in power.

Very fun to drive.

1st Apr 2003, 18:26

I bought my 84 Toyota Celica GTS three months ago. I enjoy the wonderful handling of the sport suspension and decent power that the 326000 kilometer motor has. I also enjoy the comfort of the interior... and especially the sunroof.

1986 Toyota Celica ST 2.0 4 cyl from North America


Sporty, fast, fun and reliable!!


The blinker when turning left sometimes doesn't work unless I hold it down.

General Comments:

I love this car to death!! It has been my pampered little baby. I've only gotten it a timing belt and added a sunroof, CD, great wheels, and got the bumpers painted to match the car. I drive this car every day and there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. I am selling it now because I am upgrading to a 1993 Celica - these are the only cars I will ever own!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2000

1986 Toyota Celica CT 2.0 GTI DOHC from Lebanon


If it can handle me it will handle anyone


Well the roads are so bad I had to change the shocks every six month till I put in new springs and Koni Shocks. I had to change my motor at 450,000km but its my fault, no oil in the motor and I always race the car.

General Comments:

I love this car, I think I will keep it as long as I live. My dream would be if the car can have some value years ahead. I would say it's the best one I've had. I will die for it my wife says, when I drive it I try to kill it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2000

1986 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 16V DOHC petrol from UK and Ireland


Starting at the front....

Cooling fan fell off (literally!).

Head gasket blew and head damaged after thermostat failed.

Slack in steering rack.

Drive shafts noisy.

Leak in roof.

Lots of clonking noises from rear suspension.

Both rear callipers seized.

I'm sure there is more..

General Comments:

Why have I given 8 out of ten for reliability with that list of things that have gone wrong? Well, the car has done 110,000 miles, was very badly treated both by me and the previous owner and still refuses to die! I've seen one example for sale with 250,000 on the clock.

Running cost are average as although I only get about 25mpg, I never get around to fixing anything so repair bills are nil!

I do all repairs (when absolutely necessary!) and servicing myself and find it very easy to work on. A good job as I have yet to find a service manual.

A great car as long as you get a good one or are prepared to put up with rough edges. Just watch out for overheating (dodgy thermostat or incorrect coolant?), seized brakes (looked like the fluid was not changed in 100K miles) and leaking roofs (obvous sign is rust in rear wheel arches and corroded spare wheel).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 1998

22nd Oct 2004, 15:23

My 86 Celica GT refuses to kick the bucket after 190 grand on it. It's a really dependable car the only problem I've had is finding the air intake tube and a torn timing belt.

20th Dec 2005, 12:13

I have a Toyota Celica GT 86 also and my car has 180,000 plus mile on it. I have had it for 6 months now and the only thing wrong with it was the thermostat.

** Yesterday I went to start my car and I guess the rear left brake locked up on me. Does anyone have any idea of how I can fix this? **

Well other than that I love this car. People want me to sell it, but I don't want to give it up.