1984 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1984 Toyota Corolla GT Coupe 1.6 Twin-Cam 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Twin-Cam 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Fetch big money know, but well worth it!!

Faults:

I have had to replace the engine due to letting it run low on oil.

I have replaced the brake pads.

The drivers seat broke.

Big-ends starting to knock yet again!

General Comments:

These cars are great crack.

They handle good and are serious fun power sliding!

They can do 145mph and 0-60 in under 8 seconds!

However they would be best used as a second car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

4th Aug 2004, 19:51

I'd just like to say having owned about 15 of these ae86 Corollas, I've never had one to do 145mph. On standard 14 inch rims you would be lucky to touch 130, and the spec sheet from Toyota states 124 as top speed, and even then the calibration of the speedo is suspect. Great cars though.

1984 Toyota Corolla DX Wagon 1.3 4k from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 4k Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres

Summary:

Crusty but trusty

Faults:

Cooked a clutch (I deserved it).

Faulty interior fabric leading to holes in the seats.

First signs of rust.

General Comments:

The car has been in my family since new and had years of trouble free motoring.

Although undeniably slow, with enough enthusiasm from the right foot at the right times it can still be entertaining.

Having an increasingly hard life, but the 4k is literally indestructible and I have no doubt it will take me past the 200000km mark.

Still on original shocks which are starting to struggle, but still wallows round in a predictable and safe manor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2001

1984 Toyota Corolla S 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

A good reliable car

Faults:

The motor seized at 196,000 kilometers.

The gear box also went at 196,000 kilometers.

Driver's seat broke at 160,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

My Corolla had a 1.3 litre 4KC motor, I had very little trouble with my car until the motor and gear box went.

I did find that my Corolla was sluggish on hills, and had very litte room in the back.

I have now put in a 1.5 litre 5KC motor, which has improved the performance of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

9th Aug 2001, 02:57

I have also put a 5kc motor in my car, mine is a Japanese import and I find it hard to get parts.

31st Aug 2001, 21:55

My 1984 rolla also has a 1500 motor, does anyone know where I can get a workshop manual for it?

Rfjroose@hotmail.com.

1st Nov 2005, 15:54

Witch car does have the 5kc egine as stock?

And how much hp does it produce 75-100hp?

1984 Toyota Corolla GT Coupe (ae86) 1.6 DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

This is `Bang for buck'

Faults:

The only problem I had with the original engine was a sticking tappet, which was cured with the addition of STP & regular oil-changes.

There have been a few niggling problems with the present (super-charged) engine, which can be mostly attributed to my own poor handy-work.

The bodywork is generally good, however it is in the body-shop having new rear arches welded-on.

General Comments:

This is a lightweight, rear-wheel drive car that is seriously fun to drive.

Standard, it will reach the rev-limiter in 5th gear to indicate over 140mph. When super-charged, it requires concentration to keep below 110mph on motor-ways, and standing starts are silly, reaching 40mph in 3.98 seconds!

There are no creature comforts though, you'll need to wind the windows manually, there's no air-conditioning and the upholstery is somewhat `thin'. This also means that it weighs in at only 1011kg giving great power-to-weight ratio. The later face-lift models are a bit more plush and so weigh more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

25th Jul 2002, 19:26

I just got my first 79 corolla coupe. I want to put a super charger in it, but was a little bit hesitant until I read your review. cheers.

2nd May 2003, 07:03

I have a friend who would do anything to try and find a Toyota Corolla GT Coupe, but with it being a limited addition he is struggling to find one. He said it is a great car and the one and only. Do you no of anyone that may have one for sale as would be very interested in it?

13th May 2006, 06:34

I myself had a GT coupe in the past and found it to be a one of a kind car for fun, handeling and drifting. I am currently on the look out for another one of these amazing machines so if you know of any for sale please let me know.

23rd Sep 2006, 04:44

Thes cars r lethal craic, wouldn't have any other car about me.

Driftin and diffin they r hard to beat.

14th Jan 2007, 15:45

These are a great car, good car to take abuse, tyres are cheap, so is tax nd insurance, janspeed and superlites, can't beat a twin cam, I love them, I really do.

1984 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8 I think from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 I think Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105001 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A strong little car

Faults:

Almost nothing went wrong.

The car used to overheat, the good part was that the head gasket never blew.

I had to replace the transmission in 1998.

The thing that sucks is it got stolen 2 times in the same year.

General Comments:

You should get the 84 to 94 from Japan. The 95-2001, they made it in the US and it can get a lot of problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 23 reviews