2007 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2007 Toyota Corolla Ascent 1.8L 4 cycl from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8L 4 cycl Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance1600 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Solid choice

Faults:

Still too new to report though I expect the usual virtues of Toyota's reliability.

General Comments:

Much improved handling with better cornering and less roll than the previous model. NVH and refinement is impressive and is probably one of the best in its class.

Engine is adequate but adding weight or turning on the A/C dulls the pulling power. It not as peaky as the old 1.8L, it seems to deliver power in a more progressive fashion. A 5 spd auto could improve things next time.

Interior is a leap forward. Lots of useful holes and storage and the raised console creates a point of interest.

Pros

- Refinement

- Interior space

- Cheap to run and reliable.

Cons

- Could use a stronger engine

- Only 4-spd auto?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2008

2007 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance25854 miles
Previous carInfiniti Q45

Summary:

A generally unexciting appliance, but functional, economical and reliable

Faults:

So far, absolutely nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This car is slow, and the engine and cabin are noisy.

It handles like a refrigerator on wheels in my opinion.

It has an overwhelming lack of options, and the fit and finish are less than superior.

This car is, however, amazingly reliable and dependable so far, and gets purely outrageous gas mileage. It is generally satisfying in everything it does, and I believe it's well worth the price for such an appliance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2008

2007 Toyota Corolla Ascent Sport 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great, sporty, safe little car. will never let you down

Faults:

The boot lid garnish has bubbled a bit from the heat, and looking into getting it fixed at it's next service.

General Comments:

Best small car I have ever driven. it is responsive and sporty around town, but taught and smooth on the highway. great fuel economy, feels like a much bigger car when driving it, good safety, sits on the road well and doesn't bounce and hop around like many other small cars do, and dealer service is excellent. Interior quality is great, and is very durable. would recommend this car any day, 6th brand new Toyota I have owned, and still very pleased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2008

2007 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance7250 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Faults:

Nothing yet. Runs great, no rattles or squeaks.

General Comments:

This is a solid, reliable, comfortable, peppy, economical car. I can fit our 3 boys in the back comfortably. It is a great commuter car (33- 37 MPG back and forth to work with automatic transmission).

These cars also will protect you in case a large oak tree falls on the roof. I bought my car on June 28th and on July 27th a tree fell across the roof, but structurally the car was intact. The insurance company totaled it (another large part of the tree damaged the front end as well) and paid the claim, but I was able to locate an identical car from the same dealership on August 1st. This one should be a keeper!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2007

2007 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired8200 miles
Most recent distance9100 miles

Summary:

I like it and am looking at buying one

Faults:

Maintenance required light came on about 200 miles before I turned it back into rental car agency. I don't know what it was for and the performance/handling were not affected.

General Comments:

This car was great on gas, 37 mpg with a automatic transmission doing 70mph with the A/C on for a 5 hour trip.

The gas pedal was kind of uncomfortable to use on highway driving. I would buy this car with a cruise control and it would eliminate this problem.

The car wasn't as peppy as my other car, but I wanted something for gas savings not a racer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2007

10th Jan 2008, 18:52

I own a 2008 version of the Corolla, don't worry about the maintenance light, all that means is that it is due for an oil change.

2nd Jun 2008, 10:24

It's very smart to rent a car before buying one. It gives you a far better overall experience of the car. I test drove the Corolla two years ago before buying a domestic and I was not impressed. The engine rattled like a diesel, it had no power and the color choices varied from "Grandma Gray" to "Blandly Blue". Nothing remotely sporty.

I'd steer clear of any Toyota at this time due to the awful reliability and poor build quality. The Ford Focus is a far better choice, costs less, lasts longer and is much faster, sportier and comes in exciting colors. Even the Dodge Caliber, with a rather spartan interior, offers far more space, better looks and greater reliability at a comparable price to the Corolla, though it too suffers from a lack of inspired color choices.

17th Jul 2009, 03:26

I wonder if original reviewer bought the Toyota, or listened to the person recommending a domestic?

Who told him Toyotas had a reliability problem?

Considering the events of the past year regarding domestic manufacturers, I sincerely hope he went with the Toyota.

My 89 Camry has 215 thousand miles, and still starts and runs. I recently bought a 07 Corolla, and I absolutely love it! Toyota is your best bet for reliability.

17th Jul 2009, 13:59

Maybe he went to consumeraffairs.com and independently clicked on Toyota owners issues.

Maybe he learned even more on Carsurvey as well.

17th Jul 2009, 21:35

Good point. I'd never recommend a Toyota to anyone. I don't know ANYONE I hate that much!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews