2001 Toyota Corolla Ultima 1.8 Litre VVT-i from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

The nicest luxury small car in its class

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with the vehicle.

General Comments:

A wonderful car to own, excellent fuel economy and very reliable.

Has a bit of a Lexus feel with the woodgrain inserts, beautiful and luxurious ivory cloth trim, and Optitron instruments.

A shame Toyota didn't include cruise control on this top of the range Corolla.

This is the hatch model of the Ultima, which Toyota no longer sells in Australia. The Ultima now only comes in boring pensioner sedan guise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

2001 Toyota Corolla xl 1.8 from Kuwait

Summary:

Make a new model

Faults:

Weak body and paint, thick body, road noise, weak glass, short lived engine.

General Comments:

This car is weak.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2004

2001 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 liter from North America

Summary:

A great buy cheap, reliable, and great on gas

Faults:

My Toyota Corolla is and has run very well, I would trust it with my life it is that dependable. I have not had any problems except the paint on the rear bumper is pealing... how do I fix it at a low cost to me?

General Comments:

The engine is great and it gets great gas mileage. It is the most reliable car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

12th Aug 2004, 09:06

If you want to fix the paint at the cheapest cost possible, do it yourself. I'm not sure where you live, but any automotive store (Canadian Tire in Canada), or Toyota dealer has spray paint to match any car make. You should find your paint number on the inside of the left front door (where the door latches itself when closed). You will also need sand paper, and a primer paint.

1. Sand down, or smooth out, the parts that are peeling, or the whole bumper.

2. Cover up all parts that might get over spray (lights, other body parts not to be touched, etc.). You can use newspapers, paper, etc.

3. Spray sanded area with primer. Do a couple of coats. Let dry as directed on bottle.

4. Spray bumper with car paint. Do not hold can too close, so you don't get runs. Also, you will need more than one coat. Let paint dry before spraying again.

All of this should cost you no more than $15 Canadian.

Hope this helps. My email address is wojtek112@hotmail.com, if you have more questions.

2001 Toyota Corolla Levin Liftback 1.8Lt EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Great reliable car you can really rely on

Faults:

The central air-ducts were loose and was fixed by the dealer for free because they had not been prpely replaced after the installation of the air conditioning.

General Comments:

The car was a little underpowered to be considered a sports car.

It is a very reliable and economical car.

It was a little overpriced when new, but second hand cars can be picked up at reasonable prices.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2004

2001 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Summary:

A very good, reliable and fun to drive car

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

Nothing has gone wrong with the car so far.

General Comments:

I love my car.

Everything about this car is great. Great gas mileage is awesome.

I was going to buy an Echo, I tried one standard, and not liked at all, then I asked the sales man if I can try a Corolla too.

Big difference and I decided for this one. I tried many standard cars, I don't like shifting from Mazda (very hard), but I find it the best from Acura.

The sound is really good, four speakers...

No problems at all until now.

Go for a Toyota...!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

5th Dec 2012, 09:13

Now I have 160.000kms and almost nothing went wrong.

I had to replace the brake pads and rotors at 120.000kms, and at 150.000 I had to fix the back brakes (drums).

I was losing oil and that was fixed by the dealer.

At 160.000 the muffler fell down.

These are all the repairs I have done.

Very reliable, very cheap on gas.

Not very great on snow, because is very light, and it's not as fun to drive as a Mazda 3.

Recommended buy!

2001 Toyota Corolla S from North America

Summary:

It's worked out OK, but I will definitely shop around before going back for another Toyota

Faults:

Fuse controlling the power windows and sunroof blows frequently. The first time, around 26,000 miles, no big deal. Happened again around 30,000 miles. Replaced fuse each time. Last time around 35,000 miles. Dealer says ran diagnostics on it and can't find anything wrong. Says won't be able to find anything wrong unless bring it in with the fuse blown, not replaced. Working with dealer on warranty coverage and service has been a very unpleasant experience. Would not buy another Toyota based on this experience and past experience with Paseo I owned before this Corolla.

Seats upholstery is showing definite signs of age at 3 years old.

General Comments:

What I like about this car:

Air conditioner works great.

Defroster works great on back window.

Gas mileage is good.

What I don't like:

Clutch is a little quirky. Struggle sometimes to get it to engage in reverse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st April, 2004