2007 Toyota Corolla Ascent 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A piece of $20 000 plastic - yet reliable

Faults:

Every nook and cranny rattles, I cannot emphasise this enough. I have gotten to the point where I am used to it.

Factory stereo head unit died, had to buy an aftermarket one (which works better).

Suspension creeks in cold weather.

General Comments:

Apart from the above MINOR issues, I have had absolutely no trouble with this car, and it's quite the looker too.

I am absolutely amazed by the fuel economy I get; 7 litres per 100km.

A previous review stated "refrigerator on wheels", which is very suited. The handling is absolute rubbish, and there's more plastic holding the car together than you can poke a stick at!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2011

2007 Toyota Corolla CE 4 cylinder gas from North America

Summary:

Reliable, basic, efficient, car

Faults:

Gravel roads are pitting the paint job, and I've noticed if I drive over 45 MPH on gravel it tends to slide. The manual seat belts are annoying as I'm used to automatic ones.

General Comments:

I just retired an '89 Camry with 215 thousand miles on it, no air, and no muffler any more, so the Corolla is luxurious in comparison.

It's not a luxury car, however, just inexpensive, reliable 'plain-jane' transportation. So far I absolutely love it!

I had a trusted mechanic go over it before I bought it, and he could find absolutely nothing wrong with it.

I plan to drive this car until it drops (like the Camry, which technically has not 'dropped' as it still runs fine, just looks like heck).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2009

2007 Toyota Corolla from North America

Summary:

Check engine light, charcoal canister

Faults:

My engine light came on, took it too the dealer and I need to get a new charcoal canister, under warranty, thank god! The car is still new, only 25k miles.

The guy told me, that they have had quite a few problems with this lately (because colder than usual weather)??? And the canister is on back order (which does make it sound like it is happening to a lot of people).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2009

15th Jan 2009, 11:04

I was told the main cause of bad charcoal canisters was overfilling a gas tank, like leaking gas out of the fill tube full, so some liquid gasoline leaks up to the canisters. Is this true?

2007 Toyota Corolla S Sedan from North America

Summary:

Not what I was expecting. No more Corollas for me

Faults:

One door panel came loose.

Radio volume control works on its own call.

The paint on the spoiler came off (dark gray paint).

I go through batteries like no tomorrow- 6 in 14,000 miles!

General Comments:

The steering wheel is too close to the driver.

Leg room is below average in all seats.

The cabin is noisy.

The transmission is creamy smooth.

The seats are contoured well and very comfortable.

The headlights are weak.

Looks okay.

Absolutely horrendous in the snow and rain.

Acceleration is barely adequate.

The brakes are good.

Rear vision is good.

The doors close with a guillotine thunk- a sign of quality on the doors.

Defrost is decent. It was better than my last car.

Rear-seat headrests are a nice touch.

I get 25 MPG city and 32 MPG highway. Pretty bad for a car of this caliber. My last car (although with a manual transmission) was more like 30/45.

The paint must be rustproof. There is no rust yet (in PA).

It just wasn't what I was expecting. I probably won't purchase another Corolla, but maybe another model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2008

27th Nov 2008, 02:09

I am impressed with your review because it speaks the truth.

Our Corolla was exactly as you described.

It rode sloppy, had no power and the best I ever got was 31 mpg on the highway at 65 mph. We averaged 20-25 in town. Other people claim they get 37 mpg in city, but I think they did their math while they were intoxicated.

2007 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8L Gas from North America

Summary:

A reliable, economical sedan

Faults:

The paint is beginning to chip.

General Comments:

This car isn't exactly the quickest on the road.

However it has great fuel efficiency ratings and it is very reliable.

The anti-chip tape that is offered by the dealer is worth the extra money; rocks will chip away at the front end of the car like nothing I have ever driven, and it is not even to 30,000 miles, never you mind that I drive on Houston freeways all day.

Also, the base model is very dissatisfying with manual locks and crank windows. The convenience package adds power windows and locks and I strongly recommend it.

So far this car has been the most reliable car I've owned. It's still a baby, though, and I hope I'm able to come back and update at 200,000 miles on a good note.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2008

14th Feb 2010, 19:30

I loved the car, but had a few problems with the shifter, and when I got into an accident at 60MPH on the highway, hit the center divider, some person cut me off, the airbags didn't deploy, and before it hit the wall, the brakes went out on the car, and it sped up like it was a stuck gas pedal, and the police agree. Toyota needs revision on their cars and airbags; looking for a law suite in a few day over the airbag and the gas pedal.