2001 Toyota Highlander 3.0 liter from North America

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

Bought this certified used Highlander in December 2011. The check engine light came on during the test drive. Took the vehicle back to lot. They said it was a bad sensor. They said they replaced it. Test drove it again the next day and bought it. Within a week the light came back on. My mechanic said it was a problem with the gas tank vent. The dealer did not replace any sensor. His opinion was they simply reset the light in order to sell me the vehicle.

After 30 days of ownership, I pulled up to a stop sign and the oil light came on. Barely any oil on the dipstick. I put in 4 quarts of the recommended synthetic oil. The dealer had stated they changed the oil when they got the vehicle approximately 2 months before at 81,095 miles. The dealer window sticker indicated as much also. The mileage I put the first oil in it was 82,224. Every 2 weeks since Feb. 2012 I've had to put a quart or 2 of oil in this piece of crap, and will continue to do so until I pay it off in 36 months and trade it in.

I should have bought a 2005 Honda CRV instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2013

27th Jul 2013, 18:19

Keep a close eye on your oil level, and check it all the time; this is how the sludge problem starts out.

24th Aug 2013, 00:02

Thanks, I check it a couple of times per week and it still burns oil like crazy. This problem seems to occur with the 3.0 liter 6 cylinder, as others have contacted me with the same problem. I have 2 friends with the 2.4 liter 4 cylinder, and they report no problems at all, even with 122,000 and 190,000 miles on the odometers. I should've stuck to the 4 cylinder.

24th Aug 2013, 10:27

4 cylinders sludge too. We had a Matrix based Vibe in the family do it at 48,000 miles.

I have also swapped a few other Corolla 1.8 and Camry 2.2 engines for customers, as well as the 3.0 V6.

31st Aug 2014, 16:02

It's obvious that you bought a poorly serviced car, but how it can be the car's fault?

No doubt you didn't take it to a good mechanic before buying it, which is a "must do" when you buy a used car, especially if it's 10 years old.

2001 Toyota Highlander Limited V6 3.0 from Dominican Republic

Summary:

Made to last!

Faults:

Not a thing this car run perfect, I only have to change the oil every 7500miles.

General Comments:

This car still look like new and feel like it.

The brakes are good.

I got the 4x2 is faster than my previous 1998 Honda accord

I love the leather interior and the digital A/C.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2007

2001 Toyota Highlander Limited 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Great road trip machine!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The Highlander is one of the most versatile vehicles you can buy today. It drives like a car, but can go through any snow or poor road conditions you can throw at it. Nothing has gone wrong with it since I bought it new in 2001. I have done all regular maintenance from a Toyota dealer since new, and nothing has ever let me down. I put new tires on at 75000kms and it helped the road noise considerably. I recommend this vehicle to any one who needs the room and comfort of a SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2007

2001 Toyota Highlander Limited V6 from North America

Summary:

I highly recommend the Highlander!

Faults:

Front door seals replaced under TSB.

General Comments:

The Highlander is a terrific vehicle! It is economical, comfortable, and extremely reliable. At 50,000 miles it still feels like a new vehicle, and gives the impression that it will be the same at 300,000 miles. The interior is roomy and functional, with the usual Toyota attention to detail. Every control is precise and easily accessed, with excellent ergonomics.

Passengers always remark on the roomy back seat and large door openings. Cargo space is large and convenient. Visibility is excellent in all respects, and maneuverability is first rate. Heating, ventilation, a/c, and stereo work beautifully. Paint, trim, and interior finish are flawless and have all held up extremely well.

All-weather traction and security are amazing with the all-wheel-drive, stability control, traction control, and proper tire selection. The drive train is smooth and vibration-free, with none of the hesitation concerns reflected by other owners.

My only two concerns with the Highlander are the inadequate console offered in the 2001 model, and what I consider less than adequate isolation from tire noise (partially the responsibility of the tire manufacturers).

As an official member of the Picky Car Owner's Club, I believe the Highlander is the best vehicle we have ever purchased. After five years of ownership it never fails to remind me what a great vehicle it is when I get behind the wheel!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2006