2001 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 8 of 10

2001 Toyota Corolla Sport 1.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Excellent high speed commuting car

Faults:

Had to replace the serpentine belt tensioner at 70000km.

Same tensioner is getting noisy again at 145000km and will need attention soon.

General Comments:

Belt tensioner had a TSB on it. Dealer paid for part, I paid for labour. (It was 10000km out of warranty.

Rear suspension bottoms easily if there is anyone in back seat. Fine with two front passengers.

Car is very peppy and excellent on gas, averaging 47 canadian miles per gallon over 2 1/2 years and 145000km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2003

27th Apr 2007, 13:32

60000 on my 03 Corolla. Growling sound when put in gear. Was told it is the serpentine belt tensioner. Is there a TSB on this and will the dealer cover any of this? Thanks.

11th Nov 2010, 10:21

In November 2010, my daughter (23 years old) was driving about 55 MPH with her 2 year old baby on 1604E in San Antonio, TX. Another driver caused her to lose control of her 2006 Toyota Corolla Sport. It flipped, many times, across the center median, flying up over another car into oncoming traffic in the westbound lane. The Toyota landed upside down in the westbound lane. As the car came to a stop, my granddaughter, still bound tightly in her car seat said, "Momma, what happen?" My daughter was still in her seat belt and both were rescued out of the car by passers by who had stopped. The car held up very well, even though it was totaled. After a visit to the hospital to be checked, both my daughter and grandchild walked away. All of the glass was out of the windows, but the roof remained intact without crushing down onto the passengers. I am totally convinced that the 2006 Toyota Corolla Sport helped protect my family from injuries. "Buckle up!" will never be a sentence I will not adhere to.

Thanks Toyota! I own another 2010 and will soon replace the wrecked one with yet another Toyota!

11th Nov 2010, 18:34

This is just a good example of design over bulk! People think huge SUV's are the answer to safety, when in reality they are the most unsafe vehicles on the road. Glad everyone was safe!

2001 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance37035 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Safe, reliable car everyone should have

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car so far.

General Comments:

I'm in love with m car.

Everything about this car is great, with the exception of no CD player.

Great gas mileage is awesome.

Everyone should have a toyota.:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2003

2001 Toyota Corolla GLi 1.6 4AFE 4 cylinder petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 4AFE 4 cylinder petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance95500 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

A boring, overrated, soggy car with adequate performance

Faults:

The suspension is terrible (see below). Dealer says it is "acceptable".

Has a vibration in the steering when turning at low speed.

General Comments:

The suspension is terrible. The rear suspension bottoms out over road bumps if I have more than 2 people in the car.

You'd think a station wagon would be able to have loads put in the back - the suspension doesn't allow this though - it's far too soft.

The handling is very vague and "floaty".

Engine sounds strained over 4500rpm.

Very cramped Cabin (The Honda Civic hatch has more room!)

The air conditioning is excellent - very cold.

Lacks a LOT of features, such as turning on the wipers automatically when you use the wash feature.

Very few rattles and squeaks.

The exhaust is far too low and is easily damaged on rough roads and driveways etc.

The factory mud flaps are a waste of time - they protect nothing from stone chips.

Excellent headlights - very strong on high and low. Although the soggy suspension means you get others flashing their highs at you because they aim too high with weight in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2003

2001 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 960

Summary:

A reliable, affordable, small economy family car.

Faults:

Nothing is wrong with this car except that the CD player (comes with the car) is sometimes not working properly. Otherwise, this car is very good comparing to my last unreliable Volvo.

General Comments:

Since I am a tall driver, I have to move my seat almost all the way back and so the rear seat of the driver side has little leg room.

Too bad that this car does not have ABS brake and power windows.

To sum up, I think this car is very reliable (even as a used car), not bad in comfort, and most importantly, in Canada, it is cheaper to buy than a similar Civic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2003

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 35 reviews