1989 Toyota Corolla from North America


This car just won't die!


Nothing. Nothing ever goes wrong. I have only done three things to this car... Change oil once in the past five years, replaced battery and alternator.

Just recently rain water started getting in the car at the floor area. But what do you expect with an almost 20 year old car and 163K?

General Comments:

This is the best car ever made. Unbelievable! This car has never left me stranded or let me down.

Just bought a 2002 corolla because I just want a newer model with modern amenities. Hope this one is the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2007

7th Feb 2007, 09:48

I hope you change the oil more than once every five years in the new one! Sheesh...

19th Nov 2010, 14:48

Different person here: Honestly I haven't changed the oil or oil filter in our '96 Corolla/Prizm since we bought it 2 years ago. She seeps oil and eats some, but y'know, 202,000 miles and counting.

1989 Toyota Corolla All-Trac from North America

General Comments:

I'm looking into buying a 1989 Toyota All-Trac here in Southern California. This forum is about the most info I've found.

To the previous poster: You said you put 17 inch wheels/tires on it and your fuel economy went down the tubes...? I've read that with AWD vehicles you MUST use the factory specified wheels and tires or you can ruin your transmission. I've read this about Subaru AWD's and the Volkswagon Westfalia Vanagon Syncro's (AWD). So I would suggest you go back to OEM specified wheels and tires. Ask Toyota.

Does anyone know if the Toyota All-trac uses a viscous coupling for it's AWD system like the Subaru's and VW"s?



Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th November, 2006

1989 Toyota Corolla sedan 1.2 carburated from North America


Most dependable car ever owned


Transmission went out 259000 miles.

2 alternators 1 at about 150000 and 1 at 200000.

General Comments:

Car isn't anything fancy, but it never done me wrong. I got this car as a newly licensed teenager and drove extremely hard and I still drive it hard with only tree gears left in the transmission. This car has been through hell and back and it still starts ever morning and runs hard all day. I never wondered if I was going to get to my destination when I pulled out of my driveway whether it was 2 miles or 2000 miles. I will only buy Toyota from here on out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2006

1989 Toyota Corolla SR5 1.6L DOHC from North America


An economy car, with a slick sexy sports car look and feel!


Other than the old rusty body, I have not allowed anything to break. Being a mechanic, I knew that a 200K automobile would need some work. I have replaced the alternator, distributor, starter, and rebuilt the carburetor. Once I rebuilt all of the high wear items, I relegated the car to street duty. 200,000 plus miles and it doesn't smoke! Excellent car, I love it, it isn't as fast as my other car, but somehow it gets 52 mpg! I have no idea, other than how lean I run the fuel mixture, but its great!

General Comments:

I love this car. I bought it as a daily driver, and that is exactly what it does, every day! The interior is immaculate for a car of this era. However, Toyota could have added a little more rust preventive efforts to their cars. Most Toyotas my family has owned, the engines seemingly outlast the body. Not that that is a bad thing! Buy it, tune it up, run it forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2006

1989 Toyota Corolla CSX 1.6 Twin Cam from Australia and New Zealand


It's a great, reliable car that I love and won't sell for a very long time


The seat belt on the driver's side went all loose for a while, but seems to be normal again.

The auto-choke doesn't work anymore and takes a long time to warm up.

General Comments:

It likes to rev a lot.

Also drinks a lot of petrol.

Needs new speakers, as the factory speakers suck.

Handles well, and isn't too slow either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2005

21st Oct 2005, 07:45

Poor poor secy. This car has not been driven for a month or two as the owner crashed it. it is sad and rusty now.RIP Secy.