2010 Toyota Corolla VVTI 1.8 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Mechanically good, but lots of cheap plastics

Faults:

The rear parcel shelf supporting lug has broken off for little or no apparent reason. Toyota stated that it was fair wear and tear, but I believe it is a design fault, in that the lug cannot support the weight that it would be reasonable for the lug to be carry. To repair the broken lug involves the replacement and fitting of a whole rear inner plastic component, involving up to $350. If this was considered or involved a matter of road safety, Toyota would recall and replace the faulty component, but it is easy to dismiss such a claim for non safety issues.

General Comments:

Generally good mechanically, but is let down by the over use of cheap plastic components that are easily scratched and are under engineered.

Also suffers badly from road noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2013

18th Jul 2013, 21:36

I totally agree with you. Reliability is good, but it's been long enough that they have been in the market - they could surely improve on the material quality and road noise. I have a 2012 Rav4.

The Honda Accord has done well, being Japanese, but Toyota has lot of work to do on sound proofing and material quality.

19th Jul 2013, 15:09

I did a lot of work on my friend's 2009 Corolla before he finally traded it for a much better built 2013, Ford Focus. The Corolla was a very cheap, extremely poorly built car. I'd never recommend the Corolla or any Japanese car to anyone looking for a reliable, quality built car.

2010 Toyota Corolla S 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Garbage; made me hate Toyota after years of love!

Faults:

What you call a 1.5 year old car that already has rust in the doors, has been gone to the shop twice for leaking oil, and rides like a cart over 60mph?

I call it garbage :(

General Comments:

I used to have a '99 Camry for several years, and was so happy with it. This '10 Corolla however seems to be from a different planet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2011

4th Sep 2011, 10:09

Welcome to the modern age of Toyota quality. Your 99 Camry was one of the very last model years that were good, and the rest is history.

5th Sep 2011, 17:00

I'm sorry you were a victim of ad hype. Sadly, too many people are. Based on very dubious "reliability surveys", my best friend's parents bought him a new 2009 Corolla. The car has thus far had more problems than the average 30-year-old domestic. The suspension sagged just from the weight of the car, so that it can't be aligned without special shims (the metal is so flimsy it just twists under the weight of the car). I just helped him reattach his front bumper cover (it was falling apart) and replace his totally-shot brakes. A few weeks ago his heat shield (which is basically tin foil) was bent by SPLASHING WATER, and was rattling against the exhaust. I had the same sagging suspension issue with my Japanese import some years back. I traded it for a Ford with 130,000 miles on it, and I have never wasted my money on another poorly built import.

2010 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Overrated; disappoints you!

Faults:

Too much rattling (don't ask me where; I better look for something fine!).

Oil leak (from the transmission as per my friend, but the dealer says I drove on dirty roads!).

Horrible handling in rain/snow (and I already upgraded tires; it seems to be something wrong with wheel).

The headlights have almost half of their light they had the first day! Strange, but real!

The power locks failed, and were repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Well, the car has never died on the road, which is good, but not enough for a new car if you ask me.

Little thing go wrong here or there, which annoys when I remember I had nothing similar with my old VW. I decided to buy new car when I arrived in the USA, to not worry about the car (a pure commuter, not a fun sporty car). I am not a car fan, and do not know that much about mechanics. I needed something to get me to work every day (around 85 miles 2 ways every day) with the least issues, but this car makes me thinking about saving for a switch sooner than later. I had no experience with USA winters in IL, or I would have bought something with better handling, as this car is just out of control with a little rain or snow.

Also I wanted to save a few bucks on fuel, but the car seems thirsty comparing with the announced mpg.

There is a delay (what they call it? A lag? Sorry English is not my mother tongue)

Overall, I believe the Corolla (or maybe Toyota? I cannot talk about it) is too much overrated. It is not any better than a Kia Rio, and seems much worse than the Elantra (which my colleague drives, and has given me rides in it a few times.)

The dealer is also horrible. They kept my car overnight to tell me the other day there was no leak; I had driven on dirty roads! They also believe rattling is normal with a car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2011

15th Jun 2011, 09:39

I am sorry you are not happy with your newer Toyota Corolla... but in fairness to the Corolla... it is a very, and I mean very basic car.

Toyota hasn't put a lot of RR in the car for a while... and I am not sure when they will put some money into it... hopefully a remake will be coming soon... the Corolla deserves it...

Also before you buy your next car... please read the annual Consumers Reports Auto Guide that comes out every year in April... it will give you the exciting ones... the frugal ones and the reliable ones... or anything you might need in a car...

Buying a car... any car, is a huge investment and not for the uneducated... Even a basic cheap new car can cost you $26,000 plus over a five year period...