1992 Toyota Corolla LSX 1.6 4A-FE from North America


Superb, would recommend it without body damage


When I received the car, I found that there was bondo over all four wheelwells, but after my friend and I ripping it apart, its very extensive rust damage and it seems to plague all cars of the same type/year.

A/C has gone at 274000 but may just need recharge.

General Comments:

I was surprised with the performance of the LSX's 4A-FE engine. I still plan on adding some modifications to it (intake, possible supercharger if I can find a small one) but until you hit 90-100km/hr you don't need the boost.

Previous cars were an 04 Echo and an 01 Focus, I find that the Corolla has more interior than both, but less trunk which is a good trade off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2005

1992 Toyota Corolla DX 1.6L 4 cylinder from North America


Reliable small car


Rust on the body panels, exhaust, and oil pan. Frame has held up well with some kind of rustproofing.

Clutch has needed replacement since ~160,000.

Rear struts at 150,000.

Lower passenger side ball joint at ~175,000.

Consumes ~1-2 quarts of oil every 5000 miles.

Radiator replaced at 200,000.

General Comments:

This car has been an excellent daily driver. Considering the miles that it has traveled, it has been very reliable.

Handling of this Toyota is not as tight as Hondas that I have had in the past, but the ride is smoother.

The 1.6L has adequate power for a small car.

I tend to get 30-37 miles per gallon fuel efficiency.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

19th Nov 2010, 14:05

Any updates that you have here in 2010?

1992 Toyota Corolla XL 1.3 from UK and Ireland


Fun, reliable, cheap!


Starter motor had to be replaced. Ball bearing had to be replaced in front wheel.

General Comments:

This car is the most comfortable I've ever owned. With Irish roads a car like this is needed. It loves to be thrown around corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2005

1992 Toyota Corolla DX V4 from North America


The corolla will not last


I've replaced 2 alternators.

Sometimes the car just wouldn't start.

Front struts were bad.

Front differentials frequently leaked.

Transmission began stalling at 145000.

Paint fell off on the bottom panels.

Power started fading very quickly after 100.000 miles.

General Comments:

The corolla's pretty good economy car for the first 100.000. However, the car really falls apart after 100000 miles. The motor just burns out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

14th Feb 2006, 10:38

I own a 1991 corolla that was given to me by a very good friend. The car had about 103,000 miles on it then. I received it after it had blown the engine, No fault of it's own I might add. The dealer left the oil drain plug out. I bought another block, which I installed all new parts. The car now has 130,235 miles on it and I haven't had any more problems.

7th Sep 2007, 14:30

I purchased a 1992 Corrola about 1 year ago and I have to say I think it is one of the best cars I have ever owned! For the age of the car I think it has a lot of pep. My husband put a K&N air filter on it and I get about 42 miles to the gallon now. I LOVE IT!!!

1992 Toyota Corolla GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland


This car is cheap. reliable and a lot of fun


The car failed it's MOT on the rear wheel bush. Toyota advised me this would cost £220 plus fitting because they had to purchase the whole kit (arm and bush). I took the car to a local garage who charged me £60 and replaced the bush with a second hand one.

I have had no major problems with the car.

General Comments:

For a car that's 12 years old it's got most the mod con's (Eletric windows, sunroof, and wind mirrors), all of which are in prefect working order.

The interior isn't that bad on the eye and is very comfortable. The seats hold you in place for those country lanes and are also comfortable for those long journeys.

The best part about the car is its performance. 1st gear will get you to 40mph and you can hit 60 in 8 seconds (although it feels faster). The car loves it's rev's and it's easy to drop a gear and overtake safely. The Toyota GTI compared to Golf GTI / Astra GTI etc is quicker. The top end is OK, at 80 mph you can drop it into 4th and finish in 5th doing 130mph (not recomemded).

The car isn't the best looking from the front, but it looks nice from the side. The rear of the car looks like a standard corolla which I quite like. I've surprised many people by pulling away at the lights.

The handling is very good and just loves being driven round country lanes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2004

11th Nov 2007, 16:11

I am thinking of buying a Corolla GTI-16 next year.

I don't know if it will have better performance than my Civic 1.6i-16 DOHC.

It is very hard to beat the 4th gen Honda Civic 1.6i-16 DOHC.

One of the greatest hatchback's of all time.