Toyota Harrier Reviews

2008 Toyota Harrier 2.4 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2008
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Wish

Summary:

Cool!

Faults:

Nothing at the moment.

General Comments:

The car is really nice to drive. Though the pick-up is not the fastest around, but it is so comfortable when it cruises, and the changing of gears is seamless. The driving height is very nice, and you have a good view of what is happening on the roads.

I have owned and driven 5 different cars before, and the Harrier is definitely the best I have driven. Thumbs up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2012

2006 Toyota Harrier 240G 2.4 petrol from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Reliable, good, and value-for-money

Faults:

1) The ABS and brake light on the dashboard lit up from time to time. Getting that sorted by the authorised service dealer.

2) Front cupholder sliding mechanism is stuck.

General Comments:

The Harrier is a comfortable and luxurious SUV, and my passengers have had nothing but praise for it.

I previously drove the Camry 2.4, and the Harrier feels roomier and has a more commanding ride on the road in comparison.

Acceleration is spot-on, and fuel consumption is okay for a big size SUV.

This SUV is very quiet inside, and the built-in sound system is above average.

Lots of aftermarket optional items available, and it shares parts with the Lexus RX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2011

12th Jul 2012, 00:11

I would appreciate it if someone could advise me on the VDU (visual display unit) system and computer in the Harrier. They're in Japanese. I'm not sure how to change the language to English?

9th Sep 2012, 15:01

It's not possible to change the language of the Toyota Harrier into English. However, the features are very similar to the Lexus RX 300.

17th Jan 2013, 09:35

How can I translate my Toyota Harrier VDU (visual display unit) from Japanese to English?

Please, I need a reply to this email - holyface05@yahoo.com

28th Jan 2014, 10:11

Please send the specs of your car and the photo of your visual display unit to santosabudihardjo@yahoo.com. I'll try it.

2004 Toyota Harrier 240G 2.4L inline-four from Tanzania

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.4L inline-four Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13634 kilometres
Most recent distance14890 kilometres
Previous carToyota Mark X

Summary:

One of the greatest SUVs out there

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with this Harrier.

General Comments:

Fun to cruise around with, although it is quite underpowered, since the engine is the same as the Rav-4.

The interior is very luxurious with a reverse camera, TV, and DVD player. The ride height is also good, and it corners quite well.

Installed a bigger exhaust pipe, and the sound generated is very cool. Don't try competing against the 3.0 or 3.5 Harrier, as this one doesn't stand a chance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2011

1999 Toyota Harrier 3.0 from Uganda

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired128000 kilometres
Most recent distance134500 kilometres

Summary:

Perfect and very comfortable

Faults:

I have driven my car from August 2010, and just noticed in January the engine light was on. Sometimes this goes on and off, but now stays on longer.

Today, the A/T Oil temperature came on and off. Starting the engine is now difficult, and it keeps going off. Sometimes the steering wheel becomes hard and engine suddenly goes off.

I have parked the car because I fear it may suddenly fail, and where I am there are no good mechanics.

Please help: timsrobert@yahoo.com

Otherwise, the Harrier is cool!

General Comments:

Excellent to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2011

22nd Mar 2011, 02:06

There is a garage along the road to Bwaise, before the flyover. It's called Autoscan, it is on your left hand side as you head towards the flyover, they will sort it out for you, they have auto diagnostics tools etc. You can call 0712624638 for directions.

12th Mar 2012, 11:32

Hi. Is it possible you can find out about the gearbox trouble? I have a Toyota Harrier, and I seem to be having trouble with my gearbox. I have replaced it three times, but the same thing happens every time I replace the gearbox.

I live in Zimbabwe, and there are not much options left for me to take.

23rd Nov 2013, 22:38

Try this mechanic Jeff on 0772204559. He is very good with Toyota vehicles.

1998 Toyota Harrier 3.0 VVTi from Botswana

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 VVTi Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84548 kilometres
Most recent distance85770 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Programme it to english language

Faults:

The car has an unusual noise in-front next to the engine.

There is no manual to use. Information should be provided on how to set time and general operation of the car like, translating Japanese to english language.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable and fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2009

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 11 reviews