2007 Toyota Corolla S Sedan from North America - Comments

27th Nov 2008, 17:59

ORIGINAL REVIEWER.

I agree with you. I went to the Toyota dealership a few days ago and sat in and drove an example of every model they sell, everything. I drove the Yaris, Matrix, Tundra, Sienna, Prius, Land Cruiser, Solara, Highlander, Tacoma, and everything in between.

Needless to say, I was not impressed with any of them. All of Toyotas models, in my opinion, are overrated trash!

I went on a long trip last weekend, and I drove my 2000 Isuzu Trooper with the manual transmission and 17 MPG highway. Now, that's one heck of a vehicle.

I will not be buying a Toyota again, unless the engineers get their heads out of their bottoms and on their necks correctly. Like that will happen.

I feel that you are correct about people doing math while intoxicated. 37 MPG? Yeah right!

I did not do enough research with this car purchase. I was a victim of propaganda, and I never will be again.

4th Dec 2008, 21:02

Right now, I do 35 MPG on the freeway driving 60 mph. In summer, without the cold weather and without snow tires, I believe 42 or 43 is reasonable.

I bought a 2005 manual Corolla three weeks ago, after driving a VW diesel Beetle 200,000 miles. I decided to try something else, but I will probably sell my Corolla this summer.

It's a good car, but not more. No fun driving, jerky drive, noisy, manual transmission is so so, radio is poor. Positive point: seats are OK.

Toyotas are good, but there are much better cars on the market. I believe Honda does a much better job.

5th Dec 2008, 23:11

ORIGINAL REVIEWER HERE.

I agree with the last comment. I think I will go back to Mazda from now on. When I was looking at the Corolla, I was also looking at the Civic and Mazda 3. I should have gone with my instincts and gotten the Civic or the 3 (more likely the 3).

7th Jan 2009, 16:37

I agree... Toyotas are totally over-rated. Especially Corollas which are plain old boring. Even if you got the 'S'package, you would get nothing much except for a spoiler and side skirts. Not worth the money for something that only has about 132 HP and even if you upgraded to the 170 HP still quite slow in terms of acceleration. If you wanna buy a car with some zip and save $$$, look at Honda Civics, Mitsubishi Lancers or Mazda 3's.

8th Jan 2009, 11:46

We have a 2007 Corolla CE (automatic) that we purchased for commuting. It gets 34-35 mpg consistently with mixed driving. We've gotten 41 mpg on a highway trip before. It serves its purpose well, which is inexpensive vehicle with good mileage.

As would be expected for the base model, the trim is not luxurious, but serviceable. The hand brake feels especially flimsy.

The tires that came on it are noisy on the road and there seems to be belt separation going on in one of them (rhythmic thumping sound), but our local tire shop techs could not spot it. We plan to replace all the tires.

We are considering replacing a VW Passat wagon (too expensive to drive and maintain) with a Corolla LE, but will probably also consider Honda and Mazda.

11th Jan 2009, 16:26

ORIGINAL REVIEWER.

I only got the S because of the lower (and in my opinion, better-looking) stance, but it was not worth it.

To the last comment, I have no clue how you get 35 MPG and would definitely consider the Honda Civic or Mazda 3.

26th Jan 2009, 19:50

Just an update.

My Corolla hit 20,000 miles today. The only new issue is that the horn does not sound very loud. I think it is wet or something. That is it.

14th Mar 2009, 17:36

Why did you buy it then, seems you have to much dislike with it? There is something called a test drive and inspection. And you did not drive all the Toyotas they have at the dealer LOL.

16th Mar 2009, 18:27

ORIGINAL REVIEWER HERE.

I needed CHEAP, reliable transportation.

17th Nov 2012, 20:34

I personally disagree with most of this, because my Corolla S gets 30 city and 35 highway after I put a $50 chip on it to add 60 HP and 8 MPG overall. I don't have any of the problems you say you have, other than poor handling in the rain, which I'm getting that taken care of.

In respect, one reason for the lower fuel economy than you were expecting would be the sub-model Corolla you have. I have the S, and my sister has the CE, which somehow gets 50 MPG, I swear on this!

18th Nov 2012, 08:46

Maybe he did not drive all the other Toyota models because he could not afford them. If I shop a Corolla, maybe the Camry costs too much. Or buy a Yaris. Ugh!

18th Nov 2012, 12:28

It ways amazes me that people who get burned by the recall king (Toyota) say "I'm considering ___" (insert name of yet another crappy import). Modern domestics are far more reliable, safer, better built and more affordable. The power of the import myth amazes me.

20th Nov 2012, 21:46

Buying a car/truck/SUV is a big gamble for everyone. Doesn't matter if it's a Chevy... doesn't matter if it a Toyota... doesn't matter if it's a Ford... doesn't matter if it's new or used... you take a chance and hope you get lucky.

Buying a car/truck/SUV is one of the worst investments you can make... and ending up with a lemon or problem car on top of that can be a nightmare that you never forget. Even buying a cheaper car like a base model Honda Fit can run you over $26,000 over a five year period... and that's a cheap basic car. If you really like some real pain, buy a Mercedes-Benz SL550 model and it will run you $112,250.00 over the same 5 year period in owner costs...

21st Nov 2012, 16:44

Yes, buying any car is a bit of a gamble. In our case, however, the odds seem to greatly favor domestic brands. Never a problem with any domestic, while all three imports proved to be total crap.

24th Nov 2012, 16:27

Buying brand new cars may give you the option of spreading payments over time, and they are new. In turn, the interest payment, depreciation and maintenance costs are there with it.

You can make money on buying used cars at the right time. I looked at a 72 Corvette C3 Convertible yesterday in the Northeast. Worst time to sell is right now. Just have to put it away til Spring and sell it. So cars can be investments if you have the money and have home garage space. And buy at the right price.

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available. New comments appear in the Members Area before the main site