2007 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America


I like it and am looking at buying one


Maintenance required light came on about 200 miles before I turned it back into rental car agency. I don't know what it was for and the performance/handling were not affected.

General Comments:

This car was great on gas, 37 mpg with a automatic transmission doing 70mph with the A/C on for a 5 hour trip.

The gas pedal was kind of uncomfortable to use on highway driving. I would buy this car with a cruise control and it would eliminate this problem.

The car wasn't as peppy as my other car, but I wanted something for gas savings not a racer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2007

10th Jan 2008, 18:52

I own a 2008 version of the Corolla, don't worry about the maintenance light, all that means is that it is due for an oil change.

2nd Jun 2008, 10:24

It's very smart to rent a car before buying one. It gives you a far better overall experience of the car. I test drove the Corolla two years ago before buying a domestic and I was not impressed. The engine rattled like a diesel, it had no power and the color choices varied from "Grandma Gray" to "Blandly Blue". Nothing remotely sporty.

I'd steer clear of any Toyota at this time due to the awful reliability and poor build quality. The Ford Focus is a far better choice, costs less, lasts longer and is much faster, sportier and comes in exciting colors. Even the Dodge Caliber, with a rather spartan interior, offers far more space, better looks and greater reliability at a comparable price to the Corolla, though it too suffers from a lack of inspired color choices.

17th Jul 2009, 03:26

I wonder if original reviewer bought the Toyota, or listened to the person recommending a domestic?

Who told him Toyotas had a reliability problem?

Considering the events of the past year regarding domestic manufacturers, I sincerely hope he went with the Toyota.

My 89 Camry has 215 thousand miles, and still starts and runs. I recently bought a 07 Corolla, and I absolutely love it! Toyota is your best bet for reliability.

17th Jul 2009, 13:59

Maybe he went to consumeraffairs.com and independently clicked on Toyota owners issues.

Maybe he learned even more on Carsurvey as well.

17th Jul 2009, 21:35

Good point. I'd never recommend a Toyota to anyone. I don't know ANYONE I hate that much!

2007 Toyota Corolla Colour Collection 1.6 from UK and Ireland


I have had no problem so far, but of course it is too early. From what I have heard about Toyota reliability, I don’t expect problem for a while.

General Comments:

I have had my Corolla Colour Collection for almost nine months now, and I really love this car.

The ride and comfort is great, and the petrol consumption is not bad either.

I had many cars before, but this is certainly the best. I’ve had no problems so far.

The only comment that I have is the heater & ventilation control panel is too small and not well visible, especially at day time. The clock is also useless. Cannot been seen easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

11th Aug 2007, 07:51

I'm from the U.S.; what exactly is a Corolla Colour Collection? How is that different from Corolla's sold in the states here?

16th Aug 2007, 13:50

“Colour Collection” is a special edition introduced here in UK during 2006. It offers the choice of just three colours, Silver, Blue and Blank, all in metallic. It has good specification, almost to the top of the range models. Everything is the same.

7th Sep 2007, 18:02

What kind of fuel mileage are you getting? I'll do the conversions, as the US has yet to join the rest of the world by using the metric system. LOL. Also, what size engine is in your car and is it a manual shift?

19th Oct 2007, 15:14

My Corolla has 1600 cc engine with automatic transmission. According to the computer I get around 34 miles per gallon (UK Gallon).

30th Nov 2007, 18:38

I purchased a 2008 Toyota Corolla in July 2007. I've owned three Toyota Corollas.

This one has a problem with excessive condensation on the interior of the windshield, when the car's ventilation system has been set on defrost on a cold rainy day. When the car is then turned off and left outside for a few hours -- there is enough condensation on the inner windshield, directly over the vent, to actually drip into the vent, causing a mildew odor in the air conditioning unit when it is turned on.

I had an opportunity to drive two other 2008 Toyota Corollas while this problem was being diagnosed by the dealership, and these Corollas too had this issue -- though not quite as severely as mine. I was told this was normal by the dealership where I purchased this car.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? I question if this condition is normal -- what's normal about having moisture inside your vehicle, why have I never experienced this in a Toyota prior to the 2008.

16th Mar 2013, 10:42

There is zero point in getting UK Corolla MPG information if you live in America. This is because the USA never sold a 1.6 version, indeed they are 1.8 petrols. I know, I live in Texas and am a Brit. I drive a 1.8 version. I think you will find my assumption beyond absolutely correct.